We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Riad Dar Raja

Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Living space master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Living space
master bedroom
master bedroom
twin or double bedroom
twin or double with its en-suite upstairs
bathroom for master bedroom
bathroom for twin
Living space with pool
view of glass staircase from ground floor
Living space
Second terrace 'pergola'
Other part of the terrrace 'pergola'
Part of the terrace 'pergola'
Solarium terrace overlooking the olive grove
view of gardens by night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Polish first
Any
English first
Louise H
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 4 women celebrating a 40th birthday and wanting to experience a completely different culture to our own. The riad was perfect for what we wanted. It was clean and stylish and the owner Christian greeted us on our arrival giving us all the information we needed. The riad has a wonderful view of the gardens below which we enjoyed when having breakfast on the terrace. Our breakfast was prepared by Khalid each morning whilst his wife efficiently prepared our rooms and bathrooms. The plunge pool was perfect for dipping our feet in after a day of shopping in the souks. We visited the souks and restaurants by foot-no need for taxis. At our request, Khalid prepared us a 3 course traditional Morrocan meal on our final night which was delicious. I recommend this accomodation for anyone wanting to stay in central Marrakech.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaqoob Ja...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great Apartment,

It has all you need for a great holiday. There is kind Staff, who are always available for your needs. Great food and breakfast every morning. Very close to the main square in Marrakech. Loads of shops are close by if you need any food drinks or just general goods. The Local people are kind too and the area is very safe at day and night.

The Apartment has all you need and as it was December there is also heating available. The roof can be closed at night allowing the heat to stay in the riad. Great view onto a Hotel Garden. If you need a good place to stay I would recommend this as it has all you need and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJFLD
Carnforth
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location Riad disappointing”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Arranged pick up from airport great, owners met us on arrival and showed us around the Riad and then took the time out to show us where the main square was, very friendly and helpful. We arrived quite late at night so didn't get a proper look around the Riad until the following day. Lovely breakfast made by Naseem but we personally felt that she stayed too long, the Riad is very compact and the cleaning seemed to take from 2 hours upwards so we felt that we couldn't relax really until she had gone. On closer inspection of the Riad we thought it was a little tired and the furnishings on the top terrace were very dirty, we had to put towels down to sit on. Unfortunately the pool was just too cold to go in, which was a shame as it the weather was very hot when we were there, it would have been better if it had been slightly heated. The location of the Riad was fantastic for all the sights of Marrakesh. On our last day we were fortunate to be able to stay until 6pm as our flight wasn't until 8.30pm, this was brilliant but we felt that we were in the way. Ordinarily we would have had to vacate the Riad at 12 noon according to the information booklet but after breakfast another girl started the cleaning which was fair enough but she didn't then go. Then Naseem arrived and just sat with her legs up on the couch on her telephone, we sat up on the roof terrace as we felt uncomfortable and in the way. We went out for lunch as it just got too hot on the roof terrace and when we returned they were still in the Riad not particularly doing anything! It felt that as soon as breakfast was finished they wanted us out of the way even though we didn't have to vacate the Riad until 12 noon. We wouldn't stay here again and found the maid service very intrusive, if you like your privacy do not stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Maid Service and extremely cold swimming pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility and relaxation at its best!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just landed back in the UK from staying seven days in this Riad and we're both feeling totally recharged! Overlooking the amazing and peaceful gardens of the fanciest hotel in Marrakech and just 5 minutes from all the action, Dar Raja is perfectly located for enjoying the sites and sounds of Marrakech...
The secret weapon to this oasis of calm was the friendly and welcoming owners who showed us round and sorted all the logistics for our transfers and trips, and Nezha who came in every morning to prepare breakfast and give the Riad a once over. All of these ingredients combined to make our stay in Marrakech just amazing.
If you get the opportunity to stay, DEFINITELY have Nezha prepare an evening meal or two... We had two amazing dinners, chilling on the terrace as the sun set, enjoying the most amazing home cooked authentic Moroccan food... Despite our limited French, we managed to chat with Nezha each morning to arrange times for the next day, plus things to see during our time there.

The plunge pool in the Riad is bigger than we expected, but definitely something for cooling off after sunning yourself... We were there in March and the temp was between 23c and 29c and so we just dangled our feet in as it was a little chilly.

I really think the difference between a good holiday in Marrakech and a GREAT holiday is where you stay, and the peaceful home comforts of this Riad are the perfect balance to the hectic hustle and bustle of the city more generally.

Things to be prepared for... Nezha doesn't just pop in for 30 mins to sort brekkie and make your bed, she'll be there for a couple of hours at least so speaking French is a definite advantage, but even if you don't, she is really warm and friendly and more than happy to help you enjoy your stay.

Ourika Valley, Jemaa El Fna, the Souks and Jardin Majorelle all worth a visit... I really wouldn't recommend Chez Ali which was a 'tourist trap' torturous experience.

In summary, I'd recommend this location over a hotel any day... Having all that space to yourself is just bliss. The location is perfect and the hospitality of the hosts is the cherry on the cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayBultma...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best private holiday rental in Marrakesh”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Dar Raja in July 2013. The owners met us and explained everything that we needed to know about the riad. They gave us their telephone number and told us that we could phone if there was anything that they could do for us. Naseem and her friend made our stay extra special and we really enjoyed the delicious meals that she prepared for us. Breakfast was more than adequate too. No request was too much and Naseem also helped us arrange several tours that we thought were extremely good value and helped make our stay so much more enjoyable. Naseem was discreet and we barely noticed that she was there. On our last day we were permitted to stay in Dar Raja until our booked taxi collected us at 3.30pm. I had a migraine on the last morning and Naseem and her friend left me to stay in my room until I felt well enough to get up. They were so kind and thoughtful. The riad itself is gorgeous. We loved having the beautiful terraces overlooking the Mamoumia Hotel gardens. Highlights were watching the gardeners and their donkeys meandering through the gardens, doing some work, resting under the shade of the olive trees and smiling while we took photos. So obliging. The pool was a refreshing addition and a real luxury during high season when Marrakesh is extremely hot and humid. The price of the riad was very good value and when we next return to Marrakesh we hope that we can stay once again in Dar Raja.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Naseem, the terraces, the dip pool and the architecture of the riad itself.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike - it was a perfect holiday retreat.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona G
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in the city”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Such a lovely apartment, as it over looks the hotel gardens you feel like you are in the best apartment in the hotel! So quiet, listening to the birds while sunbathing is lovely. Nezha is great, tasty breakfast and got us the best coffee, beans blended with cinnamon, pepper and so etching else! She cooked a meal for us too, delicious, best meal of our 2 week holiday! Would definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Wifi didn't reach to the terrace!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraNamva...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riyadh, amazing city”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures and information on the website don't really capture how amazing the design of the property is. Despite the small size, everything you could need has been carefully planned into this unique property. The pool in the living room was really refreshing and I was able to float on my lilo whilst enjoying the relaxing lighting. The The bedroom furniture was very comfortable and the AC really cooled the rooms down which was great after a day sunbathing on the terrace! I loved everything about the house and would recommend it for a comfortable stay. Another great thing about the property is that its very central - 5min walk away from all the action in Jama fina, but down a quiet culdi sack that was silent at night due to the way the streets are designed. The riyadh is also a stone throw away from the kings new palace.

I had my 2.5 year old daughter with me who acts more like a 4 year old and is very aware of danger. She was very good and stayed away from the pool and stairs unless I was right next to her. If you have children that are young and are not likely to listen then I would say this property may be dangerous for small kids - the pool (which does have a drown alarm system fitted) does not have rails around it. Also the staircase banister has great big gaps that even a thin adult could fall through. Needless to say the glass staircase, despite being a work of art is a death trap for kids - with great big gaps between each glass step and massive gaps in the rails - my daughter never went up the staircase unless carried up (only twice!). I do not want to be negative about the property as it was lovely and I would return, but want to make anyone who is planning to travel with children, in particular toddlers to consider the pottential risks.

Problems:
1. The cleaner did not provide fresh towels each day, but instead dried them in the tumble drier and hung them in the sun for 5 days!! The washing machine was chained up and we had to pay to use it (a small fee, but after paying over £100/night I didn't want to pay anything on top)

2. The same breakfast provided EVERY day - breads, pastries (from the freezer!!) and Jam. Coffee not great. For the price paid I was expecting something cooked. In the end we bought our own cheese, eggs and salami from local shops which was lovely

3. On the last day we were almost hurled out the door as a pre-booked taxi was arranged for us for 10am! We had expected to leave at 12 lunchtime as this was the information on the website. The cleaner has informed me that this would happen the day before and I did email the owner to state that I wished to stay till noon but to this day have not received a message back. It was quite annoying as two cleaners turned up quite early banging around and the taxi just turned up...my daughter had been up the night before really ill and we were all exausted.

In summary amazing house, but relativly poor customer service. You will have a comfortable stay as the house is great but I would make sure you clarify what your going to get for breakfast and that you do not want to be pushed out the door at 10am. Also that you do not want the cleaners getting the house ready for the next set of clients whilst your still trying to pack your bags!!!!! I was treated much better at another riyadh I stayed in during my visit in quite a rough part of town for £40/night...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: safety issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
According to your description and feelings, it seems you did not understand what an exclusive vacation offers : the intimacy of a real home.
It is not in the least a hotel club with an international buffet serving all kinds of food to suit all possible tastes but a private home with a moroccan-french breakfast (coffee with spices-some guests asked where they could buy it-mint tea, milk and cocoa for children, english tea, fresh orange juice, sweet pastries as croissants and brioches, two sorts of jam, honey and moroccan pancakes cooked by Nezha herself and kept inside the freezer just because august in Marrakech is just over 45°) prepared every morning by Nezha whom you call "the cleaner" and who is a very sweet and efficient person appreciated by all our guests for her discretion and smile. If you had asked her for salami and cheese, she would willingly have bought it for you. The concept of Dar Raja makes it a place where you can also cook for yourself and feel at ease as if you were home.
Nezha tries not to stay too long into the riad and after making up the rooms leaves you alone to respect your privacy.
As to the last day, you were supposed to leave the riad at 1100 and the driver who picks up our guests to take them back to the airport drove you to another riad on request at 10 00 because that was what had been organized according to what you let us know. We always let our guests leave their luggage inside the riad if their plane is late and they can even stay as long as they wish if no new guests are due to arrive.
Concerning the children, their safety is obviously mostly important to us. For nearly two years we've had more than twenty families with very young children at Dar Raja and nobody ever complained about the stairs or the pool. We are the only riad in Marrakech with a pool alarm and a barrier would be practically impossible to fit out and even dangerous.
A young child of 2 and a half is not supposed to climb stairs alone or stay near a pool unsupervised.
As to the washing machine, it's been broken by guests once and we had difficulty in having it repaired, so if you want to have your linen washed and dried, Nezha can do it for you for a very small fee as you noticed.
The towels you used got very dirty and in spite of her efforts, Nezha could not remove the stains.
We were sorry to hear your daughter had been ill but you forgot to tell us -you cou ld have called as you had done previously or sent a mail-that the cot had been totally ruined. We had to buy a new one.

Our aim is to make our guests happy, that's why we do our best to come up to their expectations and always answer their requests. We often read or hear :" Thank you for your prompt response".
As a conclusion, their satisfaction is our reward.

Kindest regards

Kad & Lydie Saim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing