We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal in Marrakech!”
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #19 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in Marrakech!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pepe Nero was exactly what we were looking for! After one night in Marrakech, we were already sick of Moroccan food and booked a table at the number one Italian restaurant, Pepe Nero. Most of the restaurants we had been to so far have been empty and we were glad to see that Pepe Nero was booked (mostly with tourists, but who cares, we are tourists!) We easily found Pepe Nero, walking from the Mellah, we just followed the road to the Jemaa el-Fnaa and then looked for the Pepe Nero signs. The restaurant is beautiful and we sat inside, facing the courtyard.

We were given a glass of Prosecco to start our meal. We had the Harira soup which was delicious, the tomato and basil fettuccine, and the four cheese pappardelle. All was delicious and we would definitely go back to Pepe Nero!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,316
    838
    277
    110
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Follow the signs”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We wanted to visit this restaurant after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor and on our map it looked to be very close to our riad. Luckily we saw a sign off the main square which we followed, and followed, and followed. Twice we were tempted to give up and try one or other of the many restaurants we were passing but eventually we were guided down an even narrower alley by the doorman.

Well it was worth the walk just for the atmosphere. Soft classical music, candlelight and fountains full of rose petals. The service was impeccable, the wine was good, but the food did not live up to our expectations (we chose from the Moroccan menu).

All in all we enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Moroccan Home Cooking At It's Best”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an idyllic place, just when you think the guide (you will have to ask the way) is taking you down a back alley here comes this doorway at the end. Open the door and enter another world, this Riad is very romantic, with the swimming pool as you walk in the whole place is a nice retreat from the busy city. The service was great, the food excellent and the manager was very hospitable. He is a the owner and chef, a very proud man who only wants perfection. The lamb tagine was the best I have ever had, the lamb just fell apart. The trio of desserts to finish again cooked fresh that day a nice finish to a fantastic meal. Hats off to the chef/owner, London taught you well!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichNew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, nice food and very slow service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arranged through the restaurant to be met by one of the staff in the square who walked us around the back streets (never would have found it without him) the setting is gorgeous - lovely fountain in the middle - the service was soooooo slow - we waited ages to receive our drinks - I was close to walking out....... The food was nice - my fish was really lovely -everything else not bad. Mixed review really, think maybe more staff in busy periods and personally think the food can be improved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Hidden romantic and enchanting restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Extremely beautiful and mystical place to enjoy an evening in Marrakech, water fountain with floating roses, soft piano playing in the background, flattering lightings but not too dark to see what you are eating. I loved the lady washroom, spacious with beautiful and colorful painting doors.
The food was good but not out of this world, the soupe de poireaux was delicious and highly recommended
I enjoyed the place more than I did with the food, they definitely deserve a five for the setting and excellent service. They even had a guide nicely dressed in dark suit ready as soon as we were ready to accompany us to the main square since the restaurant was hard to find. We were guided there by the owner of our hotel the Riad Turquoise, he was very kind and extremely helpful.
The whole experience was pleasant, pleasing, enjoyable and memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing