We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty but cheap”
Review of Riad Mboja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mboja
Ranked #53 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

WARNING! RIAD IS NOT WHERE TRIPADVISOR STATES the genuine location is near ban doukala (gate doukala)
Thankfully we paid 200dh (20euros) for the riad to arrange a lift he held a sign with our name for us at the airport, so we were taken to the front door.
The host and hostess speak very little English.
We were placed on the second floor it was a box room with no window, it got horribly hot at night and during the day if you left the door closed. Thankfully you can use the air conditioning and they don't charge for it.
My only problem with this hostel is that we got a tiny room, which was very dusty. Plus when we had breakfast the tray food was served from had a live cockroach on it. So a few minus points for being dirty.
But then again it's cheap so...
And a plastic sheet was hanging over the riads square making it look ugly.
The staff were lovely though.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Riad Mboja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Be prepared for this one. We made the reservation on Booking.com asked to be picked up at the airport do no one showed up at our arrival. We took a taxi and they dropped us and left alone in the middle of the Medina neighborhood and started walking with some kid that kindly showed up and said to us he would guide us to the hotel. We must have walked under a vey hot sun at noon time with our baggage for about 15 minutes in the middle of a scary seen that you thought you would only see in a movie and finally the hotel could not be found.
We ended up going to another place called Villa des Oranges and ended up paying 500 euros a night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank bj8plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Mboja is a lovely little riad located conveniently and close to Djemaa el-Fna (10 minutes walk, but an easy one - forget about the maze of central Medina, here you get all attractions of the old city part with no risk of getting lost... as long as you're not super clumsy). The riad is run by a French lady - who we did not met in person - and her fantastic Moroccan staff. Very warm people, all smiles. The riad has a homey feel to it. If you have a problem, for sure you won't be left alone with it.

There was a mix-up with our booking and we were given a smaller room than we needed (it's a key word - we travelled with an infant). Ours was already taken. The owner, on the phone, was very dedicated to help us in every possible way. All turned out OK and the solution turned out easy - fellow travellers switched their room for ours - but it's always great to feel the staff cares 200%. Not that common, after all...

Rooms are clean and comfortable, although a bit too dark. Assuming you don't spend too much time inside it should not be a problem, but I prefer brighter rooms. Other than that everything is fine. Breakfasts are very tasty. Do spend time on the roof, it's lovely!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaetostoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

First, we came from the airport, with the chauffeur-service, with didn't speak english, but was so nice and a smiley face that our first opinion of moroccan people was quite nice and funny!
Very warm and welcoming people.
Second, the arrival at Riad Mboja.....That's it !
They are really, really warm and welcoming people, nice and gentle, the owners are a french couple, real good english speaking.
They seems to know a lot about their city, providing such good advises and tips, for you to avoid as many bad things as it can be done.
Really helpful...
The Riad is a beauty, tiny place with 6 rooms, nice furnitures, seems quite new, and rally clean by the way.
So were our room ("Emeraude"), so comfy!
You must see the roof terrace, with a wonderful point of view over the city, with the Atlas mountains (it seems that we were lucky to actually see it !), perfect meanwhile your mint tea's coming.
You won't get lost, unless you rally want to, because the main place is straight, and less than ten minutes walk...great if you wanna have your dinners at night over there!
We've been on a 3 days trip to the desert (thanks to your advises, alicia), and this won't leave our memories for an everlasting time !
WONDEFUL....the countries, the roads, everything is such a beauty.
Thanks again for everything, because this is gonna remain an unforgettable journey to us.

Room Tip: The "Emerude" room is a beauty, with A/C, a safe for your money and passports, a nice bath...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dickterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were here in january,the Riad is really Charming,in a Nice location...
Most of all,the owners and the team working there were so nice to us (english speaking), Always here to inform you in any matters(we spend so much time talking with alixia,so nice)
We would really recommend this nice and friendly riad

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a great time at Riad mboja, lovely friendly staff and a beautiful Accommodation. The rooms are awesome, very clean and the bathrooms are fabulous.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahs683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leati_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#40 of 1,159 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#32 of 1,159 in Marrakech
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,159 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#65 of 1,159 in Marrakech
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#4 of 1,159 in Marrakech
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,159 in Marrakech
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mboja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mboja

Address: Jdid Derb No4 | Doukkala Bab, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Mboja 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Riad is ideally located equidistant between the heart of the Medina (Jemaa El Fna) and the center of the new city (Gueliz). I'm the new Managing Partner since 01st June 2015, and my ambition is to bring you the best during your stay with us. Bedding for rooms carefully chosen, to bring you more comfortable and articles bathrooms to.Personal greeting by me is the strong point throughout your stay, I am permanently present at the Riad and we can talk in English, Spanish and Italian, French ofcourse.... My priority throughout your stay is your comfort as well than outside and inside the Riad. The car access is a few seconds of the Riad and bus station serving all of the Kingdom of Morocco at 5 minutes walking. The Mboja riad has six rooms to 01st and 02nd floor, all equipped with air conditioning, a safe, a Morocco Telecom GSM is also available throughout your stay. A personalized service ensures you a stay that will be made only at your own pace, which is my priotrity. A little swimming pool located in an alcove of the patio, will bring you well-being and privacy. The double terrace and lounge will welcome you for moments of relaxation in privacy. You will have a panoramic view of Marrakech and the Atlas. Your happiness is my goal, your satisfaction my pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Mboja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing