We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food and service in Marrakech”
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
Ranked #21 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best food and service in Marrakech”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in a party of 5 adults, our 5th trip to Marrakech over the past 4 years, this is by far the best we have tried, we went twice on this visit for eveneing meals, best described as fine dining. The quality amd quantity was excellent value. Good henest sevice too! I would recommend going in person in advance of the evening to hand pick your table, well worth the effort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,274
    826
    274
    108
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful Italian/Moroccan fusion cuisine at fair prices in a beautiful courtyard with attentive waiters, fair prices, and nice music - what more could you ask for!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We pre-booked Pepe Nero restaurant and requested someone guide us to the restaurant from Djeema el Fna square. We appreciated this as it made it less stressful trying to find the restaurant on our own (our first visit to Marrakech).

We were seated near the fountain, which was lovely. We were given a glass of Prosecco and appetizers on the house. We both ordered steaks which were absolutely delicious. Staff were polite and very helpful.

We are pleased we had the chance to try Pepe Nero and would recommend to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s1n8ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, excellent food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked Pepe Nero on line before visiting Marrakech after reading the good reviews in tripadvisor. It did not disappoint and it is not that difficult to find because it is well sign posted from the Square. The thing you really have to be aware of is that men see you going down the ally way and say that 'it's closed, I show you a better restaurant'. Just ignore them! At the bottom of the ally way is an unprepossessing entrance. Do not be put off, once inside you find yourself in an oasis of splendour.We were royally welcomed, shown to a very good table and offered a complimentary glass of fizzy wine and an amuse bouche. The menu is Moroccan and Italian. We stuck to the Moroccan and both had soup to start; my husband had Harira and I had the leek soup. Both were delicious but I thought my leek soup outstanding, incredibly smooth tasting of leek with an aftertaste of spice. We both had the excellent lamb tajine and shared a crispy Moroccan layered pastry for desert. Obviously the restaurant caters for tourists but they provide authentic food and make you feel very comfortable and they serve alcohol which is not served in restaurants for the locals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WestSussexCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beauiful ambient, great food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The best Harira soup and chicken tagine in Marrakesh. Perfectly seasoned, soft, tender meat.
And if you are smoker you'll be seated ( beetwen the meals of course) at the small table by the romantic little pool at inner courtyard, just heaven!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokraculja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing