We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven amongst the bustle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #18 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Haven amongst the bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a beautiful, peaceful place. A real sanctuary amongst the hustle & bustle outside. A very warm welcome and a beautiful glass of prosecco to welcome us. Blood was very good and the waiters were great, we wanted for nothing. Our boys had nut allergies and they were very attentive to their needs. Don't let the alleyways put you off

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorrypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,221
    804
    266
    105
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We read the reviews on trip advisor and decided to go.Found it easily with their signs.Hadn't booked but managed to get a table outside.Suggest you do book as it gets very busy.
The setting is beautiful, courtyard with pool and floating petals.The staff were very attentive and service was good.We were given a free glass of Prosecco and some nibbles to start with.
We had Lamb and pasta followed by an amazing chocolate pudding.All the dishes were excellent.
Would definitely recommend as a place to eat

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The inside of the restaurant is gorgeous. The food was really good, but the portions were a little small. I tried the eggplant with tuna and mozzarella and the lamb tagine. Both were excellent! For dessert we got the pastry sampler, DO NOT get this. It was huge, probably 60 pastries were brought to the table and none of them were very good. The entrees were delicious but either skip dessert or order something else!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food great athosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

While walking around the main market in Marrakesh we spotted signs for Pepe Nero. The place is tucked away but easy to find due to being sign posted very well.
I can admit it is one of the most romantic restaurants I've ever been to. The décor is just beautiful and elegant, the staff is also dressed very smart and every detail of the interior is well thought through.

We were offered some free little snacks and a glass of Prosecco each. We tried the Italian menu and the food was amazing. The service was a little bit slow, but we didn't mind - Pepe Nero was such an excellent place we didn't want to leave!

I think visiting this restaurant is a must when you are in Marrakesh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went with high expectations. Friends from Marrakech told us that this was a good place to eat. NOT!! The food was sub-par. The blaring music was overwhelming. The setting was very nice. Too bad that the food did not live up to the setting. I guess when you are in Morocco you should be eating regional cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing