We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Riad - shame about Marrakech...”
Review of Riad Viva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Viva
Ranked #55 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having spent years hearing of the glories of Morocco, off I finally went in search of the beautiful images and startling sensual overload I expected to find.... only to be greeted on Day 1 by thieving, begging, harrassing locals who continued to bother us until we departed, despite the best efforts of staff. Having said that Aziza was most helpful in addressing the problems with the local thugs. Service in the hotel was very good although it is expensive for what you get - again the whole city takes advantage of tourists, so the riad was only following local tradition by overcharging. Clean rooms, pleasant meals, quiet location, obliging staff - well done Riad Viva!

Room Tip: the suite was quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear valued client,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s a pity that you didn’t like Marrakech but it’s nice to read that you liked Riad Viva as well as our service. So maybe the next time you could differ between the points that you give to the hotel and also the town where the hotel is located. So if you haven’t felt well in Marrakech you could give 3 points for Marrakech in a separate review for the town (it exits on Tripadvisor also!) but if you liked the hotel (or Riad) it is more than fair to give 4 our 5 points to the hotel. We can only optimize our hotel and our service but unfortunately we can’t change Marrakech. You have to like Marrakech like it is (like fortunately the most people do) our you don’t like it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Riad Viva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 528 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've heard a lot about Marrakesh from beforehand. Our friends who have been there a few times to Marrakesh recommended this Riad and we were not disappointed at all! So we decided to spent our 5 year Anniversary in Riad Viva in Marrakesh The Service from the crew is marvelous. They really do care about you and your well being.They make sure that very little problem that might occur is solved. Especially the cooking was prepared with a lot of passion and with an astonishing amount of detail. I have to admit though that after 3-4 days you've had enough of the Marroccain couscous dishes to be honest-but maybe that's just me!
The Locations is alright not too far from the Medina all within 10 minutes walking distance.
The Room was very clean and nicely decorated.
Definitly would love to come back at some other time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Raid Viva is simply glorious. This Riad has been decorated with love and complete attention to detail and the pool area and upstairs terrace are amazing. This attention to detail is extended in every form, from Aziza and the whole team to all their guests. Nothing is a problem for them as they are willing and able to accommodate your needs and desires. The food and drinks were lacking in nothing and it was wonderful to savour some local dishes. Finally, the Hammam (on site) is an experience not to be missed. You will float out of there. If you are looking for an escape from reality or a romantic break, the Riad Viva is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have difficulty to identify our experience with the excellent reviews written below.
We arrive the 31/12 to celebrate the New Eve in Marrakech and we went directly to Riad Viva. It is situated at the end of a small alley in the heart of the Medina. We left our luggage in our room which were on the ground floor by the lobby (not very well located especially that the reception phone is quite loud). When we came back at around 3am on the 1st of January, our room had a horrible sewer smell. I have not been able to sleep in the room the whole night and went on the sofa in the corridor.
In the morning, we went upstairs on the terrace and we realised that the whole Riad had this very unpleasant smell.
Despite that we booked for 10 days, we decided to leave the next day. However it was a nightmare to get our deposit back. The lady at the reception (very friendly by the way) had to call the manager for me to explain the situation and request a refund of our deposit. The manager was rude and impolite. He told me that it wasn’t his problem. He doesn’t seem to be there often.
Anyway we couldn’t stay there so we move out. When we called the next day and we mentioned that we choose this Riad because the good review on TripAdvisor, he became very nice on the phone and decided to reimburse our deposit almost straight away.
He even called us back 2 days later begging us not to leave any bad review on TripAdvisor. I must say that I don’t think we would have had our money back if we would not have mentioned TripAdvisor.
However I want to say that the whole staff at the Riad was very nice and understanding. We understood they couldn’t do too much about it.
It was our bad experience of Riad Viva

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yacht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear valued client, our excellent reviews on Tripadvisor are a proof that our guests like the Riad Viva and that they feel well to stay with us. Unfortunately, what happened in your room could happen in every 5*hotel and also in every private house: The former guest has thrown something in the toilette that blocked the canalisation so that a bad smell comes up in your room. We explained the situation to you and we promised you to solve the problem immediately even on the public holiday on 1st January. We finally fixed the problem within the same day so that there was no particular reason to break up the stay with us. But finally we accepted your wish and paid the deposit back to you and charged no cancellation costs. We even offered a free transfer to the other hotel that you have selected. What could we do more? I am very sad about the negative review and the 1 point after all that we have done to solve the problem and to give a compensation for the first night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Riad Viva it was definitely an 'Oasis of calm.' The staff especially 'Hassamia & Khamisa' was fantastic and couldn't do enought to make our stay more pleasurable. Breakfast on the delightful roof terrace (braving the morning chill!) consisted of home made cakes and crepes, yummie. It was reassuring to have police & army guarding the King's Palace just around the corner with a 10 mins stroll to Djemaa El Fina which is a must see. I would recommend the Riad Viva for location, staff and overall appearance as a gem in the madness of what is Marrakech!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Came here for 5 nights and the staff were all very helpful. Breakfast every morning was to a good standard and although initially hesitant about the alleyways to get to the riad, i soon realised army and police officers were guarding the local areas as one of the Kings Palaces is a two minute walk from the riad.

The riad is a very convenient walk to the local attractions and spas. Although the riad is located in the old city, it is only a short taxi ride (approx) 10 mins to get to the new city where all the cosmopolitan shopping is based. Essentially you can get to the new city for 20-30 dirhams from the riad, which is not bad.

I think i would have liked a brief explanation of the riad and a short intro as well things to do on my first day there. Also it would have been helpful when we first arrived that we were explained if we wanted to arrange any days out/ excursions, which i had to do myself the day after.

Apart from that Yousef and the ladies were all very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegalEagle786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Viva. The hotel is very beautifully decorated in typical Moroccan style. The courtyard was very lovely. I could not stop taking photographs, especially the different lamps that were used in the Riad. The rooms were comfortable and nice. Our stay was very relaxing as the Riad's atmosphere was very homely. The staff were helpful, however, only the Manager (Aziza) could speak good english. The Hamam and Massage was very good.

Regarding the location, we were initially a bit scared as the approach to the Riad was through narrow roads which did not give a feeling of safety, however, we soon realized that there were many Riads in that area and that it was not a problem.

Overall the stay was excellent, however, on the last day we were not happy with the Riad's arrangement of free transportation to the airport. In booking.com, it's clearly mentioned that the Riad Viva offers free transportation to the Hotel, however, we were initially asked to pay 200 dirhams. Later they informed us that it would be free. Further, even though we informed them the departure time, there was some miscomunication between the Riad staff and the Taxi driver and they arrived 30 minutes late.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#62 of 502 in Marrakech
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#51 of 1,160 in Marrakech
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#80 of 1,160 in Marrakech
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#27 of 1,160 in Marrakech
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,160 in Marrakech
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing