We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Hotel, Great Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Du Golf
Ranked #95 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hotel, Great Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Marrakech for a week in October (In fact Im writing this from our room overlooking the pool!)

This is a fabulous hotel - whilst it carries the Holiday Inn brand so you know it'll be clean, when you arrive you'll find that it is actually very unique and different to the stereotypical Holiday Inn. This is a franchise so still quite 'moroccan'.

It looks almost brand new - the rooms are smart and tasteful with enormous super comfy beds, and the pool is beautiful and very clean. Staff are great, and the Manager is very accommodating with any issues you may have. Not many of the staff speak English, but with a few gestures and a bit of explanation you can normally get what you need. Free shuttle to the centre which is great as taxis are about 120 - 150 Dirhams each way. Only reason this is very good and not excellent is because of the food / menu which is really bland and boring. Breakfast is fabulous, but they have the same menu for evening meals, lunch time, at the pool bar and for room service which consists of sandwiches or a choice of 3 pasta dishes. There aren't many other places to eat apart from Leroys, so be warned about this. The hotel is aimed at adults and business - don't bring your kids.

We've had a fab time here and would definitely recommend to others, but shame about the food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    218
    86
    43
    35
See reviews for
169
233
37
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff love to remind you that this is the only 5* Holiday Inn. I would beg to contest the credibility of the 5* rating.

The staff are hit-and-miss. Luckily I speak French and a tiny amount of Arabic so there was no language barrier, but you will find that some staff are lovely and others apparently couldn't care less!

Check-in was painfully slow. Initially my reservation could not be found. I had to show a physical copy of my confirmation and then return one hour later. Then there was a copious amount of bureaucratic form-filling to be done; more than other Moroccan hotels that I had stayed in. I was sat down to work through the questionnaire. On completion, my room key had still not been issued so there was a further wait.

The pool is very nice; the water had patently been cleaned on our last morning as it was crystal clear. The pool bar is convenient though expensive by local standards.

We lost all the electricity in our room. Despite calling through to reception twice, nobody was despatched to assist us and it was only when I went along the corridor and into another room, where I found a housekeeper, was I able to find assistance.

Next to the hotel is a facility called "Nikki Beach". Here, every day, incredibly loud music is played from the afternoon into the evening. Unable to rest in the late afternoon, I contacted reception to complain about the unreasonable noise and request a room change. I was told "The noise is Nikki Beach, which plays music every day". Is that an excuse?! Nobody called me back with notice of a room change, even when I called reception thirty minutes later to again request.

A feature that does lend itself to the purported 5* rating is that you are led to your room by a bellhop, although I would rather that this were an optional feature, as I find it embarrassing when I have just arrived and have not yet procured and local currency that the bellhop is hovering, expecting a tip.

At checkout, I was issued a bill for the remaining unpaid taxes. I offered my credit card, but was told that I could not pay the taxes (MAD equivalent of around GBP 8) because the amount was too little. I asked the hotel to simply charge the card, without using my PIN number: apparently not an option. Nor would they waive the charge or allow me to pay it on arrival on my next confirmed stay. Not carrying any cash, I had to physically make a trip to a local bank, withdraw a note, return to the reception, and pay the lady!! This delayed my departure by one hour, causing me to miss my lunchtime tour bus into the Atlas Mountains, which was rescheduled for the next day. At what "upscale/5*" hotel are you ever forced to pay using cash?! I was also overcharged for taxes on a Priority Club Reward Night -- and charged twice for one night.

Finally, on my last night I had booked a Terrace Suite, but was placed in the lowest-category Standard Room. No partial refund or goodwill gesture was offered.

I have since contacted IHG Guest Relations to try and rectify the billing issue. My query was forwarded to the hotel management and I was promised a response within 48 hours, however one month later and alack nothing has been received.

I surmise that the hotel wants as little to do as possible with the IHG/Holiday Inn brands, as nobody wears any kind of Holiday Inn uniform or badge, there are massive issues with Reward Nights and Priority Club bookings, all my bills are printed on "Hotel du Golf" headed paper, the majority of the signage regards "Hotel du Golf"; and all their email addresses are hosted on a Moroccan website. Perhaps they are using IHG just for funding, or to get a good flow of guests from an international company. Either way, It seems that the hotel is complying with the absolute minimum of the terms in its franchise agreement!

It is desperately unfortunate that this is the way things are as this hotel has the potential to be excellent.

Room Tip: Do not go for a room on the outside! The noise from "Nikki Beach" is unbearable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Du Golf, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear zlost,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to write us a comprehensive review. I am glad that you found our room accommodations good enough for your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the issues you encountered with our staff and noise levels at the hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 8 nights with my partner. what a stunning hotel. loved every minute and cant wait to go back. everytging was perfect from start to finish. although we hired a car as only a 20 minute drive so we did not get chance to use the free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHP_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Am currently writing this review while sitting at the bar in the Holiday Inn Du Golf before returning home tomorrow. I can honestly say that on arrival we thought oh no what have we done, the location and the weather were not good. Now after 7 nights I cannot say enough about the friendliness and kindness of all the staff at the bar and the pool. They are all so kind and friendly and although our conversations have been in broken French and english, we got by and they have all been fantastic. Special mention to Toufique aka Manuel, Tariq, Karim, Unes, Ismail, Nebil, Adel and Robert De Niro. The service provided by these guys was second to none and we cannot wait to come back to this oasis in Marrakech to sample the generosity and kindness shown to us both by them all. Our room was absolutely beautiful with fantastic views of the golf course. Some laughs to be had by the so called golfers hitting the flag pole and landing in the bunker. Although this hotel is about 20 minutes from Marrakech it is a relaxing haven from the hustle and bustle of the mad city. Would highly recommend a visit and don't be put off by where it is, at the end of the day it is well worth a visit and although quiet it is full of peace and tranquility. One last point, Mona on reception was also excellent and sorted out our wifi problem and again was very friendly and helpful. Visit hotel du golf Marrakech, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our room was spectacular with two balconies, had been decorated with rose petals and had one of the best bathrooms we had seen. The reception staff were helpful and spoke reasonable English . The only downside was that the bar/restaurant staff spoke little or no English (try ordering beef with chips and veg!).
The pool area was well maintained, shame about the rain. The golf course looked very good if only I had my clubs with me.

Room Tip: Corner suite is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here during our short break in Marrakech. Upon arrival, we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite (Priority Club members) which was very nice. This meant we had a corner balcony with sunbeds. Having read some of the review concerning staff and rudeness, we feel they were unjust. The Holiday Inn is what it is. If you're looking for somewhere to use as a base, then it's ideal. If, however, you're looking for something a bit more, then maybe this isn't the hotel for you. Clean and tidy, helpful staff, shuttle bus into the Medina (15 mins away, last one 6pm). Can't comment on the food in any great detail, as we only had one meal here but what we had was very good. Good breakfast buffet, and you're left to relax over breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Marrakech in August, knowing that it was Ramadan and that it would be very hot. I had emailed the hotel before booking to ask if there were and restrictions , which would affect tourists. We were advised that there were none.
The hotel building was probably the most luxurious Holiday Inn we had ever visited. We stayed in a King pool suite, which was extremely spacious and had a wrap around balcony, with 2 sun loungers and a patio set and views over the golf course. The room decor was excellent and seemed quite new. The bathroom had a freestanding tub and a separate spacious shower cubicle. The bed was huge and very comfortable.
The hotel was exceptionally quiet so there was no trouble getting a space by the pool. As with the whole hotel, the pool area was clean and generally well looked after.The pool was large with a separate children's area, partially in the shade.
On the whole, we found the service to be quite friendly, but painfully slow, especially at lunchtime. Even with only a couple of tables to serve, the lunch snacks could take up to an hour to arrive. The food was average and quite expensive, as were the drinks - both alcoholic and non alcoholic. The extreme heat meant that it was necessary to take on lots of fluids. A 330ml can of coke cost about £3 from the minibar and about the same from the bar. We found a small shop about a 5-6 minute walk away from the hotel- turn right out of the main entrance. It is open from 10-6 and sells a variety of soft drinks and snacks at a fraction of the cost of the hotel. We stocked up everyday and kept the drinks cold in the minibar.
In the evening, there were usually more bar staff than guests, but they seemed intent on avoiding eye contact, thus making it difficult to get a refill, even when sitting at the bar!
The hotel next door has a variety of restaurants, most of which were closed probably due to Ramadan, but Leroy's Kfe served a variety of International and Morroccan dishes.We ate here several times due to the lack of alternative, but the food and Morroccan wine were always very good.
The hotel is a few miles from the centre of Marrakech and there is a hotel shuttle bus to and from several times a day. We used this on one occasion but the city was unbearably hot and dry.
French is the main language and only very basic English is spoken by most of the hotel staff. So brush up on your French before you go!!
For what we wanted - to relax and unwind - we found the hotel more than adequate. The food and service could certainly be improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racoon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
6.3 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#183 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Golf

Property: Hotel Du Golf
Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie BP 1488, Marrakech 40060, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Du Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing