We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ardoaz - CLOSED

L'Ardoaz
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Found this as we were stopping at the Diwane next door. Happy hour 6-8 - not all drinks qualify though... Good music and friendly atmosphere. The fact it was a restaurant is not obvious... No menus on display, hence never ate there. Great place for a wind down after a hard day at the Medina....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, friendly and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I like this restaurant very much because it has a very cozy and friendly ambiance and you can taste very good quality food always with a fresh daily suggestion from the chef!
It's a must go in Marrakesh!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ananen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This modern trendy bar/restaurant is well worth a visit. The downstairs is more of a bar but the mezzanine level looks over the bar and is for people dining, a good place for drinks or food.
The food is really good, we had two courses including steak and drinks and it was 600 dirhams (£46.00) which we didn't think was too bad as we really enjoyed it! The menu is in French so we didn't really know what we were ordering which made it more fun!!

The decor is nice but it's a little dark, they also show football games!
The staff were exceptional, really nice and helpful.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
116 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went to L'Ardoaz after finding it by accident and where really glad we did. We watched the final between Chelsea and Germany on the big screen, while being serenaded by a young singer, singing a variety of rock, pop, and old crooners songs. The atmosphere was lovely and friendly and we had a brilliant meal too. We started with casears salad, which was quite enormous and very tasty with proper fresh anchovies and then we had pigeon pie and sea bass. Again beautifully presented, huge portions and very tasty. The menu is a mixture of tapas and also proper meals, of a French/Spanish influence. The whole place is very comfortable and you can eat up or downstairs or outside (daytimes mainly). It was very reasonably priced bearing in mind its got a European owner costing us around a total of 400 dirhams and it was considerably nicer than places like Pepe Nero's (660 Dirhams). Unfortunately we only went there once as we found it at the end of our stay in Marrakesh, but would definately have gone again if we had had more time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flaki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We found this place right next to our hotel (Diwane). It's smalla nd easy to miss but it's beautifully well done out inside. There's a bar area downstairs and a seating area upstairs for food. The food was a mix of Tapas style and full meals. The menu isn't extensive, but the food is brilliantly presented on black slate plates and was delicious. The 7 hour slow cooked lamb was particularly good. Good selection of wines both Moroccan and French.

We used this place 3 times, twice to eat and once just for a drink in the bar. It has a really cool feel about it and had a live singer on Monday singing a bunch of pop and rock sounds.

The staff were really fun and friendly and helped us out with my nut allergy and my limited French.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank luke_boro_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ardoaz also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing