We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful setting - if you can find it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #16 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Odiham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - if you can find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The restaurant is set in a Riad, and is stunning, as well as being very popular. We dropped in without a reservation at around 7:30pm, and they were fully booked. Fortunately they fitted us in, as long as we could leave by 9:30, which suited us anyway.

We only wanted a main course, yet they still provided us with complimentary champagne, amuse bouche and some petit fours.

The food was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Skinner_PKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,982
    707
    230
    98
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
“warm atmosphere and tasty cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When you are italian and you re living abroad your last choice for dining is going for an italian restaurant. Usually italian way of cooking deserves too many original products not easy to find abroad and so experience is ruling on this issue. When I've received the suggestion of Pepe Nero from usual gourmand suspects I was a bit surprised but then I've discovered the warm atmosphere of this ancient riad at the Medina and I have been immediately enchanted: candles and soft lightning arent rare in Marrakech but the colonial twist of Pepe Nero is unique. Then the food is surprisingly tasty and original italian recipes are enriched with local flavour. Go for risotto with schrimps and capesante and then epaule d'agneau with aubergines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcellobellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Highly recommend!

The staff was wonderful and very friendly and did not rush us along but let us stay for as long as we wanted. The riad it is in is beautiful and the staff will give you a tour if you ask. The food was amazing and not outrageously expensive either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MishaWolf86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was so easy to find as it was sign posted. The venue is beautiful. We opted for the Italian menu (as after 3 nights a tagine was no longer appealing) and our meal was delicious. Really tranquil setting, top service and excellent Italian food. Definitely worth a visit for a romantic meal and some tasty food - a welcome break from some of the blander meals we had to endure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This may be the most romantic restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having being recommended by a friend, who knows how critical I can be, we headed off to Pepe Nero. We'd already had one Italian in Marrakech so was not planning to have another but thankfully we did.

What a beautiful restaurant! Gorgeous Fountains in the main duning area, immaculate waiters and fabulous service.

The food was delicious and well presented. Nothing was rushed and we spent a good few hours there just enjoying the scenery and food.

Highly recommended for a romanic dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fantasyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing