We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wowza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #22 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Level Contributor
362 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wowza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is not the easiest to find, in fact, we had a young lad take us there. As we wouldn't our way through the streets we thought we were walking our final steps as we eventually turned down a quiet alley. Thankfully, we arrived at the restaurant, which was like walking in to a riad. The location was nothing short of stunning, with beautiful water features and lime trees. The service was faultless and we were all spoilt rotten. The food was divine and my wife was in her veggie element with some fine choices for her.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,246
    813
    269
    108
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Talk about attention to detail - wow. After two great weeks of true Moroccan meals, we elected some variety and having the choice between Italian and Moroccan at the gorgeous riad Pepe Nero was likely the best decision we made in two weeks. From a prompt email response to our reservation request, to their clear and accurate directions by car, walking and with guide from the main plaza, our beginning was great. A guide is not needed as the route is -extremely- well and clearly marked, unlike so much in Morocco to a non-Arabic speaker. The seating areas are well arranged with plenty of space. The restaurant surroundings are immaculate and gorgeous. However the best of all were the cuisine and the service. Impressive. Nice wine list with elegant stemware. WONDERFUL value. We could not have been more pleased. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Myself and a group of four friends dined at Pepe Nero on our arrival to Marrakech. To start I had Carpaccio di Tonno followed by Fettuccine della Casa Pomodoro e Basilico, both were sublime! My entire party loved the food and wine. The menu is a perfect blend of Italian and Moroccan cuisine accompanied by excellent wines and exceptional service form the warm yet non intrusive staff. The setting is a stunning Riad with beautiful pools and fountains.

Pepe Nero is slightly hard to find but it is well worth the visit! The restaurant even provided us with a guide to walk us back to Jemaa el Fna.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanLucDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thank god for the pudding..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beautiful restaurant. Well and truley hidden away down a dark alleyway..
The food was dissapointing.
We were each given bread before our meals which was dry and no butter was provided..
We all had something different for our mains and were all as dissapointed as each other.. Meat was over cooked and the vegtables in the tagine were extreemly undercooked.

We tried here after all the reviews and tried to ignore the few negatives. Unfortunatley we did not enjoy anything other than the pudding (The chocolate pudding made up for the bad main course)
Considering how highly rated on tripadvisor this was it was on our definate list of places to eat. We all feel we had waisted an evening here when we would have rather tried somewhere else!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EROSE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Best meal since arriving in Marrakech wish we had found Pepe-nero earlier. Agree with all previous 5 grade ratings great food,attentive service, great setting and priced accordingly. So good we will be returning tomorrow !!

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing