We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Weeks here june 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2 Weeks here june 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I choose this hotel from what i read on here and i was very happy with the whole holiday. i will say i was on holiday with wife and my 20 yr old son. The room was on the front and i understand that everyone says it is to load from the street .. yes it is busy but never kept us awake at all.The breakfast was what i expected nothing fancy and a bit boring but i didnt choose the hotel for my breakfast,It is a simple breakfast but enough to fill you up.
the location is great. very close to all the great shopping and dining places.2 minute walk to Starbucks/McDonalds/KFC and eating places if thats what you want. my only downside is the whole place speaks more French than English but that is my fault not theres. All in all a very nice hotel with great staff.The pool is cold but i used it nearly everyday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Location:
The hotel is situated in the Gueliz of Marrakech. The hotel is easily recognisable by its blue neon sign on the top of the hotel at night. There are a few restaurants near by which have good ratings on Tripadvisor such as Amaia and Al Bahriya.

Getting around:
Getting to Place Jemaa El Fna by petit taxis cost around 20 to 30dh (most expensive at night, I wouldn't pay more than 40dh. Getting from and to the airport costed us 40dh after some haggling. Otherwise walking to the walk takes about 25 mins with some nice gardens on the way.

Service:
The staff were friendly and speaks reasonably good english. The porter took us to our room but did not even expect any tips. The rooms were cleaned and tidied daily.There is a swimming pool and some sunbeds on the roof (closes at 20:00) with towels provided. Wifi is free and needs no password. No deposit was required on arrival.There is tourist tax which you can pay on arrival or check out. It was 11dh per person per night. You can also book excursions from the hotel which were reasonable price. (We went on a day trip to Ait Benhaddou & Ouarzazate for 350 dh each). Breakfast was continental and starts from 06:30.

Room:
We stayed in a triple room, which had 3 large beds. Pretty comfortable and clean. There is a small fridge in the room. TV and good air conditioning. Although please be aware they do not provide toothbrush and toothpaste so bring your own.

Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel. Everything ran smoothly with no problems. If you like sea food, the restaurant next door Al Bahriya is a must try. You can even get a great take away from there for 40dh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the hotel. I come to marrakech every year for business, but bring my husband as we enjoy the city, the sunshine, the culture, the food. Previously we have stayed in the Medina - there is no doubt the Riads are beautiful but Hotel Almas is by far the way to go. It's a close walk to the Medina to get into the hustle and bustle but offers a much more calm, comfortable experience.

All rooms are air conditioned (a major plus!) great value for money - not to mention the beds are HUGE! We enjoyed the rooftop pool on this occasion which was great to get some sun and then cool off.

There are heaps of great restaurants around the hotel in walking distance. We love Cafe de la Poste and Bagatelle just around the corner. Great value and excellent food. It;s easy to get a taxi from right outside and the staff all speak excellent english.

A top choice for staying in Marrakech every time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToscaSalomeLouis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Am staggered by some of the comments about the Hotel Almas - the breakfasts were typical continental breakfasts...perhaps some of the reviewers were expecting a full English, complete with bacon and pork sausages !
The rooms were spacey and clean, and our room was cleaned every day, unless we put the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door handle.
As for the reception staff - we found them friendly and helpful - we were given a map, and where we wanted to go was marked on the map for us. Most spoke at least passable English, some good.
Would we stay there again....undoubtedly yes !
We found good (and cheap) restaurants nearby (the closest being 2 doors away !), and loved the meal we had at Al Fassia.

Room Tip: Our room was at, the back of the hotel, on the 3rd floor. Certainly wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 81mikew27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel in the new town. Nice price, good value for the money. The staff speaks good english and are helpful. Big rooms, small nice balcony. Rooftop pool was very cold (but thats normal in Marrakech in this time in the year) Nice breakfast. It takes ca 30 minutes to walk to Jemaa El Fna. I think its a bit sad that you dont get the Morroccan feeling in the hotel, its a bit "boring". But all in all, its a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was my first time at this hotel and I was not impressed. The breakfast was bland and the same thing was served everyday, They only served dry bread rolls, two selection of pastry, the only hot food there was boiled eggs and pancakes which felt like eating rubber. Could not communicate with the hotel staff at reception unless you spoke Arabic or French. Staff was very unhelpful, every time you asked for help they would just seem uninterested.

There was no wifi connection in the pool area. I'm shocked that no one used the pool during my stay, It was freezing cold! You had to ask to have the bed sheets changed and the housekeeping staff did not understand. There was so many times we were disturbed whilst in our room as they kept entering without knocking and walking in and walked out when they realised we were there. Definitely need to have some sort or hanger to say Do Not Disturb! The shower was so weak, no refreshments in the room. There's also a sign saying no food or drink to be taken into the rooms! Lamps were not working, had to change our key card like 5 times because it would not open our door.,

I was really worried at the security of this hotel. There was no safe in the rooms. Even on the last day we left our luggage in the room near reception, people were just helping themselves in the room to get their belongings, anyone can take your stuff, was not monitored at all! Apart from it's in a good location. I would not recommend this hotel as it should be a one star.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel Almas is set in prime location in the new town of Marrakech. It was great to stay here and get away from the hustle bustle of the old town. The hotel was surrounded by great amenities, very easy to get cabs and close to a huge supermarket. The rooms were very clean and hotel staff were very friendly. The pool/rooftop was small however never too busy not to get a sunbed or have a dip in the pool. The stay was very good vaule for money and would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#260 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#284 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#217 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#245 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#287 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech, the red pearl of the desert, hosts a real gem: ALMAS Hotel. Located at the heart of the animated Gueliz district, ALMAS Hotel, a real haven of comfort,is a few minutes away from the famous Jamaa-el-Fna Square. You are going to find all the hospitality and comfort of a great hotel close to Mohammed V Avenue known for its cafes,restaurants and shops. ALMAS Hotel also offers an open view over the city and the Atlas Mount from its panoramic sun terrace, an excellent space for relaxation. A swimming pool and a snack also located there. High Quality and Attentive Service Faithful to the Moroccan hospitality, ALMAS Hotel reserves warm and convivial welcome;besides the careful personnel is at your service 24/ 24hs. A breakfast service is proposed and lets you start your day with a magnificent buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing