We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Asrari
Ranked #262 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Riad Asrari is a great place to stay for a short visit to Marrakesh. We stayed in the African suite and especially loved the enormous bath! It was very easy to walk around the city and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Definately recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kents4749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Back last night from 4 days at the Riad. It was fantastic and we cannot praise the staff enough. They were thoughtful and kind and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. We asked their advice on where to go. We walked everywhere and the excitement and bustle of this city was tremendous. We had never been to Marrakesh before and this was a delight, made more so by returning each day to this delightfully calm Riad after the bustle of the streets and Souks. The ladies were excellent and cleaned the rooms every day. We have no hesitation in recommending this Riad and will be rebooking next year if possible. It is so close to the centre that (as I have said) we walked to all the places of interest. Weather was very good. Everyone on the street was very helpful and most spoke French (the second language there. For a night out can recommend the Café Arabe. Well done to everybody there and especially the two tortoises who were so lovely and could be hand fed. I have added photos of the places you can see as the photographs of the Riad itself are already there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent; we stayed in the Mexican room. Very comfortable and we slept well; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just returned from a stay at this riad booked through Voyage Prive. Although the weather was not very good, the riad was warm and comfortable, even in the tent on the terrace where we had a magnificent dinner on our first evening.

The staff in this riad are delightful, especially Adil who served breakfast and dinner to us. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were very friendly and changed the towels in the room every day.

The riad is tucked away in a lane in the Medina and looks very unassuming from the outside but stepping through the doorway takes you into a different world. We stayed in the Mexican room - all the rooms have a theme and are filled with furniture and decorations which have been gathered from all over the world by the owner.

Although the weather was not too good, we were able to use the loungers on the terrace one afternoon and enjoy the sunshine.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this riad, especially the friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilmaandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked taxi and first meal through the Riad which was fine. The room was clean (African suite), but they DO NOT have the bath robes/toiletries as promised on their website. We booked an INCLUSIVE trip to the Atlas Mountains through our waiter who told us to pay the 'director.' The trip was expensive but we thought it would be worthwhile.But on the Thursday morning having paid, the vehicle failed to arrive. The receptionist spoke little English and after frantic phone calls a car turned up an hour late with a driver who spoke no English! We were taken to the mountains and then the driver stopped and a second man got into the vehicle and told us he was our guide. He said the car could go no further as it was not a 4 wheel drive. We then had a strenuous hike (ROCK CLIMB) for which we were not prepared, especially as our shoes slipped on the dangerous wet rocks. We are grandparents and although we consider ourselves fit this was not what we had in mind or the trip we had been promised. We were shown a SMALL waterfall and on clambering back down to the town, the second man demanded money for his services. We were forced to pay as we didn't want to be stranded, and assumed we would be reimbursed by the riad. This was not the case and it became apparent they had no intention of doing so. The 'director' suddenly seemed to struggle with his English. To add insult to injury we had paid for a taxi to the airport (25 euros) but the riad then demanded a further payment, which we reluctantly made under protest as we didn't want to miss our flight. We were ripped off big time by this riad which left us with a bitter sweet taste! BE WARNED! But Marrakech is well worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Like others we booked through a voyage prive offer. We previously noted that airport taxis were somewhat questionable and so we took advantage of the Riad booking our transport. Yes it is €25 but the quality if your vehicle and driver is top notch, heavy bags are pulled to the Riad and removes all the uncertainty and stress at the start of a short break. We chose to use the same transport back as well. We stayed in the Indian Room and it was really fantastic. No TV didn't seem to matter. We chose on the first night to enjoy a fab 3 course dinner at the Riad for €30 each. Lovely it was too. There will be plenty of time to get €5 kebabs out in the square or in the souks. The staff are outstanding and very helpful. All spoke English to varying degrees. The breakfast was excellent. And it was a 15 minute wander through the souks to get to the main square. We were provided with an excellent map and directions. On the way you will find a bureau de change (everywhere has a rate as of Jan14 of 11 dirhams to the Euro. The Riad does not change money. Also on the way is the Cafe Arabe which serves a wide range of drinks and food including alcohol. Steak is highly recommended. I would have no hesitation in returning to this delightful Riad and such were the high standards look forward to trying the owners other properties in France.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Darron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked Riad Asrari through a Voyage Prive offer, and we're pleased we visited.
The other reviews on Tripadvisor are accurate; location means it is tucked away, as a women I'm glad that I had a man with me. We stayed for 5 nights and that was enough. Because it was easy for us to visit the souks and the main square; we tended to visit little and often. It was nice to go up onto the roof terrace in the afternoon to sit in the sun and read a book.

We arrived after an early flight, but had to wait until 4pm to check-in. So, have a look at your flight times! Our Voyage Prive offer said that there was afternoon tea/ coffee each day between 4pm-5pm; thIs never materialised but would have been a nice touch after a long day in the souks.
We also realised that sound-proofing at the Riad wasn't great - especially as our room was right next to the kitchen/ laundry! We could hear them and they could hear us (a bit embarrassing!). It would also would have been nice to have our towels and bedlinen refreshed whilst we were there.

Aside from that, the staff at the riad were welcoming, kind, and attentive; it was very clean and a real haven from the madness outside. I would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you're planning a trip to marrakech; - don't expect amazing food (it all tasted rather b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Furryhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ve been there for 4 nights and it was all about calm and beauty... if you like to feel like a princess. Each rooms are decorated with wonderful taste for the details. Cleanness and good service. The staff is very nice and willing to help you by giving you good advices. Internet on the terrace, the room and the lobby. It was 40 degres when we get there and the only thing is that you have to add 100 dhm, about 10 euros per night to get the air conditioner in your room. Also there s no fruits served at breakfast but very good home made cake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doriane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#21 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#88 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#286 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Property: Riad Asrari
Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina, in the area of Bab Doukkala, easy to reach by car or a ten minute walk from the JEMAA el FNA Square and beautifull Majorelle Gardens, this 17th century Riad has been restored with full respect to the Moroccan tradition, keeping its original characteristics: a patio shaded by trees, the coolness of its very old marble fountain, peaceful living-rooms and a beautifully planted terrace where you can enjoy the Sunset and the view of the Medina... The RIAD ASRARI is a traditional riad with wonderful moroccan craftsmanship such as sculpted plaster ceilings, exquisitely carved Cedar doors, colorful tadelakts and zelliges skilfully composed of delicate oriental patterns. You will be welcomed with traditional pastries and Mint tea by our thoughtful and discreet staff. You will discover peaceful places to rest: the terrace and sun-beds, comfortable sofas and the kaidale tent under which you can have your breakfast. You can also relax, read and dream in our beautiful living rooms... On the patio, you will be enchanted by the magestic pace of our two tortoises as they follow their daily sunbathing ritual If you are patient enough you might also see our chameleon who plays hide and seek in the trees ! The furniture and decorative objects were procured during the owner's numerous travels, or were designed and made on site by Moroccan craftsmen. Many Primitive Art pieces are exhibited throughout the riad... All of these well considered elements have been combined for a perfect getaway. In the RIAD ASRARI, you can forget television and noisy pools...You will discover another Marrakech, in the heart of the Arabic Tradition: authentic and refined ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing