We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #11 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Teesside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This restaurant rates as one of the best in Marrakech and for good reason, the restaurant itself is beautiful (ask for a table next to the fountain), the food is excellent and great service, our waiter only looked after 4 tables all night and was always available. We paid around 70 euros for 2 people and a bottle of wine, by British standards probably about right, a little expensive for Marrakech but there again you only get what you pay for, worth emailing and booking first.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huggleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    755
    241
    100
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is one of the best meals I've had in a long time, the food and service were fantastic and in lovely surroundings. It's not in the best location, off the beaten track and down a side road, but once in there could not find fault and if celebrating a birthday or anniversary would really recommend. They have a lovely courtyard with a fountain as well where you can dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Overevaluated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Second best restaurant in Marrakech??I wouldn't say that. The prices are not so fair and quality of the food is not so high to justify the prices. You can get an Leek soup for 130dh and with just 30dh more a Meschoui of Lamb. Who deserve the price?
Like the old-fashioned mood that you can breath in the restaurant also the italian dishes that are offered show the same mistakes of old italian chef: the tastes are not well balanced and some ingredients such as double cream are used in a inappropriate way. So that the sansation of what you see and what you get is not the same.
Also the Wine prices are exagerated. Ok, we are in the medina but if you just try once another restaurant around there you will get a proper overview of the prices.
Service is ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My brother in law and I took our wives to Pepe Nero for a Mother's Day dinner, having found it through TA. Everything about it was wonderful-- the food the setting and the service. We were at the end of our 2+ week stay in Morocco and our wives were craving Italian food, while the men wanted one last opportunity for Moroccan. As Pepe Nero has two menus, all of us were happy with the choices and our selections. The pastas were great and the harira soup was the best we had our on trip. Our waiter was generous about providing water and wine a bit beyond what we had ordered and he even surprised our wives with a delicious chocolate cake for desert (on the house, as would have been the case for a birthday or anniversary). The setting is lovely in several rooms, but I would make special request to be seated in the courtyard area. Very popular, so reservations are recommended. A bit pricey, but well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanford-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am not surprised that this restaurant has so many superb reviews. The building is gorgeous, the staff both attentive and friendly and the food very tasty. Two super meals there during our stay. You do need to book though but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 417maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing