We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved the ability to pick and choose from two menus--one with traditional Moroccan dishes and the other with Italian. Food was excellent and our server attentive. Only regret was not making a reservation ahead of time so that we could have sat in the atrium.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,960
    700
    228
    99
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I went back to Pepe Nero a couple of weeks ago. I hadn't been there for several years and I was pleased to see the same attention to detail, the warm hospitality and, most of all, the wonderful food.
It is difficult to find such authentic Italian food outside of Italy. In some dishes it is enhanced also by local ingredients and flavours such as the delicious slow-roasted lamb. Definitely a place worth going to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
536 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Slight victory of style over substance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place is hard to find but when you get inside it is stunning.

The food is Italian and Moroccan and quite good value but just felt slightly it missed something maybe the place was just too nice and the food could not compete.

The service was good and at the end of the evening they organised someone to take us back to the main square which we could then walk to our riad from

So what am I complaining about, maybe the slightly older pretentious British and Italian clientele?

Worth a visit .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“It is a place to not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I am a lover of Moroccan food and together with my husband we tried various restaurants in Marrakesh and around. This is the reason for which I can affirm that Pepe Nero is one of the most excellent. The food is prepared with high quality ingredients, many of them coming from the biological farm owned by the restaurant and all the spices and the flavours are wisely mixed to create the dishes you order. We have been there few times already and never once we were disappointed. In addition the place is really very nice and relaxing and the staff is friendly and helpful. The Moroccan menu, is not very large, but the reinterpretation by the Chef of some classical Moroccan dish is very well done: Fantastic pigeon’s pastilla, not too sweet, and delicious chicken tajine: Finally a tasty free-range chicken!
It is a place to not miss!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant in a riad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Interesting place to eat Italian. The menu has both Italian and native food. You need to book and it is quite a walk from the Medina (20 mins) but you can get a taxi to drop you at the back of the restaurant and then a 1 minute walk. The problem we had was that it was so hot. The courtyard roof is covered with plastic and there is no air con. But food was good and we ate there twice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing