We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, wonderful riad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du Desert
Ranked #40 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights over the Christmas holidays during our first trip to Morocco. It was a tranquil, beautiful oasis in the middle of the bustling medina. The manager, Mustafa, was so warm and gracious and went out of his way to make us feel welcome with mint tea and traditional cookies. The rooms were lovely and the decor of the whole place was elegant. The cook made wonderful, delicious meals for us. We also enjoyed amazing massages at the spa. The service was first rate! We felt lucky to have stayed here and definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Riad Princesse du Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 496 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mostapha was a wonderful host! Although small (which is expected of a room in a riad), our room was decorated very nicely. Even though we had to report the shower head was broken on the first day, Mostapha promptly had a new one installed. The location is really convenient and breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinasaurusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had such a wonderful time staying here. The riad was beautifully decorated and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Located in the heart of marrakech we had a really Moroccan experience!! Would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammiehtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were alittle worried when we walked a long journey outside of the Medina to the Riad and boy when we reached, the smiles and warmth of Mustafa is just so contagious! He guided us to the square and helped us exchanged money with his friends with a helping smile all the time. The rooms were not big but the service was great. Knowing that I am afraid of cold and that the heater was not working too fine, he offered to bring in a portable heater and more blankets! Breakfast was plentiful and we had some lovely eggs there! We cannot forget the homemade moroccan yogurt we tried which was the best. Overall a really fantastic stay and we cant wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RolandPriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've just arrived back from a 4 night stay at this fabulous little Riad. No doubt it would normally be very quite and tranquil, but given we were generally the only guests there, we were able to liven things up just a little. Mustafa made sure we had a wonderful time and went to great lengths to ensure we were able to play our itunes through their stereo. Rock the Casbah just took on a new meaning !! Rooms are fab, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is plentiful (don't be afraid to ask for it outside your room on the balcony during winter months). Mustafa even organised boiled eggs for us. We didn't have an evening meal in the Riad, which was a great pity because we think that would have been a real treat. Hopefully we'll do it next time. The Riads location is ideally placed close to the square and an easy stroll to the taxis. Mustafa will guide you wherever you want to go anyway. In short, we would have no hesitation in staying here again, provided they will still have us !!! Highly, highly recommended .... don't forget to take 'Rock The Casbah' ..... Mustafa will love you !! With luck he'll have mastered how to sing the other bits too .... "She really don't like it ....."
If - like us - you enjoy a drink with your meal, a great restaurant to visit (not far from the square) is 'Dar Nejjarine'. Lovely atmosphere, great food, cheap beer, poor wine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but maybe first floor is more private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingy235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you are looking for something more personal than a hotel this is a good place to try. Friendly staff, clean rooms with personal design and good homemade cooking, moroccoan style.Just trying to find this wellhidden riad in a dead end street in the medina makes it exotic, but do not worry the staff will follow you in and out of the medina if needed ! The place made us feel that we discovered the Morocco that travel books describe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were very warm welcomed at the riad. The whole staff took care of us in a most friendly way.They even cooked a fantastic dinner while it was almost midnight. The breakfast on the terrace was great. The rooms are spacious, clean, nicely decorated. The location is as it should be : hidden in the souk. Once inside it is calm and relax. Great place to stay ! We would certainly go back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#140 of 502 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#139 of 1,160 in Marrakech
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,160 in Marrakech
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#49 of 1,160 in Marrakech
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#43 of 1,160 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#4 of 1,160 in Marrakech
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du Desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $63 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Princesse du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Princesse du Desert Nothing is too good for her. Equidistant from the " Jemaa El Fna " and " Door Dar El Bacha " , the location of Riad Princesse du Desert is exceptional especially since it offers beautiful calm and tranquility. Nestled in the Medina, the small alley that leads to the riad is a wonder with warm colors that contrast with the blue sky and vegetation that is rare in the Medina which can give the feeling of a Provence in Marrakech. Additionally beautiful decoration, attention to detail , arches , columns and moucharabiehs , lace white stucco ceilings, zellij ( tiled ) walls and featuring an alchemy of colors and smells with refined bath products (jasmine and amber ) make this a wonderful place to be . Additionally, not forgetting comfort alongside the beauty, each of the 6 rooms feature air conditioning, soft bedding and luxury linens. Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Princesse du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing