We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable modern hotel in good area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Almas
Ranked #165 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable modern hotel in good area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 8 nights after deciding our pre-booked Riad wasn't for us. We arrived half an hour after booking online and despite being a few hours early for check in, the room was ready for us on arrival. The bed was massive, a little on the firm side (this seems to be the norm in Marrakech) but very comfortable nonetheless. The room was spacious and clean, with a good sized, powerful shower in the ensuite bathroom. Big TV with lots of channels, and I think 2 channels that were English language, one of which seemed to be a movie channel.

We spent quite a lot of time on the roof terrace which was lovely with a great view, beautiful to watch the sunset from. The pool was very very cold, even when it was quite warm outside (it got up to around 30 degrees Celsius at times) and it was a shame it wasn't heated as it was far too cold to get in, but maybe it's better in the summer. The terrace was a nice area to sunbathe on and get a bit of a tan, something which we couldn't do whilst out and about, as you need to cover up in public.

Breakfast was served between 6 (I think) and 11am so it was nice to be able to get up late and eat breakfast. We took it to our room a couple of times on a tray which wasn't a problem. Breakfast was quite basic but high quality, pain au chocolat, croissant, another sweet pastry, good bread, butter, jam, sliced cheeses and ham, olives, fruity yogurt, boiled eggs, porridge and pancakes, cereal and dried fruit, with strong coffee and fresh orange juice on tap.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the reception staff speaking good English (though it's always courteous to at least try and speak a bit of French!)

The area (Guilez) was nice with a lot of good restaurants and shops nearby, very different to the atmosphere in and around the medina, and a lot less hassle.

Overall this is a high quality hotel in a good area of Marrakech, and very good value for money (we paid 50 euros a night for the room and breakfast for 2).

We would definitely go back there if we ever return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexragaliauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    209
    54
    7
    14
See reviews for
78
169
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Clean and fairly new hotel in a good location. Large rooms and excellent bathroom. In winter, the heating worked well. Breakfast was good. Restaurants around sufficiently. Baggage was left luggage storage, when we went to Ouarzazate. The bus station is a 15 minute walk and a taxi 3 euros.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châteauponsac, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is absolutely superb, situated about 20 mins walking distance from the centre of Marrakech. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean. There are not really any negative things I can say about this place. It is certainly one I would recommend and one I will certainly stay at again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious and the beds are supersized !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Almas for 2 nights in early November. I booked it online for €50 a night. Its location was ideal for me as i was arriving from Agadir on the Suprabus comfort (150 Dirhams). Its about a 15 min walk from the bus depot which is near the train station to the hotel. Check in was fast and the lady who spoke English was very friendly and was able to give me help with directions over the few days.
My room on the second floor was nice. It had a massive king size bed which was comfortable. It was clean however the carpet had been stained by red dye. The TV had one english channel. There was no safe in the room only at check in. There was AC in the room and it was adequate for the time of year.
Breakfast was continental and i thought it was very good as continental goes. There was boiled eggs, moroccan pancakes, some fruit, yogurts and a selection of breads, pastries, cheese and ham. There was also coffee tea juice and water.
I found the location also great because the red bus tour stop no.1 where you could buy a ticket was about a 5 minute walk away. The bus tour for 24hrs was 145 Dirhams. The red bus does two circuits one of the city and the other of the outskirts. You should do both. In the afternoon i used the red bus to make my way closer to the Medina area. Explore around there and Place Jaama El Fna and then i walked back which is a good walk of about 30 minutes. There are plenty taxis also.
After the hustle and bustle of the old city it was nice to return to the quieter area of the Gueliz and hop into the cold rooftop pool to wind down. The Gueliz area is trendy and has plenty shops cafes and restaurants. There is no beer served in the hotel but there is a small Moroccan bar across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiamDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. There's a rooftop swimming pool too. Breakfast was basic but adequate. There are local restaurants right next door to the hotel so you can enjoy the local experience instead of dining at a tourist trap. Shops and restaurants are nearby. The Medina is only half an hour walk which I did numerous times during my stay. The train station and the SupraTour bus terminal are 10 minutes walk away, the CMT bus terminal an additional 15 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Almas for seven days. It is a great hotel, especially compared to the price for the room. Rooms are big and clean, beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast is continental style buffet and it is very nice, just as service in the restaurant and on the front desk. We found hotel's location perfect since it is on walking distance from the medina and train station. The petit taxi will usually charge you around 20dh for a ride from Djemaa el-Fna. There are couple of very nice restaurants near the hotel as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StojkovicSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice, clean and spacious rooms. Great aircon and a fridge in each room. Some have a little balcony. The breakfast buffet is also generous and fairly varied, at least by typical Moroccan standards.

The location is very convenient for the train and bus station as it's within walking distance.It's a little far from the Medina but that's probably a good thing as it's nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the bazaar. There's also a little swimming pool on the roof which is a nice relief from the heat.

Very good value and nice place to hole up in for a while.

Room Tip: The rooms without balconies seem to be a little bigger and the balconies just look out on other balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#155 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#119 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#207 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#355 of 511 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#152 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Property: Hotel Almas
Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech, the red pearl of the desert, hosts a real gem: ALMAS Hotel. Located at the heart of the animated Gueliz district, ALMAS Hotel, a real haven of comfort,is a few minutes away from the famous Jamaa-el-Fna Square. You are going to find all the hospitality and comfort of a great hotel close to Mohammed V Avenue known for its cafes,restaurants and shops. ALMAS Hotel also offers an open view over the city and the Atlas Mount from its panoramic sun terrace, an excellent space for relaxation. A swimming pool and a snack also located there. High Quality and Attentive Service Faithful to the Moroccan hospitality, ALMAS Hotel reserves warm and convivial welcome;besides the careful personnel is at your service 24/ 24hs. A breakfast service is proposed and lets you start your day with a magnificent buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing