We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charme d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Charme d'Orient
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Touareg Street 61, Ksibet N'Hass, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Absolutely fantastic

We stayed at this Riad for five nights. It was an excellent way to see Marrakech. The Riad is close to the main sites and is an oasis of peace and tranquillity in what is a mad exciting city.

The Riad is of a very high standard and all the staff very friendly and helpful. The owner Laurence sat down with us and worked out what was best to see and when was the best time. Laurence also booked a private trip to the mountains and on another day a hamam which made organising things much easier.

Alain cooked a superb traditional meal for us in the Riad which was a great relaxing night after a long hectic day.

Without reservation I can recommend this Riad to anyone wanting a quality stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
180
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything about this riad was perfect. As soon as we had booked we received a personal email from Laurence , the owner, who welcomed us and offered to arranged a taxi pick up from the airport to the riad on our arrival. We were glad we agreed with this arrangement as we would never have found the riad on our own since it is down a quiet alley. Laurence was waiting for us on the main road, she was very welcoming, we had mint tea when we got there and Laurence sat with us to give us information about the city, she booked a hamam for us and a day trip to the atlas mountains. The riad was beautiful, full of character, clean, quiet and an ideal place to come to after the hustle and bustle outside. Laurence and her staff were very pleasant and only too happy to help with any queries. Laurence, Allain (laurence's husband) and Sahid (staff) walked us to the taxi pick up point on our departure. They clearly love their work which made this a lovely experience for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rani369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent three days here on a last minute holiday.

Laurence and Alain are excellent hosts, with nothing too much trouble (including getting us back to the Riad when we got lost on the first night). Beautifully decorated and well located (if difficult to find until you get used to it), I'd thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This has to be the perfect place to base your stay in Marrakech. Only 10-15 mins from the airport, we were met promptly (even though our plane was 40 mins early!) and whizzed to the Riad.

The pictures can't do justice to the beauty of the place - it is a thing of beauty. It was awe inspiring to hear from the wonderful owners about their transformation of what was a below average building into something of exquisite handcrafted beauty. All the carvings, mosaics, plasterwork and other detail in the building are handmade in a tradition that probably won't exist in a decade. The attention to detail is breathtaking and it really is a feast for the eyes.

The breakfasts were delicious and extremely generous and tea/ fruit/ sweeties were always being offered to us every time we came in the building by the lovely Said. Said also took us on a very special trip to the Atlas mountains, where he seemed to know everyone en route (being a native of Ourika Valley) and was able to help us see fascinating aspects of mountain life that are not open to all tourists. We felt very privileged.

Alain and Laurence really made this trip special for us. Not only their endlessly charming and warm hospitality, but their never-tiring enthusiasm for the city and country. They generously shared all their local knowledge with us and this was better than any guide book. We got a huge amount out of our 5 day trip and are convinced we would not have had such a quality experience or such an enjoyable one without their insights and stories.

Would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone - there cannot be a better place to experience Marrakech and we will definitely be back to stay in the future. Thank you for making it such a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifineni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed 4 nights at Riad Charme d'Orient. It is a beautiful, cozy place, extremely clean and very well looked after by Laurence and her staff (Alain, Said and Ashma). It is located in the heart of the Medina but within easy reach from the airport, the wall gates and Djemma el Fnaa (just 5 minutes walking). It is also very close to main attractions such as the Saadien Tombs or Palace Bahia.
Laurence and Alain were waiting to pick us from the taxi and, in general, the staff was available at all times to help us plan visits and activities. The room we stayed at was Amirah Fati, on the first floor. Spacious, well decorated and very quiet.
We highly recommend to choose this Riad to make a good experience out of your trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Riad Charme d'Orient is a a gem, both because of its structure (a renovated courtyard house hidden on a narrow lane in the Marrakech Medina) and because of the exceptional service offered by owners Laurence and Alain, and their friendly staff.

It was our first visit to Marrakech and we wanted to experience the town's history and culture, so staying in a large tourist hotel was definitely not going to fit our needs. In looking for a more personal experience, we stumbled upon Charme d'Orient and I cannot imagine it is possible to find a better place! From the warm welcome (three people came out to greet our taxi and escort us (3 mins) down the winding lane to the Inn) to the exceptional assistance and advice offered by Laurence on touring and dining, to the friendly, smiling service staff (Said and Asma), this was an outstanding way to exeperience Marrakech.

The location is ideal -- close to some of the major historical sights of the Medina, including the Saadian Tombs, the Bahia Palace and the gem of Islamic art that is the Dar Si Said museum. We walked from there around the old city, and at the end of an exhausting day experiencing the clamour and congestion of the narrow streets and alleys, it was a breath of fresh air to return to the calm Charme d'Orient courtyard and sip a quiet glass of wine. (Because the hotel is so small and intimate, we found ourselves actually chatting with other guests, which was a welcome social touch.)

We didn't stay at the Riad for any evening meals, but we did enjoy beer, wine, snacks and even a few whiskies in the courtyard. Breakfasts were excellent -- good quality "pain au chocolat" is a sine qua non for a good breakfast, but Asma also offered cooked omelettes and yogurt or flan.

All in all, our stay at Charme d'Orient was one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had, and I would recommend it to anyone -- other than families with small kids. (While they would be welcome, I am sure, the serene atmosphere of this place would not benefit from their presence.)

Room Tip: This inn is built around a lovely central courtyard -- see pics. Rooms on the ground floor are righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this Riad on our first ever visit to Marrakech. We loved the Riad, it was all we had hoped for and more. Our room was very clean and the whole Riad is a beauty. It is hidden in the hustle bustle of the narrow streets of Marrackech and very near to the city centre. Alan and Laurence, the couple who own the Riad are such a nice people. They were there to receive us just as we steepped outside our taxi and made our stay really memorable. I am not sure about the tariffs of other such Riads in Marrakech but would defenitely recommend this one for exceptional service of the people in Riad who will make sure your stay is as memorable as it could be.

We will defenitely stay at this Riad the next time we visit Marrackech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SriM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#9 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Property: Riad Charme d'Orient
Address: Touareg Street 61, Ksibet N'Hass, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad «Charme d'Orient» is situated in the heart of the beautiful Marrakech Kasbah quarter. You will be received in pure Arab-Andalusian style after its restoration in subtle harmony between tradition and comfort, and surrounded by a noble and charming atmosphere. It is especially well located close to the Saadian Tombs, the palaces of El Badi and La Bahia, and the famous Djeema El Fna Square. Therefore, the Riad has many appealing features to seduce you, and play its full charm on you! Laurence & Alain and all the staff are looking forward to welcoming you and sharing our enthousiasm with you, together with our friendly staff, any time of the year to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing