We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du Desert
Ranked #37 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in this wonderful riad. It is beautifully decorated, clean and with very friendly staff who do all they can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The narrow streets leading up to the riad are very daunting as you think you will never navigate your way around them but Yusuf gave us excellent instructions and we mastered the route after a day.
We booked an evening at the hammam - the one used by the locals, not tourists- and I can truly say I have never felt so squeaky clean afterwards. Naima from the Riad took us there and rubbed all the dirt out of us.
I would recommend this riad to anyone who wants to experience a slice of Moroccan life

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadira508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
229
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My friend and I had an excellent time with this hotel. Although it is hidding itself in narrow alley in Medina, it is just 10 minutes walk from the main square. The staff working there are very warm and helpful, in particular Simon and Abdubal. Don't miss the opportunity of staying in a traditional Morocco house with all elegant decoration and having a private breakfast on the rooftop. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinglixiamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This riad was lovely and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. So quiet once you got inside, the room was gorgeous and very clean. The breakfasts were delightful and dinner on the terrace was delicious. Definitely to be recommended. Would definitely recommend a hammam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastGrinsteadJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We could not have enjoyed our stay in this riad more - It was our favourite place in all of Morocco, and was spacious and luxurious.
We were welcomed by Mustafa, who took the time to show us how to reach the square, and the best place to eat. Simo was always friendly, cheerful and helpful, as were the beautiful sisters Khadija and Amal, who treated us as if we were part of their family. They were so kind, and could not do enough for us - we really did not want to leave.
If you want the perfect place to stay in Marrakech, do NOT miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were part of a group of 4 couples that stayed at this riad for 4 nights. The staff at this riad made it a great place to stay. They were very helpful in anything we asked for. The breakfast served every morning was very good. This riad offers cooking classes, which we did not take but we did have them prepare dinner for us one evening and it was very good and being served on the roof terrace made it very pleasant. The riad is in a very quiet part of the medina but not far from the main square. The rooms were nicely decorated and all looked down into the atrium. We certainly recommend this riad for anyone wanting to stay in the medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We met Samira on our way down the derb and she personally escorted to the riad. The door opened and we were in the luxurious central courtyard with traditional fountains. After a tea greeting we were shown to our room--the Turquoise suite. It was spacious with four poster bed and a bath with full amenities. The riad is just off the medina, away from the noise and busy activities of the souks, but we could quickly find our way to the Jamaa el-Fna. The staff were always there to see to all our needs. The rooftop terrace was a serene space to relax on a chaise with a beverage after a day of touring and where we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast each morning. We departed with hugs (and a tear) on our last day in Morocco--a fitting end. A special shukran to Mustafa, Simone and everyone at Princesse---where we were treated royally.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

All the other reviews are right; this is a special place with staff, lead by Mustafa, that make you feel like part of the family. The cooking class by Khadija, with collection of ingredients from the souk, was a real highlight and the resultant food delicious. Excellent place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#119 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#152 of 1,153 in Marrakech
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,153 in Marrakech
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#44 of 1,153 in Marrakech
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aloes
Riad Aloes
#43 of 1,153 in Marrakech
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#30 of 1,153 in Marrakech
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du Desert

Property: Riad Princesse du Desert
Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Princesse du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Princesse du Desert Nothing is too good for her. Equidistant from the " Jemaa El Fna " and " Door Dar El Bacha " , the location of Riad Princesse du Desert is exceptional especially since it offers beautiful calm and tranquility. Nestled in the Medina, the small alley that leads to the riad is a wonder with warm colors that contrast with the blue sky and vegetation that is rare in the Medina which can give the feeling of a Provence in Marrakech. Additionally beautiful decoration, attention to detail , arches , columns and moucharabiehs , lace white stucco ceilings, zellij ( tiled ) walls and featuring an alchemy of colors and smells with refined bath products (jasmine and amber ) make this a wonderful place to be . Additionally, not forgetting comfort alongside the beauty, each of the 6 rooms feature air conditioning, soft bedding and luxury linens. Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Princesse du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing