We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Shambala
Nearby Hotels
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$380
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$89
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$263
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$590
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$366
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$151
$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
204
11
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedina gateyogurtjardin majorelleel fna squarerooms are comfortablea wonderful staymint teahome from homeevery morningsmall pooltaxi driverminute walkpancakesatlas mountainsthe main squareroof terraceincense
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 219 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just returned from a five day break at Riad Shambala in Marrakech with my partner and our 2 kids (10yrs &3yrs). When you first arrive you walk down this dusty little street to this beautiful black door with brass knocker. You tap the knocker on the solid door and it gently opens and you are greeted warmly by the manager or one of the attentive members of staff. Once inside you are in a beautiful oasis of calm and tranquility. Gentle lighting, soft music and comfy sofas & chairs surround a small central plunge pool. Off to the side is a charming little sitting room with open log fire. We were met by Mohamed who sat us down and greeted us with welcome tea and sweets. He sat with us and told us all about Marrakech and what to do and what to avoid and also made it very clear he was available any time day or night and for whatever reason. He made us feel incredibly welcome, safe and looked after.
He then took us to our room which was on the first floor over looking the pool and courtyard, and what a lovely room it was too. Great big raised bed with luxury duvet and pillows to one side and sink, toilet and shower to the other. Lots of fresh quality towels too. The kids loved the Riad and the staff were great with them ( we were definately the loudest family in the Riad). I to be honest was not expecting much from the breakfast and how wrong was I. Fantastic fresh fruit salad, yogurt, toast, pancakes, pain au chocolat, eggs, fresh juice, coffee all individually served. Absolutely delicious !!
We had a truly amazing holiday in Marrakech and loved the place and we also loved Riad Shambala... We can't recommend it enough !! Great location out of the hustle and bustle of the centre, but close enough to walk back from the central square too day or night. (10mins)
Overall 10/10

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHappySunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited Marrakech last November 2012, and I stayed at the Riad Shambala for a full week. This Riad is quite new. It was built from the ground up by his owner a couple of years ago, but it was designed like an "old Riad" so it has lots of charm and charisma. The whole Riad was built by local artisans, everything was done manually, the rooms, the windows the doors etc, so it is appointed like a piece of art built with excellent craftsmanship.

Each room is designed and decorated to be unique, so you feel that the accommodations are specially designed for you. The rooms are not only beautiful but very comfortable. The shared areas in the Riad are like a little Moroccan palace, extremely well appointed and charming. The patios at the top of the Riad are great locations to enjoy time for a drink or dinner and watch the sunset with fantastic views of the medina.

The Riad is located inside the medina, so it is a short walk from any place at the medina and the local market, and there is easy access to a nearby gate to exit the medina and find taxis if you need to travel to visit other places of the city. The Shambala is located in a safe neighbourhood. I never noticed any sign of disturbance in the streets around the Shamnala, just the contrary, the area around this Riad was very authentic, and beautiful. Once you exit the main gate of the Riad into the streets you will mingle with the locals living a normal everyday life.

The service and customer attention are excellent. The general manager is always at the facility and he is extremely polite, useful and kind to provide anything you can imagine. The food is excellent and they will cater fantastic dinners if you like to enjoy a relaxing time at the end of the day overlooking the medina from one of the Riad's patios.

In general I think this is a fantastic Riad and a great value, for people traveling alone, couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGGUZMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had booked this Riad for 4 nights but when we arrived at 9PM, it turned out there was a mix-up with their booking office in Spain and there were no rooms available for us. My wife and I were very angry and upset. The staff called the manager, Mohamed, who immediately came over to the Riad to help fix the situation.

Mohamed was extremely apologetic. Since there was no possibility that they could give us a room, he helped us find another Riad that was available. He negotiated a 20% discount for us, and even paid for one of our 4 nights at the other Riad. The next day he invited us for breakfast at Riad Shambala. He gave us a map of the city, a booklet of restaurants, and then spent 30 minutes giving us recommendations about things to see, where to shop, and where to eat. He said we were welcome any day to come relax at Riad Shambala and have free tea.

The following day, we asked Mohamed where we could buy some Moroccan spices for gifts, and he insisted that we let him buy the spices for us. We tried to tell him we did not want to trouble him, but he would not let us say no.

The mix up was not Mohamed's fault, and he did not really have to help us. But he truly did everything he could to fix things so that we had a wonderful time in Marrakech. I'm sure that his attitude reflects the service of the entire Riad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadShambalaMarrakec, Propietario at Riad Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Michael,
you were right, we have a problem with the booking system (never happened before) and we got a duplicate reservation. Sorry for that.
Mohamed and me were all time taking care of you, and from the beginning I arrange other Riad for you with best price possible for you.
Please forgive us, and visit us next time!

Team Shambala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This riad is a little gem within the walls of the Medina, a haven of peace after the day's fatigue and the bustle of the streets and pushy merchants. A small team of friendly and charming people. We are delighted with the good advice, details and explanations about Marrakech gastronomy that Mohamed gave us, the luxury of charming conversation and time you would not find in a bigger hotel. I recommend it and hope to return.

Merci bien Mohamed, à bientôt je l'espère bien!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I really feel, I was living in Marrakech rather than visiting. This is an authenthic Riad but with all the conforts that you would expect in a small western boutique hotel. It was so nice to come back every afternoon after go around busy Marrakech, and enjoy the confort and hospitality of the profesional and extremily frendly staff. Breakfast was great and a couple of nights we didnt feel, like going out and they organice a dinner for us, wich was, I have to say the best of our trip. Even though is quiet a central location, the area is very quiet. . Highly recomended!!

Room Tip: Wherever I stay, I prefer top floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nachodenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews