We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #22 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Best meal since arriving in Marrakech wish we had found Pepe-nero earlier. Agree with all previous 5 grade ratings great food,attentive service, great setting and priced accordingly. So good we will be returning tomorrow !!

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,247
    813
    269
    108
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is a must if possible - but book in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was an absolutely beautiful restaurant and experience - lovely Raid and fantastic food and service - 2 courses including wine/or other alcoholic drinks was around £20pp - the best £20 I have spent! There were extra bits given free of charge - a welcome drink, a tiny starter, and pastries with coffees. We were a group of 8.

Finding the restaurant is a little challenging, face the Cafe Du France in square, go down the street to the left hand side, there are discreet signs all the way, but it will take a good 10 mins from that point, towards the end you may wonder where you are going, but just keep going and you will arrive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Italian/Moroccan mix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to have our first dinner in Marrakech there.
After walking the bustling small streets and alleyways from Jemaa El Fna we came to a dead end and thought we couldn't find the restaurant. Then suddenly behind a door an oasis opened up as we walked thru. The Pepe Nero is a beautifully designed restaurant with an Italian and a Moroccan menu and wine list. We went for the entrees and then 2 fantastic varieties of lamb from the Moroccan menu and home made lasagna from the Italian for our youngest one. We all licked our plates clean!! We'll cocked, fantastic flavors and nicely presented.
Expensive??? Well... Let's put it like this. We live in Norway and I wouldn't have been able to take my family to such a dinner for that price.
I strongly recommend the Pepe Nero for a good dinner in Marrakech.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
348 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Hard to find gem in Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

You need to call ahead so the restaurant will expect and meet you in the square and help you find the restaurants through the narrow streets of the medina. Once you are there though you will be blown away by the elegance of the reception area, complete with a long pool adorned with lights and flowers.

The menu is a bit of Italian and a bit of Moroccan. The family split between the two worlds, but I had the the gratinated fillet of St. Pierre (a fish) and the rest of the family had lamb and chicken. All the dishes were downed with local Moroccan white and red wines. The service was friendly although not extraordinarily so.

It was full that evening so I reckon one has to make reservations. Besides the place being hard to find, it is best that one calls first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place, if you are in Marrakech don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

After reading all the great reviews for Pepe Nero, we decided to give it a try and we were not dissapointed. The restaurant is a hidden paradise, away from the Medina-madness and I must say that it was the best meal we had during our stay in Marrakech.
We had a reservation for Friday night; we were seated promptly by the very friendly staff as soon as we got there. The waiter that was looking after us was very attentive and the food is just amazing!!
We liked it that much, that we actually decided to go back a couple of days later for lunch - it was Sunday and because I guess we got there pretty late (2.30pm), the restaurat was almost empty which didn't bother us at all as it felt we had the whole place to ourselves.
Overall - make sure you visit this place if you are looking for a nice place to eat amazing Morocan food at reasonable prices (make sure you try lamb tangine which is so tender that it melts in your mouth!!!). If we ever go back to Marrakech we will definitely pay Pepe Nero another visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasiliki_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing