We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Riad 144 Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad 144 Marrakech
Ranked #51 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Absolutely amazing is Riad 144!! Words cannot describe this place. The service is fantastic, we felt at home the entire time. Jean is so accommodating and offers so much advice on how to handle Marrakech! Definitely can recommend Riad 144 to anyone game for the medina! Get stuck in and experience!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room, even try a different one each night, availability permitting;)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Riad 144 Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 331 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a wonderful little place amongst the mayhem of Marrakech.
From the time of booking everything just seemed to easy. Jean was always readily contactible by email with a speedy reply. Emailing a few days before confirming the name of the driver for an airport pick up with his number, and evening dinner arrangements... so organised.
And upon arrival a greeting from Jean's mother who was to host us for our stay - what a delight.

After a tour of the magnificant Riad we saw our room, and we were certainly not disappointed. How stunning it was. The secret suite has everything you could wish for including a beautiful marble bathtub in the room - such luxury.
we had a wonderful few days, taking breakfast on the terrace each morning, and evening apperitif with Vivien before heading out.
Thriughout the stay we were so well looked after by Touria and Karim who always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble.

We will definately return and recommend the Riad to our friends

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was looking in Marrakech hotels websites... I saw ''Riad 144"... i tried to contact them by curiosity... then they answer me after few minutes - Clear email, clarifying,Location, Services provided...

which made me think seriously about it. i sent another email to check the rooms rates and same as first email i got fast, smooth, clear answer satisfied all my curiousity.

I tired to make reservation on the phone, i was surprised with a very warm voice welcoming us, wich made me dreaming to quit the busy city of Casablanca in the next week end.

arriving to the riad:
we arrived early morning... one of the staff opened the door with a very large smile, greeted us, we have been asked if we want- complimentary- drinks !wet towels !..." it was a Great Moroccan hospitality"

In very professional way one of the staff guide us to our room, with an explication about timing, meals, facilities and even the weather. -we didn't waste any time down for the check-in which is a usual procedure.-


Awesome decoration, very nice colors, high standard beds and bath amenities..."Simply High Attention to details"

In the evening after along day, we Opened the Riad's door as it's like being home...we've been given the keys upon the check in.

we found soft lights... chill out music...friendly faces. we felt very relaxing after our long day in the busy Medina.

Well, all i can say that was a heavenly experience with very Professional staff who are aware about the services they provide and pure Moroccan hospitality.

... I am Willing to visit it again....

with love,

Simply Zouhair,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just gotten home after spending 10 days in Marrakech, at the wonderful Riad 144. We had seen pictures on both Tripadvisor and their website, so knew it was beautiful, but were amazed to find that in reality it was even better. We were in awe of the chic design of every room and space, with every attention to detail. Utterly charming, and it was such a pleasure to escape to after a hard days bargaining in the souks.

The owners made the stay for us. It is co-owned by Jean and his mother Vivien, and they take it in turn each month to accommodate guests. We were lucky enough to meet both, as they were swapping over during our stay. Jean welcomed us to the riad, and made every effort to ensure that we were having an enjoyable stay. He is full of helpful tips and advice, and has some great restaurant recommendations. He made us feel incredibly welcome and relaxed. It was like staying with a good friend.

Vivien then arrived to take over. She is marvellous company- full of life and wit, and has a great philosophy. Truly a joy to spend time with. On our last night she pulled out all the stops. Candles on every step, lanterns, aperitifs on the roof terrace, 3 course meal. We felt very special indeed.

Touria the chef is absolutely fabulous. Her tagines were the best we had in Marrakesh. She made pancakes and homemade cake for breakfast. Heaven.

The location of the riad is great, as it is within the Medina, but not next to all the other riads and hotels. It is a very traditional area, where all the locals will say good morning and night- we felt very safe there. It is also a two minute walk to a taxi rank where you can pick up a petit-taxi for around 10-20 dirhams (£1.00-£1.50) to almost anywhere in Marrakech.

If you are considering staying in Marrakech, there can only be one choice of Riad- Riad 144. It is just perfect. Look out for next year too, as Jean and Vivien are extending. We seriously cannot thank them enough. Lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had been recommended Riad 144 but despite this, the reality surpassed my excpectations. Riad 144 is in the heart of the lively, authentic, dusty, alleys of Marrakesh. Open the door however and you enter a wonderful quiet and stylish oasis hosted by the charming Jean. The authenticity is kept whilst mixing it with good design, as well as those extra holiday luxuries such as a cook and a masseuse! The rooms are lovely and the splash pool is larger than most. I miss those evenings spent on the sofas of the roof terrace drinking ice cold wine.......
Amy Hylton - London

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a perfect stay! As we arrived we were welcomed by Viviane (the mother of the owner) with ice cold cloths and tea. She explained everything and showed us the entire Riad which is extremely stylish, artfully decorated but one feels at once comfortably, it doesn't feel like in a museum. We stayed in the Secret Room which is fantastic! At the first evening I booked the Hammam which was the best in our entire Morocco journey. We also ordered dinner for our first evening which began with drinks and snacks (the Guacamole dip was so delicious! we had to ask how to prepare it and already made it at home) on the roof terrace, then dinner was served which also was great, and the atmosphere was stunning. During our stay Viviane took great care of us and did everything to make us feel at home. As our first dinner at the Riad was such a great experience we also booked it for the second night and again it was such a great atmosphere, we still dream of it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in-style-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staying at the Riad 144, is like staying a friend's house. Jean is just so friendly and lovely, and goes out of his way to give you so many great tips about Marrakech. It's also in such a great central location. You really need a place like this to escape the craziness of Marrakech, everytime I stepped through the doors I felt myself just relax straight away and go aaahh. My Bf and I stayed in the Red room, which was gorgeous with it's own little fireplace (although we never actually used it). Every morning we took breakfast on the beautiful terrace, kindly prepared by the cook Touria. Who climbed the stairs with all our goodies every morning!

I also had the traditional hammam there, which everyone should do!

I don't hesitate to tell everyone how great the Riad was, definitely one of my highlights in Morocco.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#42 of 1,160 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,160 in Marrakech
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#20 of 1,160 in Marrakech
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#47 of 1,160 in Marrakech
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#67 of 1,160 in Marrakech
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 144 Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 144 Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad 144 Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical medina of Marrakech, Riad 144 is an intimate and relaxed full service boutique hotel with only 8 rooms & suites. In this hotel you will also find 2 courtyards, 3 terraces, 2 dining rooms, a winter garden, a spa with hammam and massage facilities and a boutique with a selection of moroccan art. One of the large patio has a heated plunge pool under the lush palm trees. One of the terrace with 360 degrees view over the medina and the Atlas mountains is the perfect spot to catch the best sunset of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Riad 144 Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing