We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Swanky Riad, No English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Spa du Chameau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Spa du Chameau
Ranked #941 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swanky Riad, No English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I were placed here after a double booking mixup with our other hotel. This Riad was about 15 min walk from the square and not terribly hard to find compared to some others in the Medina. Our room was clean and the bathroom fixtures looked very new. Our room also had heating and TV, which others did not. As is common, we were greeted with tea and cookies upon arrival, and the usual breakfast of crepes and bread was served on the terrace in the morning. I got the impression this place was more expensive than our original booking, considering the amenities, but I'm not sure how much of a premium the are charging for it.

A big downside for us was that nobody here spoke a lick of English, and we only knew a few words in French. Communication was very difficult, and as a result could not arrange for an airport taxi. Also, we were quoted our room tax in Euros, which seemed odd because it came out to be more than the other Riad we stayed at in Marrakech (It came out to 55DH/night as opposed to the 34DH/night for the other riad). It may just vary depending on Riad.

Still, this was a very nice accommodation in terms of decor and beauty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our recent stay at the Spa du Chameau didn't get off to the best start with a taxi pre arranged by them failing to collect us upon arrival at the airport. Not a problem we thought and took one ourselves, only to be hassled by the driver on arrival at Moukef Place for more money than we had agreed on and then we were led to the riad by teenage boys who became threatening when the money we offered them apparently wasn't enough!

Once we were in the door Cham, the assistant manager dealt with the teenagers, then offered us a choice of room (as we were the only guests staying there at that time). He then made us some mint tea, served with some delicious Moroccan sweet treats. It was much appreciated.

As we were still quite shaken by our earlier experience, he then most kindly took us into the Square so we could get some dinner. As other reviewers have said, the riad is about a ten minute walk from the main square and the closer to the riad you get, the more confusing and quiet the lanes and alleyways become. However, by the end of our 3 night stay we were navigating them with ease and enjoyed passing a little group of young children, not far from the riad, out playing football at all hours of the day and night.

The riad was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable and we slept well.The roof terrace is just so relaxing and we even managed to see the Atlas Mountains from it on the last morning as the smog that day was not so bad. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a highlight and the breakfast for two was both delicious and enormous! Thankyou Noelle.

Cham proved to be a helpful but unobtrusive host and upon our return after each outing would make us the mint tea, which we really came to enjoy. There is wifi at the riad, however we did have problems accessing it. Not a problem though, as a trip to the roof terrace enabled us to pick up wifi from elsewhere.

We paid a good rate for our stay as the room was booked through Laterooms. Overall, I would recommend the Spa du Chameau to you. It is a quality property at a good price and a quiet retreat from the noise and chaos of the central square.

We hope to visit again one day!

Room Tip: We had the Ruby Room, a twin with airconditioning and a traditional bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This riad has been very nicely designed and furnished, it feels quite fresh. However, it is a confusing 10-15 min walk to the main square, a walk I would not do alone late at night.

They may need to upgrade their hot water infrastructure also. We arrived (cold and filthy) to find that our spectacular looking bathroom only delivered luke warm water. I suspect the fellow who was on duty was not the regular owner, and he did his best to try and rectify the problem (to no avail). The other chap in the morning suggested it might have been because they had 4 other guests staying that night - an excuse that might wash in a riad charging half the price of this one.

The lady who served the breakfast was very nice and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpontaneousTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I have recently stayed at Riad Spa Du Chameau and enjoyed it very much.

The Riad itself is done to a hight standard and the place was always spotlessly clean.The Riad is fairly new hence the reason for so little reviews but you can rest assure it is excellent accommodation and great value for money.

The staff speak little English but were happy to help anyway they could. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and consisted of pastries, pancake, bread, orange juice and coffee.I think this is standard across Riads.

The location is in the heart of the Medina and down a some small ally ways.It may be a little daunting for single travellers as the closer to the Riad the small and quieter the allys.A map is however provided by the Riad, failing that a local will always offer to guide you through the maze but expect to pay them.

The Riad itself is a 15 minute walk to the main sq or a 3minute walk to moukef place where you can catch a taxi.

All in all if you are looking for a Riad in the centre of the Medina and want to see a little of how the locals really live I can't recommend this Riad enough.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid-October 2011. It is a beautifully laid-out, clean and very comfortable Riad. The rooms have air conditioning which is a big plus and the beds/baths are huge which is a good thing because I am huge ! The staff were helpful, the breakfasts good and the place peaceful. It's a circa 15 minute walk through a proper Moroccan souk until you reach the tourist souks and the main square. The Riad provided us with a basic map which we managed to follow to get there and back. Would more-than-likely stay here again if I come back to the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunichLozz-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Excellent stay, spotless throughout, beautifully decorated Moroccan theme rooms with a massive bed, maybe even bigger than kingsize! The roof top terrace is just as in the pictures online, really beautiful.

We stayed in 5 different riads on out trip and this one had one of the best breakfasts we had including freshly squeezed orange juice. In fact it was one of the best riads we stayed in overall.

The service was brilliant, we were welcomed with a mint tea and offered regular mint teas throughout our stay. Initially we got ripped off by some people on the street on the way to the hostel who wanted a lot of money for walking us 3 streets to find the riad, but once we got in the manager of the riad (Ejam) went out and sorted it for us. We had room service every day and (much to our embarrassment) all our clothes neatly folded.

The riad was in the old medina about 15 minute walk from the central square. It was really quiet and relaxing which was really needed after the hustle and bustle of the city, i would not want to be too much closer to the main square. We ended up getting very lost the first few times walking to the square as the streets are like a maze, but when we told the manager he gave us his mobile number and said to call him if we were lost (which we did at about midnight one night after wandering for a good hour) and he walked out to come and find us. He even drew us a really detailed hand drawn map to help and after a few walks to and from the square we eventually got to know the way. Tip for directions...dont use shops as landmarks as they totally close at night!

We didn't use the all spa facilities as it was too hot, but they looked really clean the plunge pool was also very clean and very refreshing.

Overall it was a brilliant stay, we were totally looked after throughout our whole stay, really clean, beautiful decor, excellent breakfast and the manager (Ejam) could not have done more to help us! We would defiantly come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms...both of similar very high standard, both had excellent air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#266 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#239 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Ka
Riad Ka
#151 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#723 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Essaoussan
Riad Essaoussan
#664 of 1,170 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#118 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Spa du Chameau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Spa du Chameau

Property: Riad Spa du Chameau
Address: 57 derb Zemran Hart Soura, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #941 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ancient riad has been restored in full respect of tradition. At the swimming pool you can stay listening the song of birds, in the Moroccan sitting-room or enjoying a massage and a jacuzzi. On the terrace you could order and taste delicious moroccan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Spa du Chameau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing