We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wasn't impressed in 2012 - miles better in 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai-thai - CLOSED

Mai-thai
Villa Saumuroise, angle rue de Paris/ Avenue Echouhada, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00 212 (0)5 24 45 73 01
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Maï Thaï has opened its doors just a stone’s throw from the Comptoir Darna, at the heart of the Hivernage region of Marrakech. Nestled within a magnificent villa, the exotic Asian atmosphere is immediately apparent as soon as you cross the threshold; you are instantly transported to far-off lands. Refined decor and an unusual garden provide this location with a truly authentic feel. The varied menu features the best of Asia and specially Thaï cuisine and is all made with the freshest of ingredients crafted by their talented chef. Service is discreet and attentive.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed in 2012 - miles better in 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found the food merely adequate and service surly in 2012 but a miracle has taken place; far better in 2013, really delicious food (so much so I asked whether the chef had changed - he hasn't; just improved) and very nice and helpful staff. Great Tom Kha Gai (chicken in coconut cream soup - my favourite Thai dish). Well done on the leap from three stars to five stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKingOfHits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    61
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“feel good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

excellent ambience.. food was superb, excellent flavours like never tasted before, visited this resturant thrice during our stay in marrakech.. a must when visiting marrakech

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yumna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not My idea of Thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For starters, I'm very familiar with Thai food. Here, we first had to expend considerable energy explaining to the waiters that we simply wanted to drink Moroccan style mint tea. Our party then ordered Thai dishes none of which turned out to be in any way authentic - the Thai chicken curry for example ended up being pieces of chicken in batter in a sauce vaguely reminiscent of uninspired Chinese cuisine. In short, the culinary lowlight of our Marrakesh holiday. Our verdict - a rather generous 2 stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“High end Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, which was walking distance from where we were staying. This is a "hip" place, modern decor, waiters in black, guests dressed in leather. Seemed to be a local favorite, not a tourist place. DJ and rock music in the bar/lounge. Portions were not as large as in the U.S. Lovely food presentation. Phad Thai was good and a fish dish was very good. We were lucky to get a table, as the restaurant was quite full on a Thursday night. You might want to call ahead for reservations. Building is on a corner, with the entrance on a diagonal to the intersection, not well lit, so it is difficult to see unless you know the address and where it ought to be. During the day you can hardly see the sign.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Delicious flavours that leave you wanting more you can’t possible have space for. The restaurant has great décor and transports you to a tranquil oasis away from the bustling city of Marrakech. Order the Prawn Panang and Calamari, it won’t disappoint. The service is a little slow but we didn’t mind as we enjoyed a nice relaxing meal with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smarti_arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing