We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #16 of 818 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Guildford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wonderful food. Wine if you want it (not always available in Marrakech restaurants. Nice atmosphere... and an escort back to our Riad.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MubGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,157
    778
    254
    102
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Closed on Monday! Heavily booked on Tues- but we squeaked in, thankfully.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yes this is indeed one of the better restaurants in Marrakesh. After a week it was a relief to eat something other than Moroccan and the Italian option was superb. The starter Eggplant Parmigiana with Tuna and Mozzarella was amazing, so packed with flavour. I had taglietelle bolognese for my main at it was good but needed parmisan. My wifes chicken & Pecorino was also very very good.

The extra touches of Proscetto (sp?) and hors d'oeuvres and general level of service warrant a clear 5 stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We did not have a booking but managed to have dinner here. We were all vegetarians in out party and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food.
It is signed from the main square but still difficult to find as it's tucked away in the alleys.
It was a little cold in the room we sat but they had heaters in some other rooms.
It was absolutely brilliant both food and service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hema P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“so disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had high hopes for our dinner at Pepe Nero, but we were bitterly disappointed. My husband I and both opted for tagines (one chicken, one lamb) and they were not at all what we had hoped for. The chicken tagine had barely any sauce so was therefore very dry and the lamb tagine was the worst I have ever had! We hoped the dessert would rectify our disastrous main course, but that too was horrible! The service however was good and the manager was very sorry we had not enjoyed our meal - he offered us anything else from the menu instead ...but frankly we were ready to go home! The restaurant is tricky to find and a long walk from the main square - one we will not be doing again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

After reading reviews we decided to book Pepe Nero's for dinner. Good job we did book as we got the last reserved table.
We followed the signs to the restaurant from the square and found it without too much trouble especially as there were about 3 couples all making their way there.
My husband went moroccan and i went italian and we both had superb meals. Infact my pasta was one of the best italian meals i have had in a long time.
Reasonable priced and great food, it should be a must, however do book as it is very popular

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing