We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - a real oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous - a real oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (me, my husband and Dad) stayed at the Riad al Loune from 28th Sept to 2nd Oct and from the moment I booked the Riad I felt it was the right decision. Nothing was too much trouble, they emailed lots of information prior to our arrival and I would say that this was very comforting.
We had never visited Morocco before and as we were travelling with my Dad for my 40th I was eager to make this holiday something that we would all enjoy.
The rooms were lovely ( we were in Brown and Prune) and they were beautifully clean and very comfortable. The tea and pastries upon arrival were a real treat and from then on nothing was too much trouble. It was also a lovely surprise to be given a beautiful bouquet by Mohammed at breakfast the next day - which was a real treat and very kind.

I would recommend a few things which are;

Booking the taxi transfer via the Riad ( you can add it to you bill and it's by far the easiest option given the unfamiliarity of the streets when you arrive)
Eat at the Riad on your 1st night (this and every other meal there was delicious!!)
Ask for a guided tour through the souk (once you get your bearings it's really straightforward and the first time out can be a little daunting)
Change your money at a bureau in the souk not using a cash machine - as they do not always have money in them
Ask to take a photo of someone or of a stall in the souk - understandably they value their privacy
Learn a little Moroccan - please and thank you go a long way
Use the 'Red Bus' to orientate yourself in your 1st couple of days and you will get a good map

Thanks very much to Khadija, Simo, Cecilia and Mohammed - you made our trip to Morocco very special and you treated my family with such kindness and consideration during our stay in your beautiful Riad. It really is a home from home. Go and visit, I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: We had a room on a high floor which was very private and had a great outside seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireAliBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We also chose this location based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. With only seven rooms available to be booked at the Riad Al Loune the attention that each and every guest receives is outstanding. Factor in a great location (5-10 min. stroll to the souks) and very affordable rates, and I would most definitely stay here again or recommend it to any friends travelling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Such an amazing stay. Once you open the door to the riad you are in an absolute oasis. Great service and atmosphere. The riad only has a few rooms so it's very relaxing and feels like a home. Muhammad was very accommodating and gave us his cell number in case you ever had any issues. It was a bit hard for us to find but I think you can say that about any place in the medina. Follow Muhammad's advice and look for landmarks not street names. Also don't rely on GPS to find your way around :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandCfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked the Riad al Loune based on other great reviews and I can only agree.
Beautiful Riad, lovely staff- thanks to Muhammed who even got out to buy us a bottle of wine after we couldn't find a store selling it.
So calm and inviting and a very good location just close enough to the souks.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingonberry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for seven nights in the brown room. The riad is breathtakingly beautiful, our room was sumptuous, clean and comfortable. The staff are so friendly, hospitable and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was plentiful, enough to keep you going all day. We asked for fried eggs on a couple of mornings for a change. This wasn't a problem at all.

Returning to the riad after a hectic day in the medina, avoiding scooters, cyclists, donkeys, sellers, beggars and tourists is just what you need to relax.

The lanes can seem a little confusing to start with, but its all part of the fun. We never felt unsafe. The locals like to know where you're from and welcome you to their country.

I would recommend this riad to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just came back from Morocco, and stayed 3 nights at Riad Al Loune. I have to say the best part of this riad is the staff. From the emails sent prior to our arrival letting us know important logistics, airport transfers, etc, to the extremely attentive service we received throughout our stay, the service was top notch. As all reviews mention the riad's beauty, etc I won't get into those details, but definitely agree with them all.
Overall, I would have given the riad a 4/5, but didn't want to as I didn't want to take the chance at lowering their rating, as they deserve to be well ranked. The two issues we had were;
1- The breakfast was ok, but could be improved. It was all breads, starches etc. I stayed at other riads during my trip in Morocco, and many had a little more variety including yogurt, fruit, occasionally eggs, etc.
2- The location is deep in the heart of the riad, which leads to a very authentic experience but unfortunately had some safety issues when coming home late at night. One of our first nights, we took a wrong turn in the medina and were lost. A teenage boy offered to show us the way home and brought us to our riad. When I tried to give him a tip (20DH), he got angry, saying it was too little. In the end we gave him 100DH to satisfy him, (as we were 2, and he was quite big, we wanted to avoid conflict). Obviously this is not the riad's fault, but unfortuntely the location is such that getting lost is a very good possibility and at the mercy of someone else to guide you home.
Again, the riad was wonderful, I would highly recomment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, I want to Thank all of the wonderful staff for accommodating our every need during our recent stay here. The service, unlike other hotels was genuine and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The Riad is beautiful - understated on the outside, unexpected and magical inside.
Every last detail has been carefully considered to reflect contemporary and traditional Moroccan culture. It is a perfect, romantic getaway which is complete by birds singing and stunning picturesque views from the Terrace.

The Riad is situated in the centre of the Medina, 10 minutes from the Souks, 15-20 minutes from the Jemaa el-Fnaa. The medina is mysterious and magical in itself, once explored your route home won't be forgotten. We never felt any threat coming back late at night, and after an action filled day it was always a pleasure to enter this tranquil space and enjoy a coffee by the plunge pool.

We stayed in the green room, which again, was stunning. The room is spacious and the interior is creative and perfect. All rooms are equipped with air-con and complimentary water.
As our flight back wasn't until 6pm and check out was 12pm we were kindly allowed access to the red room to get ready/store our belongings, and may I add this is another stunning room with unique features and insightful photography.

Stay here to experience the real Marrakech, you won't be disappointed!

Well done on maintaining your Riad to such a high standard,
Thank-you again

Keep up all of the hard work,
Becky & George
England

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#73 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#28 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#106 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Property: RIad Al Loune
Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing