We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Personal Service”
Review of Riad Dar White

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar White
Ranked #463 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Personal Service”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this small riad for just 2 nights - wish we could have stayed longer. The location is convenient, about a 10-minute walk from the Djemna el Fna, the main plaza. What really makes this place great is the personal service. From the owner Jean, who took the time to stop in and introduce himself, to the wonderful cook and the guys who arranged our outings, it was first class! We took dinner on the terrace our first night. It ended up being our favorite meal of our stay in Morocco! The entire place is SPOTLESS and quiet. The only downside I could think of is that the rooms are a bit dark and have a closed-off feeling. I suppose this is due to the architecture of riads, with the whole internal courtyard thing, but my partner found this conducive to getting good sleep. You have hundreds of choices for places to stay in Marrakech - you will not be disappointed if you choose this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryCountryBy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

8 of us booked all 4 rooms out for a 40th Birthday weekend trip. The staff accommodation and staff were tremendous! Nothing was too much trouble - our own "staff" of 3 for the weekend made it feel truly luxurious! Great authentic cooked dinner on the first night and drinks delivered by waiter srevice onto the rooftop terrace - fantastic!

Room Tip: There one room on the ground floor and 3 on the 1st - all were graet bt we'd go for one on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Dar White in September with family, wonderful Riad nicely decorated very relaxing.
Jean Pere is an excellent host as well Kamil & Mustapha, they were terrific, so helpful recommending places for Lunch & Dinner & shopping. We met Hisham on our last day at the Riad , he recommended a lunch restaurant close to the Riad very good, Hisham also a very attentive host. We would highly recommend this Riad, excellent location, quiet yet only 10 min walk to main square.
We ate 2 dinners at the Riad, Marian is an amazing cook highly recommend .
We would not recommend the Cooking class as the 4 of us felt the food was okay & certainly not worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: We had the portifino room & Ibeza on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

the service at dar white was excellent the team could not have done more for us to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms were v clean and good decor if a little small. overall it made a most enjoyable trip I would certainally return. the cookery course is a must for food lovers !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a great time at this riad. I agree with a lot of the other reviews that this is contemporary, yet far from the crowds. The location, service, and accommodations were great. Jean Peres was an excellent host and the staff (especially Kamal and Mustafa - apologies for the likely misspelling) were also very nice. Easy walking distance from the main square and the souks. The rooftop/terrace has a nice view of the surroundings.

I would definitely recommend and will hopefully be back some day.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were equally nice. The AC/fan setup provided nice temperature control and white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although not originally booked to stay at this Riad, we were guests of Dar White for 4 nights during August after our original accommodation suffered a burst water pipe which forced the Riad to close. Luckily the owner of that accommodation is also the owner of Dar White, and hence we were able to be hosted here instead. I understand that this Riad has been open less than a year, and certainly appeared fresh and clean.
Dar White is found in the Kasbah area of the Medina of Marrakech, tucked down a small alley way close to the Saadian tombs. Luckily we were collected by a driver at the airport, otherwise I do not think we would have found the front door! However, once you know where to go, it is very easy to find, and to navigate from.

As we were staying during Ramadan, and the hottest part of the year, we were the only guests during our stay. We were very well looked after by the day manager, Hicham, the night manager, Kamal, and the cook/maid, Meriam, who were almost always on hand to offer advice and answer questions. Guests who like a high level of attention and require assistance with an unfamiliar environment would probably embrace this, however, as my husband and I are quite independent people, we had already booked tours/activities for each day we were in Marrakech and hence did not really avail ourselves of this high degree of service.

The Riad is decorated and styled to a high level of contemporary chic, and seems completely at odds with the madness that can be Marrakech outside. The room which we stayed in (Portofino) had terracotta washed walls, white furniture, and well equipped ensuite (although it must be said the shower basin did not drain quickly and water tended to slowly rise around your feet). The bed was incredibly comfortable and were fitted with crisp white sheets embroidered with the name of the Riad. As with all Riads, the rooms open onto a central balcony/lightwell, looking down to the ground floor and up to the roof terrace. At night, beautiful Moroccan metal lamp shades cast dappled light around this area for a delightful atmosphere.
There are 3 rooms on the first floor, together with one on the ground floor, leading off from the communal lounge area. This area was again decorated with style, white leather sofas and chairs, a flat screen TV (which we never saw on!), and relaxing tunes being played on an iPod throughout the day until we retired at night. The roof terrace featured several sunloungers, and tables/chairs, and also a Jacuzzi tub, which we used every day after being out in the heat of the day. The peacefulness of this roof terrace was quite surprising, and a lovely place to relax in the late afternoon, as the call to prayer drifted out over the medina, and the storks come in to land on the nearby Mosque minaret.

Our rate included a daily breakfast, which I must say was disappointing. I’m not sure whether this was anything to do with it being Ramadan. We were served each day with freshly squeezed orange juice, some toasted bread, and something doughy that had been fried – a crepe, a crumpet type bread (beghrir), French toast, Msemmen, plus a pot of tea/coffee. Several days we had some sweetened yoghurt also. It would have been great if fruit were on offer, as I found this dough heavy breakfast was a bit …. heavy.
However eating on the roof terrace was pleasant , and it is available all day, no matter when you get up (although we always had it early).
We also had an evening meal at the Riad – which by contrast was quite simply was the best food we had during our entire trip. The tastiest Moroccan salads to start, then a tagine of lamb and fig, and then a poached pear with honey. Again served on the roof terrace at a time of our choosing, complete with candles and rose petals, and a bottle of their house rosé wine! Simply enchanting and made us feel very special. As food was able to be prepared to such a high standard, it did make the breakfasts that little bit more sad.

Having not stayed before, or elsewhere in Marrakech, it’s difficult to compare Dar White. However, the location is perfect – easy walking distance to the main square, and indeed elsewhere within the medina. The Kasbah appeared very quiet while we were there, of course we appreciate that it was Ramadan, and still many women and children appeared on the streets in the evening after sundown. However compared to the madness of the main square, the Riad did feel like a tranquil oasis and a welcome retreat at the end of a long hot day! The staff really do everything they can to make your stay relaxing, and the Riad will please those wanting a high level of service and thoughtful decor in an intimate setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Choosing a riad for my hen party with seven ladies was quite a task with so many to choose from. We finally opted for Dar White as we wanted a contemporary, cool place - a retreat away from the bustle of Marrakech. We weren't disappointed. Our stay was made very special by Hisham, Kamal and the two ladies. We were immediately greeted with warmth and felt at home in what is an amazing riad. Beautifully decorated - contemporary Moroccan. fantastic service, nothing was too much trouble and the meals we were served on the terrace remain some of my favourite memories. food is lovingly prepared, fresh and a delight on the senses. We were worried about being able to drink alcohol during Ramadan, but there was always wine available and we were also able to drink our own which we had bought at the airport. we were recommended fantastic restaurants and Hisham even accompanied a few of the more apprehensive girls on a shopping trip. despite the 40+ heat the hot tub did provide relief, there is also a cool shower on the terrace. the riad is central, easy to find, an easy walk away from the main square but if you're worried taxis are cheap and the dar white team will arrange them door to door. If you are looking for a riad in the medina look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sch0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#78 of 1,154 in Marrakech
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#205 of 500 in Marrakech
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar White

Property: Riad Dar White
Address: 98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar White 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar White is a new very design and contemporary riad very well located in the Kasbah area in front of the King palace, 5 mn from Jemma el Fna (main square). You'll enjoy it great terrace with a bar and a jaccuzzi. Try a unic experience in a riad that could be your home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing