We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the (Scary) Trip There!”
Review of Riad Viva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Viva
Ranked #50 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel has an amazing interior, great rooms, and a fantastic balcony. The staff was courteous and very helpful. When the taxi dropped us off, we were pretty scared by the walk down a dimly lit ancient street to the hotel. We were very glad that we continued to the hotel because it was certainly the highlight of our stay in Marrakesh. We definitely recommend this place if you are going to Marrakesh!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 540 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The riad Viva is a very nice option to stay in the medina. The staff has treated us very well. They are focused on your happiness all the time. Everything is very clean and every small detail is taken into account. The bad opinions from september are because the manager and some people of the regular staff were on holiday. The food is very good and the dinner with the candles was a lovely experience. We recommend the option of a riad instead of a conventional hotel and Viva will be a great one.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RamonVlcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay at Riad Viva and would recommend this beautiful and well organized Riad to everyone going for a romantic stay in Marrakesh. Don't skip the massage and hammam experience. Professional and a relaxing experience after a long day strolling in the Marrakesh medina ... followed with a diner on the roof top terrace ... excellent Sheep Tajin with sesame seed sparkled prunes and apricots ... delicious. Great Meknes wine too ...

The staff is indeed very friendly, helpful, the kitchen great, then terrace beautiful. All rooms we saw were nice. e can recommend you the "Lavendel Room" which is spacious and also nicely set. Great bathroom too.

Our friendly regards the team.

Room Tip: The "Lavendel Suite" is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice Riad. The staff ist very friendly. There is always someone who cares about you. The terrace is nice and perfect for lazy days, just relax in the sun. They organise your transport to the airport or pick you up from the airport. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamburg558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Riad Viva for 4 days and it was very nice. The Riad is very well located in Marrakech and the free connection with airport is definitively helpful. The Riad is lovely as well as its staff, which was always available for our requests. We enjoyed a typical tasteful dinner which contributed to our satisfaction too. Finally, the possiblity of using the swimming pool was really appreciated after our visits in Marrakech.

To be recommended !

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very Nice riad in walking distance of the most important sites in Marrakech . Clean , Nice staff. Free transfer from the AirPort . The first night we had dinner at the riad , a very tastefull tagine . The list of drinks is rather limited and sometimes they are out of stock . None the less I would recomment the riad to anyone who wants a touch of the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDENKDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We traveled in a couple to Riad Viva and stayed for a week. We arrived at the airport and we had organised a free transfer with the Riad which was very convenient and easy after our flight! You can not drive directly up to the riad so we were met by a friendly man who put our luggage in a trolly type and walked us down the windy streets to the riad. This was lovely until at the end he asked if we could give him a tip as he didn't work for the Riad, we felt under pressure and we didn't yet have any dirhams or small change and ended up having to give him 10 Euro, despite saying he didn't work at the Riad we saw him numerous times serving tea and setting up for dinner on the terrace.

The Riad itself is beautiful and was a very relaxing place to return to after a day in the souks, the location is perfect as it is close enough to walk to the main square but far enough away for it to be very peaceful and quiet.

Despite the Riad being beautiful it was lacking some of the little touches. On Arrival the shampoo dispenser in our bathroom was empty and the shower gel only had a tiny bit in, they were not refilled any time during our stay. There was only one towelling robe in our room even though there was clearly a coat hanger next to this one where the other should be, this wasn't a particularly big deal but again its the little things that they advertise on their website that add up. One of the days the maids had cleaned our room and taken our dirty towels but forgot to replace them, we asked for some more and got told they would bring some up to our room in 5 minutes, half an hour later there still weren't any towels, we went down and asked again and only then were we given them.

The roof terrace was lovely except the towels on the sun beds didn't seem to be swapped for clean ones daily and you were sharing with people day after day, it would have been much better to provide everybody with pool towels in their bedroom or have a pile of clean ones people could use up there. The glass table was cracked and the sofa cushions had no covers on them and some were covered in damp marks, others had the stuffing coming out of them.

We had a massage and hammam half way through our stay and that was absolutely fabulous and definitely worth the money, the girls that did our treatments were lovely. Breakfast was of good quality and filling and our room was lovely, although our double bed was two singles pushed together!

We did enjoy our stay to Riad Viva but because of all these little touches missing it just seems that it is maybe getting slightly shabby and it is definitely not worth the money at the moment, if they fixed things and the service improved then we would consider returning but certainly not as it is now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback and I can only apologize for the lack of service you criticized.

Unfortunately, our manager Aziza was on holiday at the time of your stay and it seems that our staff has taken the opportunity to relax a bit after the very stressful month of Ramadan. I was hoping that it works for 2 weeks without the attention of the manager, but now I understood that the service was not the same.

After Aziza now returned from her vacation, I can assure you and all the other guests that all employees are "back on the track" and will give their best.

I really would appreciate if you could come back to stay with us and to prove our service!

Best regards,
Carsten Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#53 of 1,167 in Marrakech
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#75 of 1,167 in Marrakech
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#28 of 1,167 in Marrakech
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#15 of 1,167 in Marrakech
570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Sholmes
Dar Sholmes
#99 of 1,167 in Marrakech
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $71 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing