We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!”
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #20 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really nice restaurant, is a bit hard to find but definately worth it. (plus there are signs showing you the way if you look out for them) Service was really good and was given a free glass of prosecco on arrival. Had the ravioli, definately would reccommend this! Also had morroccan options not just italian. Not too expensive either, very good for the price paid. Definately would go again when in Marrakech!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,317
    838
    278
    110
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Safe, if unchallenging option for tourists”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This restaurant has a pleasant ambience and the staff are friendly and have excellent English. The food is perfectly respectable although the Moroccan menu had been somewhat 'europeanised'. All in all a safe, if unadventurous, option for tourists in Marrakech. The only negative is that the restaurant is at the end of an alley which is constantly plagued by youths who try to 'guide' you to the entrance, despite that that it is well signed, or persuade you that the restaurant is closed and that you should follow them to an alternative of their choosing, again for a tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived late on a Friday evening after having booked a table as we were staying in their Riyad.
The staff are charming, they are very busy but they look after you and will explain any dishes on the menu.
I had lamb and my husband had steak. Both were delicious, but the lamb really was the best. House red and white of a good standard and we thought reasonably priced.
They provide you with a cake and a candle if it's your birthday which is a nice touch, and surprisingly the cake tasted as good as it looked.
Would recommend and would return, in fact we ate there twice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well deserved rating”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to Pepe Nero on Thursday night last week and we weren't disappointed. It can, as all things in Marrakech, be a bit difficult to find, but they will send someone to pick you up if you don't fancy the search. The staff at our riad booked a table for us the same evening as we went there and we were lucky to get a table on such short notive, because the restaurant was full. We were greeted by the manager and got a very nice table in the corner, and even a glass of champagne on the house (I don't think this is custom, but the manager knows the owners of the riad we stayed in). There are two menus; one French and one Moroccan. Tired of tagines and Moroccan salads we chose lamb shoulder and a fish (can't remember which) from the French menu. The lamb was very good, but the fish was extraordinary. We ordered a French Chablis, but this had turned foul (it was a 2006), so we had to send back two bottles before we decided to have the decent enough Moroccan Médallion blanc instead. Main courses were up to 160 Dirham, which was great value for money for such service, food and surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monsieur_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Definitely lives up to it's reputation”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found this stunning restaurant by reading the tripadvisor review.Our waiter Yussuf was both charming and helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, My only regret was that I did not have another night to return there to dine.
The staff here are extremely polite and helpful.
A really memorable experience and one worth returning to Marrakech for

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing