We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - perfect location, exceptional value for money and the nicest hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Layla Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Layla Rouge
Ranked #179 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing - perfect location, exceptional value for money and the nicest hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a small family run hostel, right in the heart of the medina. It is a stone's throw from Place Jemmaa el Fna, the souks, the museum of Marrakech / Ben Youseff Medrasa etc. It is beautifully decorated, in true Moroccan style. It is very comfortable (both the rooms and the communal areas). It is uber clean - sheets and towels were changed daily. And the staff are what really make this place so amazing - they are all so welcoming.
I was slightly hesitant initially as this is a hostel rather than hotel, and we were travelling with our young children, aged 9 and 8. However there was no need to worry at all. We were so well looked after and we felt completely safe the entire time we were away. The children were very welcome here.
We asked the hotel to arrange an airport transfer for us, but if you are making your own way here the website directions are really detailed. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon, and we were greeted with mint tea, cakes and pancakes - all of which were delicious. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. They go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay.
We stayed in 2 of the private double rooms, the beds were really comfy and the shower was piping hot.
I loved the attention to detail -
1. cushions, and throws everywhere
2. coffee / tea AND herbal tea AND bottled water in each room
3. book shelf to swap reading books
4. cabinet with all sorts of bits and bobs that you could buy in the souks - spices, henna, argan oil etc
5. access to reliable tour operator
6. Tortoises on the roof top terrace!
7. games - chess / solitaire / backgammon

Top tips - if you want a henna tattoo then ask Hind (one of the staff) to do it - she is amazing. She can also cook you an evening meal if you ask in advance - she cooked us a chicken tagine and a lamb tagine and both were the best dinners that we had during our entire stay!
Thank you Team Layla Rouge !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    29
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
61
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights here. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Tea was provided whenever you wanted it. Really copious breakfast. View from roof terrace interesting. Exceptionally clean.

Very pretty, non-corporate decor made it just like home. There are some impressive de-luxe rooms in the annex just up the lane. We had one night there. Sitting room with bed on mezzanine accessed by a spiral staircase, pleasant courtyard and roof terrace.

Background music in the main hostel pleasant (if it had been heavy metal thump-thump, we'd have left). But we did enjoy the thump-thump of the mating tortoises on the roof terrace. They are occasionally a bit of a hazard, you have to watch where you're walking and I almost trod on the baby tortoise, there will probably be several more baby tortoises the next time I go. Excursions, facilities, car hire if you want them.

When you arrive at the edge of the Marrakesh labyrinth of lanes it is handy to hire a local porter with a wheelbarrow for your bags. He will know where the place is, or will ask. He will also drive off all the other folk wanting to "help" or give directions - for a price. Our taxi dropped us off at the nearest gate, not Square FNA from which the website gives accurate directions. One of the hostel staff will help you with the bags when you leave and lead you to a taxi or bus.

Room Tip: Ground floor room a bit near the public courtyard and you can hear what's going on. There is a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franvinaigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great hostel, super-friendly staff that went above and beyond (including a dramatic rescue by moped when we'd wandered into the wrong part of town by off-duty staff - thanks, Layla!). The staff are also really informative. As mentioned by other users, fantastic breakfasts - though watch out for rapacious fellow travelers who may help themselves to your breakfast. Yes, you, Italian dude. The hostel was very clean as well. For directions, look at their website. It has the best directions ever. It's like a scavenger hunt and it makes figuring out where the hostel is relatively easy. And don't miss the rooftop terrace - we didn't find out about it until our second day their, and missed a great sunset.

Sole problem? No heating. I actually recommend booking a dorm bed for this reason - at least your roommates offer some heat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Riad Layla Rouge excels in many ways including Cleanliness, Comfort, Good food, very reasonable rates and a central location, add to this an incredible manager by the name of Jawed, his staff, the ambience of the Riad and you are absolutely guaranteed an exceptionally enjoyable holiday. I have travelled to many places and enjoyed lots of hostelries and this Riad really does come out as one of the best places I have ever stayed in. I went to Marrakech for a short break with my daughter , our time there was enhanced by the kindness and service we received . We also took a day trip to the Ourika Valley arranged by Layla Rouge which was very enjoyable as well as educational. A river side meal is included in the price which was a very pleasant surprise as I went to pay and was told 'no it is paid for'.
We walked through many of the Souks and at no time did we experience any high pressure sales, just fun banter and happy smiling faces. An added note - at the end of the passage way to the Riad is a stall selling wooden artefacts with just the sweetest man in charge. His prices are good and bargaining is not in anyway hard going. Look around elsewhere then buy from him [I'm not on commission by the way].

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saralclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

They were so sweet. Original booked on-line, and was sending them mails for questions. They were very helpful
arranged pick-up at the airport and when i arrived at the hostel they took me to the roof terrace and served me nice tea.
Stayed in the dorm the first couple of nights, and it was very clean, plus they made your bed each day :)
Also stayed in a private room and it was great, very big with a couch and everything.
Price was low,
WiFi in the downstairs working fine
and always a cup of tea coming your way.
would never stay anywhere else while in Marrakesh.
Also did a tour through them and only have positive things to say about that to!
went as a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peberpigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked a family holiday,5 nights over Christmas. I was a little anxious about finding Layla Rouge late at night, but as we booked a taxi through the Riad, we were met at the taxi dropoff by a man with a cart who wheeled our luggage and send through the streets to the door. I had a look around the annexed which was wonderful and I would have been very happy to have stayed there too. We ate in one night which was very good indeed, but mostly ate in the main square which, once you choose get past the persuasive waiters and choose your seat, was good clean food. But thats for a review of Marrakech.
The location is great. We all felt very safe in the area. Jawad helped us arrange a couple of excursions (camel ride and trip to the atlas mountains) and was very happy to walk us to the local hamman.This is a great place if you are wanting to immerse yourself in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchristopherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Layla Rouge, wish it could have been longer. This hotel has a young and animated feel- part hostel, part boutique hotel. They play good music and the common spaces making it easy to chat with fellow travelers. The included breakfast was really above and beyond, and we ate dinner here one night as well, which was excellent (much, much better than some of the touristy restaurants around the square). We stayed one night in a room in the beautiful annex, and one night in the riad itself. The rooms were pretty spacious, cute and colorful, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We were there in the winter when it was pretty cold at night, but the common spaces stayed pretty warm and the heater in the room kept us very cozy (other riads that I've stayed at were very cold at night!). Great value for the price, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#90 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#272 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#215 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#246 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#243 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#334 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla Rouge

Property: Riad Layla Rouge
Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Minute from Place D'Jeema el Fna in the centre of the souqs and possibly the first ever edible hostel riad. The free tea and cake – may stop you from trying to bite into the walls – or maybe not... Have a taste…Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the nearby chaos – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. If Riad Layla Rouge could, it would cascade chocolate from the fountain in the courtyard, but the impact is truly mouth-watering nonetheless. Tea and cake, free all day – may stop you from biting into the walls – or maybe not…they may actually be edible. Only one minute from the main square, the 3 suites provide absolute privacy, the gorgeous mixed dorm encourages adventure sharing. All can enjoy the warm, communal atmosphere of the courtyard, Moroccan salon-dining room, and 2 flower and fruit tree draped roof terraces. All this enhanced by your own personal soundtrack with ipod speakers in each room. A small and perfectly formed family run riad in the centre of the souqs – Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour and spices that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the noise and craziness nearby – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. You cannot help but find your favourite colour here – by day Layla Rouge is a vase of flowers or a box of hand decorated chocolates, or an techni-flavour ice-cream stand; by night a treasure chest of glittering jewels, or a sparkling solar system. Use your imagination. Riad Layla Rouge wants you to get comfy in Marrakech; to feel safe and happy; imaginative and inspired – we combine a hostel spirit and atmosphere with that little bit of indulgence that you find in a luxury riad. Share your stories of travel and life. Laugh over tea and cake with other guests in our (almost) edible house. As the Mad Hatter said to Alice: ‘You could stay…What a mad, crazy, wonderful idea…’Whether you are travelling for the first time, or have done so for years – enjoy the rhythm of a city that transforms with the cycle of the sun. When you stay at Layla Rouge you can’t be anywhere else but the Wonderland of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Layla Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing