We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Little Riad.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Viva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Viva
Ranked #58 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerleon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Riad.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Met at airport, taken to Riad Viva ( we would never have found it otherwise !) and when you wind down the small streets and alleyways you wonder what you will find. Then you walk into another world. It is like walking through into the Tardis. A beautiful, relaxing Riad. Friendly staff greeted us with Morrocan tea and showed us to our room. We had an evening meal on our first night--excellent standard--and also had a guided tour of the markets and souks and museums--well worth it as you could fail to find the really interesting places without a guide. Nice terrace on top with a plunge pool to cool off in. Thanks everyone for a lovely time. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niceoneharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole team of Riad Viva thank you very much for your nice review. We all hope that you come back soon.

Best regards,
Carsten Sommer and the team of Riad Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    76
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
71
241
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived having taken a taxi from Essouira. I called the tel number on our reservation to confirm (I gave her my name and the name of the suite to avoid any confusion) & for the driver to get directions as he hadn't heard of this riad. The receptionist directed him to their other riad - Riad Carina where we were dropped off and wandered aimlessly in the 40 degree heat not realising we were nowhere near Viva. Eventually, having tried several times, the phone was answered, we walked to Carina & were greeted with tea and waited half an hour for them to arrange another taxi so not a great start. A little apology and a smile would have been appreciated.

On arrival at Riad Viva we were greeted warmly and Joseph gave us some great advice & a useful map.

This riad is beautiful, clean & quiet and we loved that there were children playing in the alley who would smile and greet you as you passed by.

I requested a pedicure which took place on the roof terrace in full view of other guests (not in the treatment room) with my feet on the lap of a surly woman with a kit of drying out varnish. Horrible!

We were asked to check out and pay at exactly noon by Aziza despite their agreement we could stay by the pool until the taxi they arranged for us arrived at 4pm and would be having drinks/ snacks throughout the day. We felt she didn't trust us which made us feel uncomfortable.

The pool is fabulous but small and is used by guests of their other 2 raids. When you check out the only place to change is a tiny loo cubicle used by everyone - nowhere to hang your travelling clothes & a wet floor.

I mentioned we are returning to Marrakech in October at which point her attitude changed. It all felt so fake and I couldn't wait to leave.

I would say that Joseph and the guy who takes your luggage are lovely and it's a stunning place in a great location however, the female staff need some further training in guest relations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Riad Viva for a week in August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The Riad is beautiful and is an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard and are very clean.
We felt at home and can't thank Joseph and the team enough for their hospitality.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fairly similar, apart from the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Abi,

It was a pleasure to meet you at Riad Viva and that you enjoyed your stay with us - even in the very hot month of August.
Thank you very much for your nice comment!

Best wishes,
Carsten Sommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay when in Marrakech. The staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the rooftop pool, the additions one can request (Moroccan cooking course, trip to the Atlas Mountains, Hammam Spa) are all simply fantastic and I would highly recommend taking them up on the additions they offer. I can't praise the staff highly enough; they were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Riad Viva is a perfect sanctuary to come back to after exploring the crazy, hot, busy streets of Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Caroline,

I thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure for us that you stayed at Riad Viva. I hope that you already tried your experiences from the cooking class and imported some Moroccan delights to England.

Best wishes,
Aziza and the team of Riad Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't praise staff enough, couldn't do enough to help with advice on where to go, eat etc. Rooftop pool a blessing - most of the time only a few people up there so always a sunbed and parasol. If you are travelling independently beware of the maze from where the taxi drops you off to where the hotel is - it may seem daunting but don't be put off by this. Would definitely go back but perhaps in April or October as August temperatures were 46/47 degrees so too hot to do much in the way of walking/sightseeing etc. Just to mention that currency, Dirhams, cannot be used in the duty free shop at the airport so make sure that you change your currency back before going through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed at the riad viva for 5 days and had a wonderful time. the riad itself is beautifully decorated throughout and with a added bonus of a pool, which was lovely to come back to after a busy day sight seeing. the staff at the viva were very attentive throughout our stay and very accommodating to our needs . on our arrival we was given a welcome glass of mint tea and a brief introduction of the area which was also good ,but feel that its wasn't necessary as this was our fourth time to Marrakesh but can see this would be excellent information for any one that has never been before. The riad is situated near all major tourist attractions and after we got our bearings had no trouble finding it at the riad end of the day. The breakfast was very much the same every day different breads, cheese ,jams ,pasties ,pancakes ,tea and coffee and fresh orange juice which is a must .
a must do is the cooking course which was very good and very informative ,loads of photo opportunities throughout and at the end of the day you will have the opportunity to eat what you have made .
my husband also had the traditional hamman which was also on offer at the riad and the experience was highly recommended and also at reasonable price.

we did have some negatives throughout our stay which I feel that I need to highlight. the towels on offer for you to use around the pool were never changed through out our stay. This became evident every day to us as they were still left the same from pervious day .
we also had to ask for our daughters bed to be made on arrival as this seemed to be over looked , plus we had to ask for more toilet paper throughout our stay as there was never any spare in the room.
on this I must say that these negative experiences that we had were only minor and wouldn't put me off staying at the riad again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichola21602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a fantastic holiday in the most wonderful Riad. An oasis of calm, we absolutely loved it. The staff were helpful and friendly, the Riad is immaculate and the food excellent. Well worth having the evening meal (we did twice during our stay). Would highly recommend booking the hammam and massage offered, this takes place in the Riads own hammam room, it is a truly relaxing experience. The pool is a welcome relief from the heat and the rooftop gardens provide sun loungers to soak up the rays or shade if you need a break from it. The free transfer from the airport works brilliantly, even though our plane was delayed the driver was there waiting. Also appreciated the meet and greet from the taxi where Hazir was waiting with a cart for our luggage, to guide us through the streets, a short walk but glad of his guidance. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stavros90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#84 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#51 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Sholmes
Dar Sholmes
#97 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nafis
Riad Nafis
#95 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#17 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Property: Riad Viva
Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing