We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly, comfortable hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech to your Saves list
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, comfortable hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fun, relax and comfortable hostel. The hostel is cheap and really close to the Soukh. The hostel has Wifi and great mint tea served all day. For questions about Marrakesh or Morocco or anything else you can always go to Rachid, he can help you with everything!The staff is really friendly and make your stay very comfortable.The hostel is hard to find in the Medina, but with the Youtube description on their website or with help from the local people you can easily find it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thu_Yen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
15
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I keep returning to this place. It's really cheap, the staff is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect. I'm a single traveller and I've had no problems whatsoever meeting new friends and finding people to talk to. The host is very welcoming and imediately brings you a cup of good moroccan tea when you arrive. They help you sort out any trips you would like to take, hang out with you, feed you a good breaky. The location couldn't be better, it's located right in the souk. A bit hard to find, but managable. It gets cold at night, but with a good jumper it's not a problem. Definitely recommendable for the single traveller who likes to have fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionanynneandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a fun, laid-back hostel that is a great value for the money. If you stay there, I hope you are pretty relaxed about bed times, because there can be some pretty untimely noise. But this is more than made up for by the helpful staff, who don't rush you to pay them. Rachid (he bears an odd resemblance to jack sparrow) is the absolute best and made our stay so relaxed! Kind of hard to find deep in the medina, but I believe there is a youtube video you can watch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This gem tucked away in the streets of Marrakech is a fantastic place. Once you find it and enter through its low door way you find a colourful, authentic Riad. The staff are great offering all advice on a number of things from things to do in town to tour, and further travel in the country. All guests congregate in the main sitting area and all get to know eachother and there is a ncie laidback atmosphere, which is welcoming after a long day exploring the town. The best thing for me though was the home cooked food. It is very good and there is loads of it! It also offers better value than you would pay in town. The only issue i had was that at night it is very cold so make sure you wrap up warm and the beds are on the harder side. But highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The breakfast is giant and delicious, the people who works there are amazing!
If you need directions or any type of help the people who work there will help you.
It's safe and couzy.

Abdul you're the man!

Room Tip: You can sleep on the rooftop in the summer, it's very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrealmeida123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The exterior of this hostel definitely doesn't hint as to what delights lie await inside!!! (Namely the crudely written sign - in chalk on the side of the wall. Hilarious) This is like no hostel I've ever stayed in before; it is more like staying in somebody's house and having a big sleepover every night with people crashing in the living areas, rooftop its very laid back and fun! There was a group of 15 of us staying and the owners made us feel very welcome and were so friendly. The roof terrace is amazing to chill on during the day when its too hot or in the evenings when its cooler. If you are offered a home cooked tagine or cous cous make sure you say yes because its delicious! As somebody who has travelled Morocco for a month a few years ago, its impressive that this Hostel beats any i stayed in previously! What a gem. Made our holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Groginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Waka Waka is my favorite hostel that I have visited. The staff was very friendly and helped me and my friends get acquainted with the city. They served us delicious mint tea every time we came back from exploring. The breakfast is included in the very reasonable price and it was definitely not lacking! The environment was friendly and social; I met new people every day I stayed there. The roof top terrace is a great place for chilling out after a crazy day in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#33 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#25 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#29 of 248 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Young and Happy Hostel
Young and Happy Hostel
#14 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#27 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Property: Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing