We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Ranked #42 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

very nice hostel, very close to the main square. cheap and friendly staff. wifi. breakfast included, would recommend. only down side is its quite hard to find, yuo may have to pay a local to guide you there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_parker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
15
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's hard to rate this hostel as it was the perfect place except for bed bugs. We only discovered them 3 days into our 5 day stay when the bites appeared. It made it difficult to sleep for the last 2 nights. Having had bed bugs before I recognised the signs but of course it was too late. When I returned home I found 2 live bugs on my case so I washed EVERYTHING at 60c and quarantined (in black plastic bin liners) the things that couldn't be washed for 5 weeks in the 25-30c sun. I suffered from extremely itchy bites for about a week after as did my 2 companions. I wouldn't have stayed there if I had known about them because bed bugs are the biggest pain ever and so hard to get rid of.
Apart from that the hostel is brilliant. The workers couldn't do enough for you and served mint tea the moment you walked through the front door. They wouldn't let you lift a finger and were very helpful with prices and helping us get into the local hammam for a good price. They even went to buy things for us that we never would have got at the same price being European.
The common room area is great (as is the terrace) for meeting people. The rooms are pretty small and we didn't spend much time in them. They don't assign you a bed so I would sometimes return to find someone else in the bed I'd been sleeping in. With only 3 bathrooms you had to form a queue sometimes. The breakfast was plentiful and there was so much we had to ask to take it with us.
We always felt safe and though there were no lockers people left valuables lying around and there were no problems but we were all young students so I guess it depends on the type of people.

Room Tip: It's preferable to get a room on the upper level because if you are on the fround floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel and it's great value for money. The location is brilliant, very central. We only stayed for a day and 2 nights, but i think that was enough for us, we had a great time and saw a lot! The staff were really nice, and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The rooms and eating area were clean enough. Highlight was the lovely, colourful roof garden! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisheaDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pros:
- Clean hostel
- Right in the heart of the Medina and less than 5minute walk from Jemaa el Fna
- Very friendly staff and available 24hours
- Excellent free breakfast every morning

Cons:
- we only had 1 power outlet in our room which had to be shared between 5 people
- Our 5 persons' room was overcrowded, (other rooms seemed to be bigger)


Conclusion:
For the price we paid, it was a real bargain and would definitely consider it again if I'm going again to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dejmjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this vibrant and friendly hostel in a fantastic location (5 minute walk to the Jemaa al Fina square). Having already organised an airport transfer, the arrival went smoothly. We were picked up and guided to the entrance of the Waka Waka - good job as it was quite tucked away. The staff were all lovely, Mohammed et al made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean, simple and, although the beds were small, they were comfortable enough. One of the evenings there was a dinner and show organised for a very good price, the food was delicious and the singing and dancing was fun. A popular place for back packers, it was easy to meet people from all over. We had a great time and would recommend it to other travellers. Thank you for a lovely stay!
P.S. would definitely recommend a good, authentic scrub and massage for 70 dh at the Hamman (traditional Moroccan baths) just around the corner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this hostel!! Friends and I stayed in a 5 person dorm and had a great stay. The beds were a bit hard but it was clean and a great value. The mint tea and breakfast were both delicious and we met some cool people. It is also in a great location and although hard to find, is a gem in the busy city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSAS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. The beds are kinda rough but the staff more then makes up for it. They were willing to help you with anything (and they didn't expect to be paid for it). The breakfast was freshly made every morning with plenty of coffee for everyone. However, it's really hard to find this place and you most likely will either wander around the markets streets forever or pay someone to take you there. You might think you are at the wrong place because the name of the hostel is written on the wall outside with chalk - don't worry about it - just ring the bell. This is a hostel for single or friends traveling together. There is a party atmosphere and smoking inside and very little privacy.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor - the first floor rooms open into the common room and it can get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#33 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#25 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#29 of 248 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Young and Happy Hostel
Young and Happy Hostel
#14 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#27 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Property: Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing