We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great band!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of So Lounge Marrakech

So Lounge Marrakech
Ranked #331 of 789 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $19 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moray
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great band!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Came here whilst staying at the "hotel" next door. As other reviewers have said, the food's not up to much but the band is just great!

Cocktails are also good, if pricey, but what do you expect?

One thing I would say is that the level of the "disco" (do we still call them that?) was a bit high i.e. loud, for my taste and the gaps between band sets was also a bit long.

I did notice that the club only began to fill up after the band's last set so, not sure if that is significant here?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    118
    48
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Awesome time, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Went on a Monday night to So Lounge as we were staying at the Sofitel where we had received a flyer for a cocktail night.

Decor is modern, nice. Place was clean. Prices are what one would expect from a 5-star hotel bar (approx 30$ for a cocktail). Nice selection of fruits and macaroons and brought along with drinks.

Parking available.

The atmosphere was great when we came in: live Canadian band singing Top 40, rock. and other songs all were cheered on to sing and dance along. When my travel companion informed the staff it was my birthday, they sang, put signs up on screens, brought candles, cakes, props, etc. All staff participated and manager offered us a bottle of vodka. We felt very welcomed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoy the club and lounge but eat first!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Expectations were high when you walk into the So Lounge, it's what you would expect and perhaps a little better in terms of ambience, decor, mood lighting and entertainment which for the week we stayed was a little hit and miss. Buzzing one night and then food tasting and pots everywhere another, not quite what you expect in a 'lounge'... Anyway getting on to the food, having had a great night early in the stay we decided to eat as well as enjoy the entertainment later in our stay........ the food was slow (club wasnt that busy), cold and sent back several times. It was really disappointing, it can't be difficult to get chicken right and make sure it's hot when you get it. The excuse given was that the 'usual Chef' was off sick.. Not really the customers problem.. In fairness we didn't pay for most and got a complimentary bottle of wine but by then we were still hungry!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A shisha, chilled out ambience and the stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A shisha, chilled out ambience and the stars. This open air bar attached to the Sofitel - a regal and attractive moroccan style palace. Great music, beautiful surroundings with a touch of style..... I love it!

Helpful?
Thank Mammooshka H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, Terrible and disgusting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

After my last night's visit to the So lounge at the Sofitel Marrakesh, I have to say that "horrible food" has reached new lows. The name would suggest that the fare would be ,at a bare minimum, So so; Not a chance!!!
We arrived at the lounge around 10:30; after the "mandatory"coat check, we were shown to our table.The setting is beautiful; the contemporary interior design ,inspired from traditional Moroccan homes, is harmonious, the ambience looked promising.
The menu offered choices between local, nouvelle and Asian cuisines.We decided to go for two different styles; I ordered the assorted Moroccan salads for appetizer and for entrée the lamb Shank with Pastina in a Saffron sauce ; while my guest chose the Asian rolls for starter and the chicken and shrimp wok for main course . Without going into boring details, the food was disgusting, the 5 salad assortment was nicely presented but the salads themselves were bland.The lamb was reheated and tasted of two days ago; the dish lacked creativity and seemed like the person who put it together had other plans other than serving food. The Asian rolls were very poorly presented and simply inedible. The Wok was So so..3 of the 4 plates we ordered were sent back the way they were served; the careless waiter did not even bother to ask. I eat out 2 to 3 times a week, and without exagération, this might have been my worst culinary experience!!
The C-class entertainers sang their hearts out; but it is a band you would expect to see at some cheap hotel in Malaysia and not at a place that prides itself as the premier lounge in Marrakech!!!
Would I go back? Not any time soon...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bulgarimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So Lounge Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to So Lounge Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing