We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimilist - Modern”
Review of Mooi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mooi Hotel
Ranked #409 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Minimilist - Modern”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Staying in a traditional riad in Marrekech is always lovely however, recently I had the opportunity to overnight at Le Mooii Hotel. This small boutique hotel is only a couple of years old and its’ design is very much minimalist. Rooms are spacious and light, with a wall of windows and sliding doors opening onto a small balcony. The decor was white with soft grey accents. I had a single room booked which to my pleasant surprise had a king size bed, not often the case in Moroccan hotels, as well as beautiful linen and dreamy pillows. Another pleasant surprise was a complimentary platter of fruit and plate of Moroccan pastries.

I also loved the spacious bathroom with its generous’ walk-in shower space and large cascading shower-head.

Rececption staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and served in the bar/cafe/restaurant next door (adjoining & part of the hotel). Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, good coffee, basket of fresh bread & pastries, served with butter, cheese & confiture.

Within a short walking distance is an ATM, Carrefore Supermarket, the excellent Cafe Extrablatt, Comptoir Darna & Theatro.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Mooï Hotel because of its location in the new town's Hivernage District. The hotel is located a 20 minutes' walk away from the Medina (Jemaa el-Fna Square). The location is great (quiet but close to trendy bars and restaurants, an ATM and a Carrefour).

In order to guarantee the reservation, we had to e-mail a copy of our credit card and passport. When we arrived, the gentleman at the reception told us that we would have to pay cash, as their credit card machine didn't work. We tried to insist paying by card, based on the bureaucratic reservation process mentioned above, but were told it's not possible. Instead of welcoming us with a glass of mint tea, we had to negotiate our form of payment - that's not how you make your guests feel at ease...

The room's decoration is a bit sober (all white, there is not one painting on the walls). Otherwise the room was spacious, clean and had a good bed. We missed a hair dryer in the bathroom...

You can choose between Continental and Moroccan breakfast (which we were only told on the second day) and while we were alone in the restaurant, the service was quite slow.

Don't get tricked by the pictures of the pool on the rooftop. You won't be able to swim in it... Nevertheless, it's nice to sit next to it and appreciate the view of the city.

We were quite disappointed with our choice, as we didn't experience the typical Moroccan hospitality in this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank luisinho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at hotel Mooi. It's in the Hivernage district so around a 5-10min walk from the Medina walls and not too much further into the square and the souks!

Hotel is super clean and the staff were excellent. We had lovely breakfast on the rooftop terrace which has amazing views of the city! The terrace also has a pool.

Very good value for a great hotel just a little bit out of the busy streets in the Medina!

For restaurants nearby - would recommend Table du Marche which is only 5mins away.

Only imrpovement that could be made would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the room but this is hardly a criticism as the hotel was excellent.

Thanks again for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came here as a last resort looking for a pool in the heat of Marrakech after we were duped by the person who rented teir house to us saying they had a pool when they didn't! They were the only ones who let us in and for free if we ate in the restaurant! Needless to say we had a meal there and it was very nice and reasonably priced too, then spent the afternoon at the pool. Thanks to everyone at Mooi for making our trip to Marrakech a little better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antipodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can highly recommend the Mooi Hotel in Marrakesh. The staff, especially Siham and Ashraf, are excellent, and the rooms are beautiful. The location near Djema al-fna and other great sites is exquisite. Great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhanaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, clean, charming and located in the best area of Marrakech (i.e. a few minutes from the medina, from the shopping center and from the most trendy clubs). Rooms are huge compared to any other places i have been to (trust me i travel a lot!). The top floor offers a nice terrasse with a swimming pool where you can enjoy your breakfast with a view of the city and of the mountains!

The staff is welcoming and will help you to find your way or to organise any kind of trips you are willing to experience.
I have nothing better to say than "go for it"!!!!!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is not a hotel you should go to if you want to get a moroccan feeling. It will be as if you are somewhere in Europe or the US.

The hotel is very conveniently situated in the Hivernage quarter, where many other high end hotels are located, it is close to the main square with a mini taxi. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, with very modern and minimalist decor. It is clean (although it could be cleaner). The reception/concierge services however were not really up to speed: communication was difficult (even though we spoke good French) and not very helpful in booking an excursion to the desert.

All in all, a decent hotel in a great area - prices during New Year's are pretty high for the value, but during other less busy times I guess it is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#199 of 501 in Marrakech
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#405 of 501 in Marrakech
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#156 of 501 in Marrakech
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#202 of 501 in Marrakech
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#396 of 501 in Marrakech
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#429 of 501 in Marrakech
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooi Hotel

Property: Mooi Hotel
Address: Avenue Echouada | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Mooi" Hotel is a part of a boutique hotel concept and consists of 15 rooms and suites, restaurant and bar lounge music.Located in the Hivernage avenue in gueliz - “Mooi” hotel is at 15 meters from the medina and historic sites.In a clean, both modern and warm, the strengths of "Mooi" are undoubtedly its location and exceptional terrace in the winter, offering a panoramic view of the mountains of the Atlas and Koutoubia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mooi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing