We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad 144 Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad 144 Marrakech
Ranked #50 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Riad 144 is a beautiful paradise amongst the dusty streets mayhem and of Marrakech.
The decor of the Riad is artistic, traditional Moroccan with modern Parisian influences. Our room was amazing, with a hand painted ceiling, king bed and the bath was huuge!
It's location is perfect for walking into the souks and going to The Place. Jean was excellent company, it felt like we were staying with a friend. He went out of his way to make our stay memorable and personalised, recommending great sights, shops and restaurants. The food in the Riad was the best we had on our stay! You dine where you like- on the rooftops overlooking the atlas mountains or next to the beautiful piano in the dining room. I recommend the monkfish tagine! Would definitely visit again- but only if I was staying in Riad 144!

Room Tip: We loved the Beldi suite, but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
119
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a wonderful 5 nights at Riad 144. The service is exceptional and Jean makes you feel very settled with all of his handy tips and advice whilst Touria's meals are fabulous and Karim was great in helping us with our navigation skills or lack of them! The Riad is stunning with a roof terrace overlooking the rooftops in the medina, a lovely dining room and a great courtyard for sharing and swapping everyones stories from the day over an apperitif. It instantly feels like home and it offers a little piece of calm and relaxation just minutes away from the souks. We left having made friends and we will certainly return...

Room Tip: The secret suite is beautiful and worth paying a few more euros for..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Absolutely amazing is Riad 144!! Words cannot describe this place. The service is fantastic, we felt at home the entire time. Jean is so accommodating and offers so much advice on how to handle Marrakech! Definitely can recommend Riad 144 to anyone game for the medina! Get stuck in and experience!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room, even try a different one each night, availability permitting;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a wonderful little place amongst the mayhem of Marrakech.
From the time of booking everything just seemed to easy. Jean was always readily contactible by email with a speedy reply. Emailing a few days before confirming the name of the driver for an airport pick up with his number, and evening dinner arrangements... so organised.
And upon arrival a greeting from Jean's mother who was to host us for our stay - what a delight.

After a tour of the magnificant Riad we saw our room, and we were certainly not disappointed. How stunning it was. The secret suite has everything you could wish for including a beautiful marble bathtub in the room - such luxury.
we had a wonderful few days, taking breakfast on the terrace each morning, and evening apperitif with Vivien before heading out.
Thriughout the stay we were so well looked after by Touria and Karim who always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble.

We will definately return and recommend the Riad to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was looking in Marrakech hotels websites... I saw ''Riad 144"... i tried to contact them by curiosity... then they answer me after few minutes - Clear email, clarifying,Location, Services provided...

which made me think seriously about it. i sent another email to check the rooms rates and same as first email i got fast, smooth, clear answer satisfied all my curiousity.

I tired to make reservation on the phone, i was surprised with a very warm voice welcoming us, wich made me dreaming to quit the busy city of Casablanca in the next week end.

arriving to the riad:
we arrived early morning... one of the staff opened the door with a very large smile, greeted us, we have been asked if we want- complimentary- drinks !wet towels !..." it was a Great Moroccan hospitality"

In very professional way one of the staff guide us to our room, with an explication about timing, meals, facilities and even the weather. -we didn't waste any time down for the check-in which is a usual procedure.-


Awesome decoration, very nice colors, high standard beds and bath amenities..."Simply High Attention to details"

In the evening after along day, we Opened the Riad's door as it's like being home...we've been given the keys upon the check in.

we found soft lights... chill out music...friendly faces. we felt very relaxing after our long day in the busy Medina.

Well, all i can say that was a heavenly experience with very Professional staff who are aware about the services they provide and pure Moroccan hospitality.

... I am Willing to visit it again....

with love,

Simply Zouhair,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just gotten home after spending 10 days in Marrakech, at the wonderful Riad 144. We had seen pictures on both Tripadvisor and their website, so knew it was beautiful, but were amazed to find that in reality it was even better. We were in awe of the chic design of every room and space, with every attention to detail. Utterly charming, and it was such a pleasure to escape to after a hard days bargaining in the souks.

The owners made the stay for us. It is co-owned by Jean and his mother Vivien, and they take it in turn each month to accommodate guests. We were lucky enough to meet both, as they were swapping over during our stay. Jean welcomed us to the riad, and made every effort to ensure that we were having an enjoyable stay. He is full of helpful tips and advice, and has some great restaurant recommendations. He made us feel incredibly welcome and relaxed. It was like staying with a good friend.

Vivien then arrived to take over. She is marvellous company- full of life and wit, and has a great philosophy. Truly a joy to spend time with. On our last night she pulled out all the stops. Candles on every step, lanterns, aperitifs on the roof terrace, 3 course meal. We felt very special indeed.

Touria the chef is absolutely fabulous. Her tagines were the best we had in Marrakesh. She made pancakes and homemade cake for breakfast. Heaven.

The location of the riad is great, as it is within the Medina, but not next to all the other riads and hotels. It is a very traditional area, where all the locals will say good morning and night- we felt very safe there. It is also a two minute walk to a taxi rank where you can pick up a petit-taxi for around 10-20 dirhams (£1.00-£1.50) to almost anywhere in Marrakech.

If you are considering staying in Marrakech, there can only be one choice of Riad- Riad 144. It is just perfect. Look out for next year too, as Jean and Vivien are extending. We seriously cannot thank them enough. Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had been recommended Riad 144 but despite this, the reality surpassed my excpectations. Riad 144 is in the heart of the lively, authentic, dusty, alleys of Marrakesh. Open the door however and you enter a wonderful quiet and stylish oasis hosted by the charming Jean. The authenticity is kept whilst mixing it with good design, as well as those extra holiday luxuries such as a cook and a masseuse! The rooms are lovely and the splash pool is larger than most. I miss those evenings spent on the sofas of the roof terrace drinking ice cold wine.......
Amy Hylton - London

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#23 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#27 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad O
Riad O
#81 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#18 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 144 Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 144 Marrakech

Property: Riad 144 Marrakech
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical medina of Marrakech, Riad 144 is an intimate and relaxed full service boutique hotel with only 8 rooms & suites. In this hotel you will also find 2 courtyards, 3 terraces, 2 dining rooms, a winter garden, a spa with hammam and massage facilities and a boutique with a selection of moroccan art. One of the large patio has a heated plunge pool under the lush palm trees. One of the terrace with 360 degrees view over the medina and the Atlas mountains is the perfect spot to catch the best sunset of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad 144 Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing