We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great little riad in the centre of Marrakech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Layla Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Layla Rouge
Ranked #171 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little riad in the centre of Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Once we finally found this place we were pleased with what a little gem it seemed to be. Right in the middle of the Medina, only a 5 minute walk from the main square this is a perfect location for exploring the delights of Marrakech.

On arrival we were greeted with a pot of tea and a bowl full of lovely little coconut 'cakes', and an in-depth welcome talk from Abdel. The riad itself is very colourful and cosy, and seems to attract friendly travellers from all over the world.

We stayed in the tent (which has 4 single beds in it, a bit awkward if you are a couple that likes to share a bed) and it was adequate for our needs. We had to use the toilet and shower facilities in the shared dorm which was slightly inconvenient but it was still nice to have a bit of privacy without having to pay for an en-suite room. It was cooler in the tent than the dorm, another thing we were thankful for! If we could afford it, we would stay in the double rooms next time for the extra comfort of air conditioning and a private shower/toilet.

The terraces are lovely, the one at the top offering superb views of the rooftops of Marrakech and the Koutoubia mosque, and the lower terrace offering a bit of shade and a nice social area at night.

The breakfast was delicious and very filling each morning. I had a henna tattoo done by Hin (the lady who also does the cleaning) and it was gorgeous and a lot cheaper than in the main square. Abdel and Mohammed will go out of their way to accommodate you and answer any questions. The little tortoises on the terrace are so cute!

We booked our excursion to the Sahara through the riad (3 days, 2 nights) and it was very good value and an incredible experience. Beware the shorter 2 days, 1 night trip, as it is about 8-9 hours drive to Merzouga (where the sand dunes are) and I think you would lose a lot of enjoyment if the trip was not broken up.

Overall, we had a lovely time staying at Riad Layla Rouge and would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    28
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
61
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 7 nights, and it became our new home within the first couple of days!!!
It's a truly unique place with so much warmth and hospitality, you can't help but fall in love with it! The staff are so friendly and helpful! They'll drop anything to make sure you're comfortable and happy! Abdou, the manager is one of the loveliest guys you'll ever meet! So down to earth, and always joking and laughing!! He went out of his way to make my sister feel better when she fell sick....really appreciated it! He can also help to organise excursions from the hostel to the Sahara and other areas in Morocco!
The hostel itself is so beautiful, with every colour imaginable on the walls, floor, cushions.....everything!! There are safes in every room for your valuables which is great! It's only a minute walk to the main square and souks where you'll find everything you could ever imagine wanting!! There is always a great vibe in the common area, with great music playing, and people sharing their travel stories!
I feel like I have found a new Moroccan family at Layla Rouge, and I can't wait to come back and see you all again! THANK YOU!!! :D

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was great because it was so close to the terrace! It's a good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights, really nice riad, super clean and safe. Location is perfect, in the medina just 5 minutes walking from the square. For the staff I don't have worlds ( Abdel and Mohammed), they are amazing, always trying to do their best to accomodate and to help you. Breakfast is really good, big portion, you can skip the lunch after it! We have bought the desert trip from here and it was amazing. Will definately be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavia186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed here and it was excellent. We booked a private double in the annex, and for a little bit of luxury in Marrakech at a reasonable price this is the place for you. The rooms in the annex were amazing, so peaceful with a wonderful and relaxing roof top terrace with views over the city.

For us the location was perfect, right in the medina only 3 mins walk from the main square, so close to everything to walk to, but just a little set back to provide some space from the Marrakech madness. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a super breaksfast every morning. The annex is across the street from the main hostel, so a little bit seperate, which for us was perfect as we were looking for some peace and quiet, but if you want to be in the hub-bub of the hostel it had a great vibe. I would be happy to get the oppertunity to go back again and recommned it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a really good youth hostel. There are small safes available in the dorms which is great for leaving stuff you don't want to carry around. The showers are nice and hot, the one in the dorm has the wrong coloured taps so turn the cold one on for hot (lol). Sheets/towels are clean and the riad is very clean, (although the kitchen could do with a bit of renovation). The staff are fantastic, Abdul is extremely dedicated to the point of exhaustion. The turtles need regular feeding - this needs delegating to a member of staff, I volunteer Hind :) .

Women travelling in Morocco generally need to make their boundaries clear, ie personal space. So if boundaries are uncomfortable, make it clear girls!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Three of the most important things you look in a hostel in this crazy-exotic-fun city.stuff is pretty friendly.the rooms are pretty clean and fairly cheap.it really feels like home at some point.breakfast which is included is pretty satisfaying.the hostel is 5 minutes away from the main square by foot.i really enjoy my time here.i think if i ever come to marrakesh again layla rouge will be my place to stay..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This riad has a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. It has shared mixed sex dorms as well as private double rooms. We booked three nights in the eight berth (four bunk beds) dorm which was clean and had one bathroom to share between eight people. The bathroom was also clean but the bath seemed to be clogged as water took a bit of time to drain after a shower.

There is a communal area which has music playing throughout the day at a low volume (turned off by 10pm) and it has an overall nice hostel feel about it. The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax in with some shisha and mint tea after a hard days trekking around Marrakesh and you can even have breakfast on the terrace on request. They have four or five resident tortoise that lurch around the terrace area so watch out for them as you're walking around up there. It's also a great area to get some night sky photography shots if you're so inclined.

The souks and djemaa el fna square are about five minutes walk away at most and the Riad itself is relatively easy to locate again once you've familiarised yourself with the surrounding landmarks. You can always try your luck with the locals if you're really lost, most are friendly and helpful, non were really aggressive/abusive that we found.

Staff are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, speak decent English and they cook a great breakfast consisting of various breads and dough balls with preserves as well as fried egg, crepes, mint tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Our only possible gripe was that we asked for a double room for our last night and due to some misunderstanding, they booked us into a different riad about 10 metres around the corner which was a nice place as well so no worries really.

Overall, the dorm room is cheap, the location is great for exploring the medina and souks, the breakfast is substantial and better than most that we had in Morocco and they even provide fresh clean towels if you've forgotten yours.

Room Tip: To get here, you can either follow the excellent directions and videos on their site or look for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEPH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#315 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#160 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#156 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#362 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#299 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#255 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla Rouge

Property: Riad Layla Rouge
Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Minute from Place D'Jeema el Fna in the centre of the souqs and possibly the first ever edible hostel riad. The free tea and cake – may stop you from trying to bite into the walls – or maybe not... Have a taste…Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the nearby chaos – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. If Riad Layla Rouge could, it would cascade chocolate from the fountain in the courtyard, but the impact is truly mouth-watering nonetheless. Tea and cake, free all day – may stop you from biting into the walls – or maybe not…they may actually be edible. Only one minute from the main square, the 3 suites provide absolute privacy, the gorgeous mixed dorm encourages adventure sharing. All can enjoy the warm, communal atmosphere of the courtyard, Moroccan salon-dining room, and 2 flower and fruit tree draped roof terraces. All this enhanced by your own personal soundtrack with ipod speakers in each room. A small and perfectly formed family run riad in the centre of the souqs – Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour and spices that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the noise and craziness nearby – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. You cannot help but find your favourite colour here – by day Layla Rouge is a vase of flowers or a box of hand decorated chocolates, or an techni-flavour ice-cream stand; by night a treasure chest of glittering jewels, or a sparkling solar system. Use your imagination. Riad Layla Rouge wants you to get comfy in Marrakech; to feel safe and happy; imaginative and inspired – we combine a hostel spirit and atmosphere with that little bit of indulgence that you find in a luxury riad. Share your stories of travel and life. Laugh over tea and cake with other guests in our (almost) edible house. As the Mad Hatter said to Alice: ‘You could stay…What a mad, crazy, wonderful idea…’Whether you are travelling for the first time, or have done so for years – enjoy the rhythm of a city that transforms with the cycle of the sun. When you stay at Layla Rouge you can’t be anywhere else but the Wonderland of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Layla Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing