We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track, expensive, but lovely”
Review of Riad Dar Ten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Ten
Ranked #497 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, expensive, but lovely”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

You would NEVER find this Riad without directions and an excellent sense of direction. We parked our car near the Katoubia mosque as directed then entered the medina and followed basic directions into the maze of souks. We eventually found our way to the nearest "road" to the Riad and asked for directions, then followed a footpath under buildings and into darkness to eventually find the Riad. However, you enter the doorway and would never know that you are in the heart of Marrakech until you climb up to the roof. The rooms are all built around the central courtyard with its water feature and tables for relaxing and eating. It's an easy stroll to Jemaa el Fna for the nightly extravaganza of music, seafood, nuts and snakes, and safe to walk back later at night through the souk.

Room Tip: The rooms are relatively small, very boutique-like in their individuality, and ours on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    30
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapallo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very nice Riad, ideally located in the center of Marrakech, just one minut far from the main square.
It is not very easy to find unless you don't agree for a pick up or just ask a porter boy to bring you there.
Once in everything is relaxed, we got a Suite at the first floor ( nicer) and out of the patio very guests relax seat,have breakfast. The room was big , very well clean and amenities proper.
Soufiane was really nice, always smiling and helpful.
I will definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scerasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had originally booked for four night as we wanted to stay in a riad not a regular hotel to experience a more authentic side of Morocco. Upon arrival (we took a petit taxi from the train station, although we had been contacted by the hotel inquiring if we needed transportation), we were approached by a local who showed us the way through the maze of the Medina and souks to the riad for a fee. Upon arrival to the riad we were very happy to see this hidden jewel. The decor was clean and cozy, the mint tea was very welcome and refreshing. The staff Sonfianne & Hakima (sp?) were AWESOME, helping with our every request, booking a tour, taxi to the airport a delicious breakfast every day, which included pancakes, bread, croissants, fresh squeezed orange juice, yoghurt (including eggs a special request) and coffee. We had the vanilla room on the first floor, with French doors opening onto the lovely courtyard. There is a small cozy lounge with flat screen tv, stereo and a fireplace. Also views from the rooftop sitting area. The location is perfect, a five minute walk to Jemaa el Fna Square, right inside The Medina and souks. We were so happy with this riad we booked an additional night! This Riad is highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherlock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

On a business trip in Casablanca and decided to train (1st class & 4 hours) to Marrakech for the weekend. The riad is very central and less than 5 mins from the souks (be prepared to be hustled and hassled) or the market square (steer clear if you don't want to see snakes, owls, baboons, mongooses, falcons subjected to the handlers control and cruelty). The rooms are lovely, fresh, clean and comfortable. The courtyard is quaint and has a small plunge pool to cool off in after a day touring. On request dinner will be provided - simple but wholesome. Breakfast was included which comprised pastries, cheese and a pancake. I would stay here again if I visited in the future

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 1st floor away from the central courtyard. It's not noisy, but nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a beautiful stay at Houda and Sonfianne made us feel so at home. The mint tea and treats on arrival were delicious. The place is very stylish, with tasteful authentic interiors. The plunge pool was also a welcome relief!

They helped us book a restaurant for our Friend's birthday, and helped us find a Hamnan, and arranged for our bags to be transported to our transfer.

Breakfasts were fantastic, and varied. I'm still craving that Orange juice!

We went in the off-peak season, and they very kindly upgraded our room.

Thanks again for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: The vanilla room opens up to the courtyard, other people have complained about it, but I thought it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time in Marrakech and it was our honeymoon. We were met at the airport with a driver who dropped us near the riad. A cart guy took our luggage to the riad for only 30dh (worth every penny for the help finding it!). Sonfianne was amazing! He made us mint tea upon arrival and provided us with a map.
The first night the riad was booked by a large family and we ended up in the smallest room- rather cozy but no problem for one night. They'd put roses on our bed and it was delightful!
After the first night, Sonfianne helped us move our luggage up to a room of our choice (a lovely upgrade) which was the room with the domed ceiling. We greatly enjoyed our stay- the A/C was great! Breakfast was a mix of Moroccan and French including pancakes, fresh OJ, homemade yogurt, melon, and bread. The location was PERFECT! Sooo close to the souks and Fna but very quiet!
I would love to go back. As I've mentioned, the young man who runs the riad was amazing. Helpful in every way and made our stay perfect. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fashionrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my first trip to Marrakesh, and the concept of Riads was new to me. As this is the only Riad I have stayed in, I can't compare the Dar Ten to the general Riad standards, so my review will be based on how I thought the general experience of staying there was.

Location. No one can disagree that the location is close to perfect. It took me only a couple of minutes to get completely and utterly lost in Marrakesh's narrow streets, and I quickly found out that the main square ( Jaama El Fna ) should be at the start/end-point of all your explorations, since its easy to find from everywhere in the Medina. Dar Ten is located close to the main square making it easy to start exploring every morning, and find your way back there every evening.

Rooms. I stayed in the Paprika suite, which I understand, is the grandest of the rooms. It was very clean, had a beautiful (although simple) interior and was, I thought, quite nice. Granted, the rooms was a little on the small side, and there was not much storage space, but I suspect that's how the Riads in general is, and it really was not a problem. There was no TV. Don't go to Marrakesh to watch TV. The rooms where cool, and I slept quite good there. Air-condition where available, but I didn't need to use it.

Staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and cooked up a nice breakfast in the morning, made arrangements for the airport transfer, and helped you with the luggage, and cleaned and tidied your room every day.

Price. I think the price was quite decent, and probably comparable to other riads of the same quality.

All in all a very pleasant experience thanks to the location, the charming rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ghali & SPA
Riad Ghali & SPA
#133 of 1,146 in Marrakech
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#398 of 1,146 in Marrakech
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#98 of 1,146 in Marrakech
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#28 of 1,146 in Marrakech
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Ten

Property: Riad Dar Ten
Address: 10 Derb Moulay El Ghali Laksour | Quartier Ksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Ten 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Ten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing