We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Studio

Restaurant Le Studio
Ranked #73 of 769 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very, very French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On the night we dined at Le Studio we were the only non-French there. The clientele consisted of French ex-pats but despite being tourists the atmosphere towards us was cordial enough.

The food was good and the prices reasonable, the service was, well very French really. Efficient enough and the waitress did her best to explain the dishes to us in English despite limited language.

If air thick with cigarette smoke deters you from having a good time you may wish to give this a miss.

As a break from tagine and couscous this restaurant served us well and we would recommend but brush up on your French first.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unique_Vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    112
    34
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would recommend to choose an other place if you look for a restaurant in Marrakech. The place is expensive, the food is just ok, the service is bad. On top of that the boss is not friendly and must learn what clients mean in any business. The Studio wants to be in and fashion but they have a lot to improve if they want people feel being in a good restaurant...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“avoid it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

posh wannabe & pricey. dishes may be served cold (er than should be). cigarette smoke may get irritating due to poor air conditioning. mediocre service & indifferent, in fact somewhat rude management. don't accept credit cards - appearently they've written this on some wall with chalk, in french, and expect you to spot it, read it, and be prepared with your cash.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hakkicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we went back for seconds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Yes, the service is a bit indifferent and if you are not a smoker you will find grounds to complain. But the food is excellent and great value - Chateaubriand for £12!!! Plenty to drink - well it was my birthday- at reasonable prices. Beware, they do not accept credit/debit cards, good job we had enough to cover the final bill of £75 or we would be still helping with the washing up. Service we think is due to the fact that they only speak limited english - that said we received a warm welcome on our return visit. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is where the ex-pat French community go to in the evening to eat. Apart from one other couple we were the only English eating there that night. It is a quirky restaurant in that it is a wooden shed attached to the front of an old building, but that gives it a charm. The avocado and smoked salmon starter, the steak tornados and the prawns wrapped in sole were just simply delicious. I haven't had a Rum Baba for years and it rounded off the meal perfectly. The only problems were that the atmosphere was very smoky and the service was not great - hence the loss of one point on our rating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony_g_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Studio also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Le Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing