We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Almas
Ranked #166 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having booked a double room for 3 nights, we were delighted to have been allocated a small suite, which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and spoke reasonable English, although it is very useful to have some knowledge of French if visiting Morocco. The hotel kindly looked after our luggage for 3 days whilst we were on a tour, we then subsequently stayed at the hotel for a further 2 nights, this time is a spacious double room. The room although not quite as well equipped as the suite (no hair dryer) was perfectly adequate. There was an extensive buffet breakfast laid out each morning, however the evening meals offered less choice. As mentioned in previous reviews Internet access was limited, we found we only had access in the evenings, but this did not pose a problem for us.
In summary we can't believe Hotel Almas is only 3*, it offers great value for money!

Room Tip: Room 204 a very nice double suite. Would avoid rooms on 1st floor as the restaurant terrace opens ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JShaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    204
    51
    7
    14
See reviews for
77
166
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,486 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently and were in room 405. The Internet coverage in the room was none, and throughout the hotel it was poor to none. If Internet is important then I would suggest staying elsewhere.
If Internet is not important then it is worth some consideration, the room and hotel were clean, and the air conditioning good. The overall rating, excluding Internet factor, would be a 4 out of five, only marked down by excessive street noise and a very average breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel Almas is clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Good breakfast and dinner. I had a very relaxing stay there. Perfect location, close to main attractions of Marrakech. Only one minus - very noisy at night time. But still - highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

4 of us just returned from 5 nights at this fab hotel. Staff extremely helpful, friendly and obliging. The hotel clean, room clean, breakfast plentiful. Breakfast consisted of same things each morning, pastries, rolls, cheese, salami, olives, jam, honey, cereal, yoghurt, porridge, boiled eggs, Moroccan pancake, dates, prunes, orange segments, tea, coffee, orange juice. Staff were very quick to refill anything that was finishing. Sockets are 2 pin so you need to bring adaptors. Wifi in rooms, but found it a bit intermittent, sometimes taking 15 mins to get internet back. Shampoo, bath gel and soap in bathroom but you might want to bring your own, No hairdyer in room but Reception can loan you one but they only have the one. We brought our own iron so not sure if they provide one. Loads of local Restaurants around with KFC and McDonalds, pizza hut within walking distance. Train Station close too and about 20 mins walk to Jemaa El Fna square. We went by taxi to Ourika (mountains), a very beautiful peaceful place. A meal by the flowing river is a must and go further into the mountains to the waterfalls if you can but you need to take your trainers with you! Try to see a traditional Berber house, how Argan oil is made while you're there. You need to haggle for eveything, icluding taxis, so you need to have an idea of what you should be paying. Also went by taxi to Casablanca but you can go by train too which is more reasonable if there are 2 of you, taxi cheaper if more of you so can split the cost. Highly recommend the open top Tour Bus, hop on hop off so you can visit all the Tourist attractions along the way. Horse carriage ride was great too. Remember to keep 11 Dhirams pppn to pay for tax when settling final bill at hotel. We found it a fabulous hotel, fabulously located and would definitely recommend this! You need to have an open and accepting mind, bartering is must but that is part of the fun! Locals are very friendly, not aggressive. Go with the flow and you'll have a fab time! Would definitely recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabeela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cannot believe this hotel is 3*!! It deserves more stars! Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Me and my friends stayed here for 7 nights in a triple room. The hotel was spotless. The staff spoke little English despite that they were very friendly and well coming. Going to morocco from England the only problem we had was the sockets. The sockets are different to the sockets from England but the hotel gave us 1 adaptor so we were able to charge out phones etc but one adaptor wasn't enough for us. Also we had taken our hair straighteners and hair dryers from England, they were very high voltage I'm assuming so every time we plugged them in we would hear electric crackling noise from the sockets. Lots of restaurants on the streets. Would advice people not to go out at night, especially if you're girls, being smacked on my bum the first day we arrived wasn't very pleasant for me. In general, the hotels very good! And be careful of taxes, just as we were about to check out, we were told we had to pay 11 MAD per person per night, which is equivalent to £1, but since it was our last day me and my friends decided to spend all our money so we had no money to pay for the taxes but luckily they had a chip and pin card machine. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalmaBegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed in hotel almas for 5 nights. From the moment we stepped in, we felt so welcome.

I dont understand why this hotel is a 3* hotel as id be more than happy to stay its a 4* if not 5*!

The lobby was beautiful and very clean. Check in was very quick and were shown to our room on the top floor. Room was spotless! Crisp white bedding, clean carpet and spotless bathroom with free toiletries.

Heating and air com worked well. Our kids loved the hotel, just as much as we did.

20 min walk to the square. We walked some days and got on the horse and carriage the other days. Horse abd carriage should onlu cost about 40 dirhams.

Breakfast was good, with lots of variety to choose from. My children loved the yogurts and chocolate croissants. The spiral pastry was delicious!

lovey clean pool, which was cleaned every morning. Good view of the atlas mountains from the roof top.

Initially our plan was to stay in almas hotel for 2 nights then in a riad near the sqaure. After our 2 nights, we stayed in a lovely riad but after getting lost twice finding our way back from the sqaure to the riad, we thought this wasnt for us and moved back to almas hotel for the rest of our nights and it felt like home.

We really miss hotel almas and if we visit marrakech again, we will deffinitely stay in this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iqrauk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, good, modern hotel, just 20 minutes walk from the Jemaa el fna. Good selection of the food for the breakfast. The staff is friendly and speak good english. The big plus was the heater in the room- during February might be a bit cold. Near by the hotel is a lovely restaurant Bagatelle which we can highly recommend or within 5 minutes walk we can find McDonald's :). Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#241 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#128 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#176 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#319 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#203 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Property: Hotel Almas
Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech, the red pearl of the desert, hosts a real gem: ALMAS Hotel. Located at the heart of the animated Gueliz district, ALMAS Hotel, a real haven of comfort,is a few minutes away from the famous Jamaa-el-Fna Square. You are going to find all the hospitality and comfort of a great hotel close to Mohammed V Avenue known for its cafes,restaurants and shops. ALMAS Hotel also offers an open view over the city and the Atlas Mount from its panoramic sun terrace, an excellent space for relaxation. A swimming pool and a snack also located there. High Quality and Attentive Service Faithful to the Moroccan hospitality, ALMAS Hotel reserves warm and convivial welcome;besides the careful personnel is at your service 24/ 24hs. A breakfast service is proposed and lets you start your day with a magnificent buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing