We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classy Italian in Morocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #11 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy Italian in Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We didn't book a table for this lovely secluded restaurant that is located just off the main square but fortunately arrived early and they managed to squeeze us in. The interior of the restaurant was gorgeous and the food didn't let the standards down. It had a good choice of dishes and we even received a complimentary cocktail on arrival too.The service was professional and even when we had a slight query over the bill it was sorted out with no problems.
Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a change from Moroccan cuisine!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    755
    241
    100
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Hidden Gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent service, food and prices. An exquisite Italian restaurant in a Rhiad, Difficult to find
but worth it. Restaurant sign on a door,at the end of a long passage, however when the door is open, you cannot see the sign. We took a taxi there, it is only 10mins walk from the main square.
The food is fantastic, homemade Italian food, nice atmosphere and only £20 for two for everything. Will go again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazelwood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant set in a lovely riad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had dinner here back in June. The restaurant is set in a beautiful riad and dinner is a bit more formal (in a good way, without being stuffy!) compared to some of the restaurants in Marrakech. It has a choice of two menus-Moroccan or Italian which is great if you have had too many tagines!. Location is near the main square but is quite hidden. However there was a door guy located about 15 meters from the main entrance of the restaurant that brought us there-not sure if he is there all the time...! One minor hiccup was at the end of the night when we were paying the bill, the waiter took away the bill and didn't return with the change. Just as a tip for the staff I think its better to return change so that the customers can provide a tip separately unless the customer is clear by saying keep the change. Just a minor hiccup which doesn't take away from the restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Our reservation was cancelled as closed during Ramadam”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked for dinner weeks ago, but with 2 days notice our reservation was cancelled. We were told they were closed during Ramadam, Fair enough- but 1. Why did they take the reservation in the first place knowing when Ramadam is and 2. How come other diners have reviewed this restaurant in July when that's the month of Ramadam? Odd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jarfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This restaurant is located in a beautiful riad and produced the most excellent food.

We totally enjoyed both the dining experience and the food - well done!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing