We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food, wonderful ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #11 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Uckfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was delicious, more expensive than the cheap eats in the Jamaa Fna, but well worth it, and by eating frugally on other days, we could choose freely at PepeNero, a shared starter, no pasta, then full meat/fish dishes and desserts, the chocolate pudding was particularly good. And easy to find, with notices posted at key points from the Jamaa Fna square guided us, though we did do a reconnaissance during the day to make sure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    756
    241
    100
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A change to the usual - but in a good way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second visit to Marrakech but our first to Pepe Nero.

We visited Pepe Nero on the 28th December 2012, our 16th wedding anniversary. it was our 7th night in Marrakech. Most of the other nights were spent doing the 'traditional' activities including frequenting the terrace restaurants around the Medina.

Even though we enjoyed the many tanjine inspired experiences of the Medina, we found Pepe Nero to be a welcomed break form the usual.

The only negative was that we were met at the alley way leading to the restaurant by two young guys that were 'acting' helpful by 'tagging' along the 50 metres only then to 'ask' for some recompense for accompanying us a few yards. When we gave them a 'small' token for their service they got a bit pushy and asked for more. If this happens to you just be firm and say no and they will depart. I must admit that i was a little more than firm.

However, once you get to the restaurant you will find that it will be more than worth it. The decor is great and your dining experience willbe fantastic.

We were given a free glass of Prosecco when we arrived and also a free amuse-bouche of seasoned duck upon a bed of seasoned mashed potatoes. The menu was continental European tinged with Morrocan additions. I had the king prawns and sea bass and both were to die for.

All in all a fantastic dining experience and at a reasonal cost as we spent just over £100 for 2 adults and 2 young adults that included a three course meal and a few drinks - including a few gin and tonics - it was our wedding anniversary, after all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go for excellent food, location, service and heated stylish dining rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had dinner there on the 23rd of December. The complementary welcome glass of Prosecco was greatly appreciated, so was the impeccable service; Pepe Nero's kitchen provides some of the finest food in Morocco, all with a great touch of creativity and all at a very reasonable cost.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Christmas dinner at home was never like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first family Chrsitams abroad . we were 7 adults . Ppepe Nero was perfect , wonderful service ina winderful setting . The food was very good rather than outstanding . But as an overall dining experince we loved it .
It is well signposted from the Cafe de France on the main square . Don't allow yourself to be guided it is not needed for the 10 min gentle stroll throught he Medina . Alternatively a taxi will drop you within 75m of the front door but you do need the directions in French which the restaurant will provde .
For us it was a very memeorable Christmas lunch with not a Brussel sprout in sight .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alistairbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch on Christmas Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went as a group of 6 including 2 children. Location was a bit tricky for the taxi driver, but a beautiful riad with gardens. We were made most welcome and given a warm corner table in the Morrocan lounge. The service was attentive and friendly without being cloying. There was a choice of menus, Italian and Morrocan. An amuse-bouche of tomato concasse with basil was delicious as was the welcome glass of prosecco. The starters of king prawn with ceps, the carpaccio of veal, the chef's salad were all beautifully presented, light and delicious. The guinea fowl ravioli were really well made, again light and with a good sauce. The rolled shoulder of lamb was beautifully cooked and served with very nice steamed, turned vegetables, the duck was also good and the dorade with endive cooked perfectly. Desserts were good, chocolate with creme anglaise and a lemon and strawberry delice. Bill was 220 euros for 6 including 2 bottles of wine, soft drinks and service tip. A very pleasant Christmas afternoon, thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing