We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great food, ok service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai-thai - CLOSED

Mai-thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Maï Thaï has opened its doors just a stone’s throw from the Comptoir Darna, at the heart of the Hivernage region of Marrakech. Nestled within a magnificent villa, the exotic Asian atmosphere is immediately apparent as soon as you cross the threshold; you are instantly transported to far-off lands. Refined decor and an unusual garden provide this location with a truly authentic feel. The varied menu features the best of Asia and specially Thaï cuisine and is all made with the freshest of ingredients crafted by their talented chef. Service is discreet and attentive.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a week of enjoying Moroccan food we fancied something entirely different. The food at Mai-Thai is superb. Really light and fresh and beautifully presented. My only issue was being informed that our choice of wine (which was the cheapest one ) was unavailable. We chose the next one, that too was unavailable so our choice of wine started at 300 dirhams. They offered wine by the glass, remarkably the wine that we had originally asked for. A little confused how they could provide a glass and not a bottle we questioned the waiter. He disappeared and returned having found a bottle. Odd that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Found this by chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not well advertised very hidden and discreet entrance once inside it was amazing. Food great real authentic thai food well presented and great service pretty good prices considering the location

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How Horrible service at this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

First of all,I am Thai who lives in Marakech and have known this restaurant since they just've opened which is a bit more than 2 years.

I've been going to this rest for many times and every time something went wrong ...either food (some time just ok or most of the time no taste)...or...SERViCE. Oh it's never improved I mean very bad...I stop going there for a very longtime since last bad experience, then today a friend of mind convince me to go and have an other try or chance. I then agreed and called to make reservation for lunch at 11.45am. They accepted the booking with no hesitate, when actually the rest is open for service at 12.30pm. My friends and I show up at 11.45. We received very rude welcome and treat badly from staffs instead of apologized and till insisted that it was our fault not theirs.

So an other bad experience from this place and it's going to be the last for sure... No more chance for someone who don't respect their business and clients..especially when they are in the business like hospitality.....good luck for someone who would like to have own experience....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeRatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made our evening very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good to have Thai food. We really had a good food. Very good staff. We had cigar it was also good When ever I visit Marraskash I will visit Mai Thai Good Thai restaurant in Marraskash good keep it up.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukamin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazingly tastey food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food was great. The Tom Yam soup was probably the best I have had outside Thailand.
My wife and some friends are vegetarian, and they still managed to really enjoy their food!

Service was also very good, and they looked after us well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Urvesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing