We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Go twice ........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #11 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go twice ........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

... and enjoy both the Moroccan- as well as the Italian dishes, for they are all very tasty and plates are genuine pieces of art.
Wines were excellent, really added to the exquisit taste of the food.
Admire the beautiful riad with its gardens and fountains, fairy-tale lit at night, the interesting paintings on the walls in the seperate dining rooms, the pleasant atmosphere.
Staff is very polite and well trained to high standards, always with a smile and ready to chat with the guests,
We spent 2 beautiful evenings at Pepe Nero, absolute high lights of our culinary adventures in Marrakech.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLaibowitzNoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    755
    241
    100
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great dinner at Pepe Nero. The setting was beautiful and tranquil compared to the chaos of Marrakech and the service was brilliant. The food was excellent and we throughly enjoyed the experience of being in a riad style restaurant. It was a great setting, with great food and very helpful friendly service. The puddings are also to die for. Make sure you try the chocolate cake, it was honestly the best chocolate pudding I think I have ever had in my life, so just for that is it defiantly worth a visit! Great dinner, we would highly recommend! `

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess_88875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit :) excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent service. Pastries not very good but this applies to all Morocco as it is a question of personal taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a bit of a hidden gem, located deep within a residential area. Beware that the coordinates on the map are wrong - use the address or follow the signs! The food is very good, and they have a limited but descent wine and beer menu. The environment is quiet and relaxed, and the service excellent. Definitely worth a visit - but call and make a reservation first; it seems to be quite busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My favourite restaurant that I tried in Marrakech.

This place was absolutely perfect: a beautiful setting in the courtyard of a magnificent Riad, free prosecco cocktail, and a menu to die for.

The food here is really something special. Given that you're only paying around £15 a main, the food is incredibly cheffy and well thought-out. Some genuinely excellent European dishes, alongside traditional Moroccan fare. I had the salmon cake (sublime) followed by the beef fillet (they hit "rare" on the nail with the panache of a top steak house). My partner had the aubergine, tuna and mozarella tarte to begin, followed by duck a l'orange. Both were assuredly spectacular. The desets were likewise excellent, as was the service and the wine list.

Now here's where it really gets special. So far I could have been reviewing any nice restaurant back home, but the whole bill came to a mere £70 for the two of us! Seriously, do not overlook this place!

NB: it's very busy and rather hard to find. We managed to book over the phone about an hour beforehand on a friday night, but don't push your luck if you can avoid it: book as early as possible. Also please do as a previous reviewer suggests and visit their website for directions rather than using Google Maps. It's well signposted but rather out of the way, and allegedly the locals have a tendency to try and put you off and send you to other, lower quality establishments.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_H0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing