We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Italian in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #11 of 789 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Italian in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I think the prices on TA are a little misleading as this is not at the cheaper end.

Good food, and good service and plenty of extras that make this a good dining experience if you are looking for something other than Moroccan food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teens2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    756
    241
    100
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic setting, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal, though the vegetarian selection is limited. Prices are high for Marrakech but service is great and setting atmospheric.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DB_BATH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An amazing surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were been walking at Medina and saw a sign "Pepenero"- Italian cousine. Then was a terrific experience. The Italian food was wonderful (homemade lasagna - It's my tip). The price is honest. The atmosphere is amazing. It's a Riad. There is a ambient with air conditioning, It's too important in Morocco after you walk and visit monuments. The service is friendly. We recomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aretusa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“the spanish novela El Tron must have been film here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Charming place, good Italian food some morrocon dishes try the chicken tanjin make sure to request a table in the Morrocon room is air conditioned and very nicely appointed. The maitre will arrange the exit back to a taxi. One needs to walk a few dirty dimly light streets to get there. But is safe and a wonderful adventure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManhattanTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Whilst this venue was first class in terms of food and service, our visit left a sour taste in our mouth after having a man show us a card for Pepe Nero saying he worked for them and would walk us to te entrance. In hindsight, perhaps this was naive of us, but as he ha a card we trusted him....he got us to the restaurant and then requested a tip. We only had 200 dirham cash an didn't feel that the 100meters he had walked us warranted that tip. He was very rude before shouting at my partner and walking off! Our visit was further tarnished by a man waiting at reception who said he was our taxi driver (we had pre-booked one) only to realise he too wanted a tip. The restaurant isn't very well sign posted so do make sure that you "know" where you are going!

Aside from these points, the food was lovely and the service was excellent. We didn't visit again purely on the experience we had on going to and from the taxi which is a shame as the food was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emskiemgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing