We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stay here, but prepare for the unexpected.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Ranked #179 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay here, but prepare for the unexpected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked 7 nights here during my stay. The layout is ideal for a hostel and the staff are friendly, organise great value trips/excursions, make good breakfast and are really welcoming. The showers are plentiful and have individual boilers to good pressure and heat.

If you're a smoker, be prepared that you won't be able to get away from it as its allowed in all areas. Also, noise travels easily so expect later nights and early rises from 7am desert tours leaving.

There were double bookings when I was here, I changed rooms a couple of times and some slept in the common area but that's Morocco - be flexible and "be like the water", go with the flow and everything will work itself out.

I had a great time - you will too if you let yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElliottJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    12
    6
    8
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
4
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I originally only planned to stay here for a night or two before heading north to Rabat for French lessons. In the end I stayed for two weeks. Part of the reason is because Youssef and Karim were so helpful in helping me find a cheap, good French teacher in Marrakech, and partly because you'll never find such awesome showers anywhere else in Morocco. Most other hostels use gas to heat the water, which means a pretty long wait for tepid showers, which is okay in summer, but depressing in winter. This hostel uses electric, so there is almost always enough to go around. Excellent!

Like everyone else has said, you immediately feel welcome and comfortable here. The terrace is beautiful and the hostel is set up well for interacting with other travelers. The staff are always very fun to talk to and hang out with, and Karim and Youssef really make a special effort to include people that have just arrived so that nobody feels isolated. Also, Karim makes the BEST tajines, and will always give you good recommendations, help with your French, and give you tips about fair pricing for whenever you go shopping. Avita, the cleaning lady, doesn't speak much English, but she is fun to practice French with, and she is always in a good mood.

In all, a fabulous hostel that I can't recommend highly enough. If you are staying in Marrakech, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hostel is located 5 to 10 min from the square actually easy to find but make sure you know the number of the house since there are no signs on the outside saying that this is the hostel...
warm welcome with tea, the owner yussef is a really nice guy who will help you with all kind of things ( going out, booking trips etc.) and takes his time to sit with the guests of the hostel on the terasse or in the lobby to have good conversations and maybe music and drinks... rest of the staff is just as open and helpful as him..amazing breakfast...tasteful interior design in the rooms, lobby and terasse... small working kitchen with all the stuff you need for cooking...Rooms and bathrooms are clean ( unlike it's said in other reviews here)... in Mama Marrakech you get a great hostel for low coasts.. great atmosphere beacause you get to know other people and have great evenings but you can find a quiet place to relax if you wish to

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomar-_Ayzensted99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Mama Marrakesh is the perfect place to stay for single travellers. Youssef and Karim are very welcome to every guest so when staying there you directly feel like being part of a bigger family. I really enjoyed the time at Mama Marrakesh, the amazing mint tea, the delicious breakfast and the nice conversations we had. I can defininetly recommend this hostel to everybody who appreciates a warm-hearted place and nice conversations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friederike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hostel is really cute! Situated in an atmosfearing street and near the central place.. You can drink tea everytime you want, the beds are comfortable and the staff very helpfull. Go there, people!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazioliivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hostel is by far the best I have stay in yet and considering the amount of hostels I've stayed in my four months of travelling south america and in Morocco, that speaks volumes.
It nice to have the privacy, there is no sign up on the door so they is no beggers outside or even knocking on the door at all hours - which is something i have experienced when there is signed indicating where the hostel is from the main street. The decoration of the hostel is all original Moroccan design, which in great to experience culture from the place you are staying. There are lockers in every room with your own key, comfortable beds, bed sheets are changed every other day I think, 3 showers and 4 toilets one more of each if you count the en suite in one of the bedrooms, its among the cleanest i have stayed in, breakfast is 3 and is practically 3 courses with omelette, bread, jam, a large flat Moroccan pancake kind of thing, that is coated in honey, slices of orange with Moroccan coffee or tea which ever you prefer. Mint tea is always free all day and night and always being made for the guests.
The best thing about this place is the atmosphere. Its so chilled and relaxed, really is like being at home chilling in the living area or the roof terrace. the terrace is always a sun trap all day for the sun bathing enthusiast.. The staff are amazing, Kareem who make breakfast is very sweet and speak good english and is on hand to help you with what ever when ever you need it. The owners Yusif and Crystal also don't have the word no in their vocabulary either and are on hand or at the end of the phone should you need anything.
Overal I woud strongly recommend staying here if you are in morocco. All the above aside, the location is perfect, being only 5 min walk from the square and bus routes, its quite at night, and all day, but the madness of Marrakech is not far away. There are really cheap places to eat and shop on the street the hostel is on, nothing is to far away.. THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: there are different price of rooms, the most expensive being the one with the en suit, then there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The bedding in this hostel is basic. A mattress on the floor with some warm blankets and ok pillows. I slept well in the hostel and felt safe and happy. We stayed for three nights, with a night out in the Sahara in the middle of our stay. Lockers are provided in the rooms and a great breakfast was served each morning. Bathrooms were fine, 2nd floor bathroom probably the best. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the roof area, and the free mint tea. Staff were friendly and the location was quite good, - a short walk to the marketplace square Jamaa el-Fnaa. Would recommend to travelers who are ok with roughing it ever so slightly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#25 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#22 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#30 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#45 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Property: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Address: Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Property and Hostel: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech is a warm friendly place that welcomes travelers and backpackers, ages 18 and over, from all the far corners of the world. We have a tremendous amount of experience in the hospitality industry. Collectively, we are native English, French, Arabic and Spanish speakers so we can understand what travelers need during their stay in a place that may or may not be familiar. As our guest, you can relax on our beautiful garden terrace and drink free mint tea all day if you desire. If you are feeling social, mingle with other guests listening to music in our comfortable ground floor salon and even feel free to cook yourself a meal in our kitchen, using the wonderful spices you may have just gotten from the Souks. We can also help you set up the adventure of your life with day and night trips to other cities… Go to the beach for the day in Essaouira, take a hike on the trails and waterfalls in the mountains of Ourika Valley or even go camel riding and spend some time in the Sahara… After a few days of adventure, you may want to relax, come back to Mama Marrakech and sense that this hostel is your home away from home. We desire that you to feel that this experience is one you want to tell your friends about or feel safe enough to come back alone, because you are a part of our extended family! Accomodations: Three large mixed dorm rooms available: Dorm One- 5 single beds with bathroom en-suite Dorm Two- 6 single beds, Dorm Three - 6 single beds. All dorms have a bathroom a few feet away from the room and all clients have access to the bathroom and shower on the terrace. There are 3 nice European style bathrooms with hot water showers in the hostel. Prices: 120 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm 1 with 5 beds and bathroom in the room (approximately 12,50 Euros), 100 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm two and three (approximately 9,00 Euros). Private rooms are possible for groups that can fill the accommodation desired room or entire hostel. Prices can be arranged by email based on the needs of each party. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing