We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
“An Architectural Gem in the Medina”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Riad Dar Raja

Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Living space master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
16 reviews
Solarium overlooking the legendary gardens
Living space
master bedroom
master bedroom
twin or double bedroom
twin or double with its en-suite upstairs
bathroom for master bedroom
bathroom for twin
Living space with pool
view of glass staircase from ground floor
Living space
Second terrace 'pergola'
Other part of the terrrace 'pergola'
Part of the terrace 'pergola'
Solarium terrace overlooking the olive grove
view of gardens by night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Karen D
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Architectural Gem in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Dar Raja is a quiet surprise at the end of a small street near the Mamounia Hotel. We rented Dar Raja for three weeks in March, and while that may have been a bit too long to spend in Marrakech, it wasn't a day too long to spend in the house. The house is designed for complete privacy for you from the world, as well as each bed/bath from the other. The retractable glass ceiling with the glass staircase leading to the roof seating areas is ingenious, and the view of the Mamounia's gardens is all to yourself, unbelievable really, as are the stars. The kitchen is small, and actually part of the main sitting area, but it is not a drawback. The daily maid service is pretty nice, as was the simple breakfast that was prepared for us each day. The plunge pool was definitely too cold for us in March, but would probably be nice in summer. There's lots of TV, plenty in English, and the Internet service was good (we were charged 20 euros for it) although sometimes we had to go to the roof to get the connection.

One drawback was the owners' insistence that all alcohol brought into the house must be purchased from them. While they were very accommodating in providing what we asked for, a quick check at the supermarket showed they were charging for the service.

We recommend taking the car service from the airport or train station, because it would be very difficult to find this house the first time, and anyway a taxi can only get to within a few blocks and then you have to walk. Have the owners meet you and take you into the neighborhood.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The design of the house
Liked least: Prohibition a la Al Capone...You have to buy from me!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2012
Hello Karen,

Thank you so much for all the nice things you wrote about Dar Raja.
As to alcohol, we are in a moslim country and are responsible for what might happen to our guests ( heartattack etc.) We charge very little compared to a restaurant, and the fact we buy the wines ourselves is the best way to avoid overdrinking. It's a rule which often proved useful as other Riad owners explained.
We're happy we appreciated us being there to welcome you at the derb entrance upon your arrival, to guide you to Dar Raja. We always do so for our guests as finding one's way into the medina is not always easy at first.
We hope you go on enjoying Mexico.
Dar Raja will be glad to welcome you again in our imperial city whenever you wish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
aultbeaut...
seer green
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Our Ryanair flight to Marrakesh landed in Casablanca,so we took a 2 hour taxi ride,arriving in Marrakesh well after midnight.Lydie,the owner,very kindly picked us up,and is very charming. The riad was spotless,and we had ordered a salad,which was wonderful.We got to bed at about 2.30am.
The maid came in at 8.30am,and left about two hours later.On the next day,she arrived before 8am,and was there till 1pm. She cooked a delicious supper,and we both recommend the food,but the riad is quite small,and,though very discreet,it meant we couldn`t really relax. On our last day,when we had to leave at 11am,she was there early,as she had to prepare the riad for the next guests.This was also a pity.
If you are going out for the day,then I would really recommend her cooking,as it is excellent,and very good value.
The plunge pool was a bit too cold for either of us,but it would be a benefit in the summer,I`m sure.
The twin-bedded room has the better bathroom,but no hanging space,and is more noisy than the main bedroom. There are 15 stone stairs up to the bathroom,so the incontinent will get fit.
The open glass stairs to the roof terrace take a bit of getting used to,and perhaps would curtail binge drinking.There is wine provided at 100 dirhams a bottle,and it was good.
This is a place for older children,and sober adults,as the plunge pool can not be closed off.The roof terraces overlook the Mamounia Hotel,so people watching is fun.
We both enjoyed our stay very much,and I would certainly go again,but perhaps hope the very nice maid could be persuaded to come much later.We did ask her to come at 10.00am,but a misunderstanding meant she arrived at 9.20am,to have breakfast on the table at 10.00am.
It is outstanding in that you can have sole occupancy,is clean,quiet,well situated,and provides first class food,and sells alcohol,which is not always the case.The new owner,Lydie deserves to do well,and we both liked her very much,as we did our early morning visitor!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sole occupancy,and two bathrooms.
Liked least: Being wakened up every morning.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Geneva, Switzerland
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: roof terrace and pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MariuszJa
Reda, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
paul l l
Toulouse
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing