We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Riad in A Quiet Area of Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du Desert
Ranked #34 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I visited Marrakech on our honeymoon and this riad made our experience both magical and memorable.

Youssef, Simu, Khadija, Samira and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make this experience a great one. They were all so kind and friendly.

I e-mailed the riad months in advance to organize events and activities, to include a spa visit, temporary henna tattoo, lunches, dinners, tours, and belly dancing shows.

When we arrived in Marrakech, a driver met us at the airport and took us to the riad where Youssef and Khadija greeted us with traditional Moroccan mint tea and cookies which were incredibly delicious. Youssef then gave us a map and then gave us a guided tour around Marrakech where he made suggestions about where to and not to go. A few hours later, the entire riad was treated to a traditional Moroccan dinner and show, as we pre-booked this activity.

The show was absolutely amazing, as were the traditional Moroccan tagines. It was our first time having traditional Moroccan food and we were not disappointed to say the least! The food was so flavorful and the meats were cooked to perfection. We were treated to appetizers, tagines, deserts, and drinks during dinner. Once we were almost finished eating, the show began. The dancers came in and performed for a few minutes and then encouraged the entire riad to participate. One by one, the dancers shared a dance with every riad guest who wanted to participate. It was essentially one big party where the entire riad was invited. We danced well into the night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. To let the older couples sleep, we took the party upstairs on the terrace and still had a good time.

The next morning, we ate a traditional Berber breakfast and it was delicious. Khadija and Simmu served breakfast to every couple individually and were not upset when we asked for more or less of something. They were very accommodating with all meals, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

We stayed in the Suite Rubis which was absolutely beautiful. It was nicely decorated and was incredibly charming. It was located on the first floor and was very spacious. We even had a small A/C unit in the room when it got too warm, but we really did not need to use it, as the temperature was just fine. The room also had its own private bathroom and the doors opened into the courtyard on the ground floor.

This is a wonderful riad for couples looking for romance and charm. There is even WiFi access! Although there is no spa or jacuzzi in this riad, they have them in their sister riads which are within walking distance. They will even let you partake in these amenities in their other riads as long as you inquire about them and no one else is booked for the jacuzzi or the spa at the time that you want to go.

Overall, all of the staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. There was no request too big or too small for the staff. We even asked to use their washing machine, as we did sweat through a lot of our clothing. My husband preferred a very specific type of juice and Simmu went to the market to get it for him each time he asked. I even asked Youssef to teach me how to write my name in Arabic.

If you are ever in Marrakech and looking for a place to stay with charm and a lovely staff, this is definitely the place for you!

This will be the only place that we stay whenever we return back to Marrakech in the future!

Room Tip: The Ruby room is absolutely beautiful and on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sneak_Peeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

From the minute you arrive at the airport and are whisked to the Riad nothing is too much trouble for Youssef and his team. We arrived late so ate in the Riad. The meal was well presented and a great introduction to Moroccan cooking. Simon then showed us the way to the main square and we easily found the Riad on the return journey. Long winding alleys are part of the charm of Marrackesh along with vibrant smells both good and bad. Don't be afraid although some people may try to be pushy they all back off if ignored and crime just doesn't seem to be a problem.

The room was clean nicely furnished and air conditioned.

We had a half day tour of the city organised by Youssef which was both interesting and helpful for orientation.

A private trip to the Ourika Valley we organised with Mountain Tours Morocco which was great, the Berber house visit was a bit touristy but at least you felt able to drink the tea and eat the thyme scented butter from the cows stabled in the house, probably. The 2000ft climb to the water fall up the valley was not too strenuous and gives a good sense of achievement.

We enjoyed our stay immensely but if you want an fascinating evening take tea with Youssef and ask him about his culture and up bringing.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The riad is a 10 minute walk from the road outside the medina and at one point the route becomes a series of narrow alleys, some of which are a bit stinky. Once you're in however, its all nice.

We were welcomed by Abdul and then Youssef arrived, who gave us a great introduction to Marrakech and showed us various routes to walk around on a map of the medina. He also gave us good recommendations of places to eat and drink at. Simo is another guy who helps run the riad and was around at most meal times. There are a couple of ladies too who cook and clean and are really efficient and helpful too.

The room was on the first floor and superb, with a blue theme since it was the 'turquoise' room. The bathroom was huge, but at times had a musty smell. They should put in some air fresheners in there, in fact all riads in Morocco need to do this. An exhaust fan would also be a good idea.

Sound tends to carry quite far in the silence of the neighbourhood and we could hear some other guests talking at night and in the morning. This was not at odd times so it didn't disturb us.

The riad is a 10 minute walk from Jamaa el Fna, the main square, so is fairly convenient.

We had one meal there and all breakfasts for the 3 nights we stayed and all were lovely. They served us mint tea when we wanted and it was usually great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

thank you for the amazing stay in Riad Princesse du desert!
Very good location, clean and comfy rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly stuff always there to help you with a big smile! I definitely recommend the Riad!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stathis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this Riad as it is a favourite choice of ' Around Morocco Tour' company. ( I would also highly recommend this tour company and our wonderful guide Mohammad) It was like coming home. The staff (thank you Simo!) could not have been more friendly or helpful and the meals they serve are delicious. We remembered the way to get to the square from the Riad but the staff would have been only too happy to show us if we did not. Our friends who joined us loved their stay here too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was the most wonderful experience to stay in this oasis and enjoy the kindness of all the people working at the riad which went far beyond what you'd expect in terms of service. I recommend it to everyone and wish to come back myself one day. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pros:
Very close to main square
Breakfast was good
Staff was nice

Cons:
Hard to find and hard to navigate the streets in the medina
One room didn't have hot water while we were there
We didn't like being on the first floor off the lobby with less privacy

We were on the border between a 3 and a 4 for the overall rating

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#142 of 499 in Marrakech
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#160 of 1,171 in Marrakech
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,171 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,171 in Marrakech
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#53 of 1,171 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Noos Noos
Riad Noos Noos
#27 of 1,171 in Marrakech
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du Desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $59 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Princesse du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Princesse du Desert Nothing is too good for her. Equidistant from the " Jemaa El Fna " and " Door Dar El Bacha " , the location of Riad Princesse du Desert is exceptional especially since it offers beautiful calm and tranquility. Nestled in the Medina, the small alley that leads to the riad is a wonder with warm colors that contrast with the blue sky and vegetation that is rare in the Medina which can give the feeling of a Provence in Marrakech. Additionally beautiful decoration, attention to detail , arches , columns and moucharabiehs , lace white stucco ceilings, zellij ( tiled ) walls and featuring an alchemy of colors and smells with refined bath products (jasmine and amber ) make this a wonderful place to be . Additionally, not forgetting comfort alongside the beauty, each of the 6 rooms feature air conditioning, soft bedding and luxury linens. Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Princesse du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing