We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing, perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Charme d'Orient
Ranked #14 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing, perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This riad is a little gem. It has only been open for 2.5 years and everything inside is brand new and of amazing taste. Laurence is a wonderful hostess. She does it with the heart and as a guest, you will feel incredibly looked after. She works so hard in the riad, taking care of every little detail. Our room was very nice (Moulay Ahmed on the first floor) and offered privacy. The riad also has a great terrace and a brand new glass roof which makes it probably the only riad in Marrakech to have that sort of roof protection over the central patio. Good breakfast, very central position. We highly recommend it (and we are fussy, typically only go to 4-5 stars hotels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aretusa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
182
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely riad in an excellent location within easy walking distance to all the attractions. Laurence, Alain and Said were very helpful and welcoming, making our experience there a very relaxed one and creating a homely atmosphere. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious. All highly recommended and the best of the 3 riads we stayed in in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 334PMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Positives:
Beautiful riad. Every architectural feature was carefully thought out. The bathroom was spacious. The rooms were very well decorated and furnished. This is a top quality riad with incredible service.

What I really liked about this riad is that Laurence and Alain welcomed us with splendid hospitality. Laurence was very keen to ensure that we had properly experienced Marrakech by making recommendations for us. They did not charge extra 'pick up' service fee when I required a taxi to pick us up from our car rental place. They simply arranged for a taxi to fetch us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanyshengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Via Tripadvisor we contacted this Riad.

Laurence, reacted quickly in English on our mail requests for information and took care that somebody would pick us up from the airport. When the taxi stopped somewhere in an alley of the old medina of Marrakech packed with vendors, scooterboys and beggars we had an uneasy feeling that this was not the place we thought it would be.

We got it wrong!
Charme d’orient turned out to be a top spot when visiting Marrakech. Not only is the riad a beauty on its own; also due to the more than welcome gesture of the owner we soon felt more than welcome (and got used to harmless alley). The riad is at a walkable distance of 10 minutes to the famous Jemaa el fna square (we ate good and very cheap at snack Toubkal on the edge of the square). Also other spots are at a close distance. Laurence and her staff provided us with excellent information what to visit. By the way: the breakfast was great!
When we left the whole crew waved us goodbye and we really had the feeling we were leaving good friends! Thank you for so much goodness!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have just returned from wonderful 5 days in Marrakech. Riad Charme D'Orient was a beautiful, comfortable and luxurious place to stay and providing the much needed relaxation and calm for escaping the craziness of the Medina. Laurence and Alain were excellent hosts - really helpful when planning your visit and ready to greet you with a mint tea at the end of a long day. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I could not fault this Riad. Laurence and her husband, Alain have created an oasis in the heart of Marrakech's Medina. The Riad is a 5-10 minute walk from the Jemaa al-Fnaa square and local restaurants and hamams (which Laurence is more than happy to advise on).

My partner and I stayed in the "Moulay Ahmed" room which is located in the centre of the Riad on the first floor, overlooking the indoor fountain. The room was very clean. Breakfast is served between 8.30-10.30 on the open-air rooftop terrace: it is filling and delicious. When we departed early one day, the staff was more than happy to prepare us breakfast outside the standard times.

The Riad is very safe and there is an on-site manager 24 hours a day. We had a truly exceptional experience and would definitely recommend this Riad to friends visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

One must stay in the medina when visiting Marrakech, at least the first time. The place to stay is Charme d' Orient. Wonderful rooms and a great rooftop terrace. Breakfast are spectacular and if you have the chance to have them make your dinner it is excellent. Laurence and Siad are gracious warm host that make the a paradise.n

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#17 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#10 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Property: Riad Charme d'Orient
Address: Touareg Street 61, Ksibet N'Hass, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad «Charme d'Orient» is situated in the heart of the beautiful Marrakech Kasbah quarter. You will be received in pure Arab-Andalusian style after its restoration in subtle harmony between tradition and comfort, and surrounded by a noble and charming atmosphere. It is especially well located close to the Saadian Tombs, the palaces of El Badi and La Bahia, and the famous Djeema El Fna Square. Therefore, the Riad has many appealing features to seduce you, and play its full charm on you! Laurence & Alain and all the staff are looking forward to welcoming you and sharing our enthousiasm with you, together with our friendly staff, any time of the year to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing