We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant little riad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Princesse du Desert
Ranked #42 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Elegant little riad”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here for one night during my tour of morocco. The riad is tucked away in a little side street just about 5-10 minutes walk from the main square. Rooms were elegantly decorated and the courtyard and rooftop terrace beautifully designed. Streets leading to the riad are a little quiet after the stores close but generally we felt safe walking to and from the riad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
229
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Samira and her team were so welcoming - we felt at home from the moment we arrived! The Riad is beautifully renovated with some funky touches and has a wonderful roof terrace to enjoy a sunny breakfast! Highly recommended and down a lovely quiet little street, just minutes from the main square.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This was our first stop in Marrakesh and we were very happy to stay in this Riad. The courtyard area was beautifully refurbished in the original, tile and plaster work. My room quiet clean and comfortable and well appointed. Samira the owner and the staff were excellent gracious and courteous and went to every effort to make our stay pleasant. We ate one night at the Riad it was really lovely on the terrace where they have breakfast served everyday. We would go up at the end of the day and just relax there on the couches. We enjoyed out stay there immensely. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this RIAD PRINCESS DU DESERT the service and accommodations were excellent.

There was also a restaurant very close walking which had a nice very nice terrace lounge called Cafe Arabe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Overall, I loved this Riad. We had originally booked another Riad managed by Samira, but our last minute date change resulted in us being moved over here. And it worked out great!

Our room was beaaaauuuutiful. I completely fell in love. So romantic. The bed is hard, but so is every other bed in Morocco. Even the upscale hotel we stayed in later had an even harder bed. The courtyard was beautiful. Roof terrace very pleasant for breakfast. The bathroom was good. The shower drained slowly, but it was fine (and honestly I experience that I've had in many hotels). Western toilet.

The location was great...once you knew where you were. Because you can't drive into the Medina, we paid a man that the taxi driver asked to lead us to the riad. Best money spent on the whole trip. There is no sign notating the riad, so the address was key. Just make sure you pay attention so you can find your way back later! Which we were able to do no problem (and I took pics with my phone of each turn we made just to be safe lol). But you get the mix of a quiet side street, but the proximity of the square a short 5 or 10 minute walk away. Loved it.

The one warning I would give is that the 2 primary staff members do not speak English. The woman in the kitchen was very sweet and cooked a great breakfast. Hand signals worked fine. The other woman, Fatima, spoke a few key words and was able to help us with very basic questions. But if you want more extensive help you need to talk to Samira, who I believe is in the other Riad she manages down the street. The ONLY reason I'm rating this a 4 is because we were not warned that no one there would speak English and had to wait for a while when we first arrived for Samira (BUT this was largely our fault probably, as our arrival time changed significantly at the last minute). There was no way to really communicate "Where is Samira?" or "When can I talk to Samira?" If you speak even a tiny bit of french you'll be fine. Otherwise, talk to Samira before hand about how to reach her when needed. We never really understood how to reach her, so that's why I'm giving a 4 (but only barely!).

Unlike many experiences on our trip, our original price Samira quoted when we booked our stay was honored. And it was a great deal! I also liked that she replied to emails much more quickly than many other locations and tour guides I tried to communicate with, making it an easy experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessiein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The rooms in this recently decorated Riad are beautifully decorated in sumptuous Morrocan style and Samira the hostess and owner is incredibly charming and helpful. Very central and were able to arrange traditional Hammam and massage

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My partner and I had a lovely stay at Riad Princesse du desert.

It's a beautiful Riad right in the centre of the Medina in Marrakech a short walk from the main square.

Samira the owner was very friendly,beautiful and lovely ! welcoming us with mint tea and biscuits

I would recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech the friendly service from Samira and her team, the lovely Massages,Hammam,breakfast, diner with bally dancing and cooking class...All was AMAZING !!!

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely Riad

If you want to make a tour around Marrakesh Samira organise everything.


Stay at this riad and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marklomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#140 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#150 of 1,154 in Marrakech
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,154 in Marrakech
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#43 of 1,154 in Marrakech
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aloes
Riad Aloes
#40 of 1,154 in Marrakech
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#31 of 1,154 in Marrakech
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du Desert

Property: Riad Princesse du Desert
Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Princesse du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Princesse du Desert Nothing is too good for her. Equidistant from the " Jemaa El Fna " and " Door Dar El Bacha " , the location of Riad Princesse du Desert is exceptional especially since it offers beautiful calm and tranquility. Nestled in the Medina, the small alley that leads to the riad is a wonder with warm colors that contrast with the blue sky and vegetation that is rare in the Medina which can give the feeling of a Provence in Marrakech. Additionally beautiful decoration, attention to detail , arches , columns and moucharabiehs , lace white stucco ceilings, zellij ( tiled ) walls and featuring an alchemy of colors and smells with refined bath products (jasmine and amber ) make this a wonderful place to be . Additionally, not forgetting comfort alongside the beauty, each of the 6 rooms feature air conditioning, soft bedding and luxury linens. Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Princesse du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing