We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice respite from the madness that can be Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Jakoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Jakoura
Ranked #702 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice respite from the madness that can be Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Riad Jakoura was my little oasis in Marrakech... it's peace and tranquility is a god send after a Marrakech's mayhem. But what makes this place surpass other places I stayed at in Morocco, was it's kind and helpful manager Mohammed... what an absolute gem of a man. He deserves all the patronage he gets because of his integrity and the service he provides.

The place is a amazing value for money...... A request... from fellow travellers, please stop breaking the holder for the shower head in the single room... my only gripe - and it's not even with the Rhiad.

I did get lost a couple of times trying to get there.... but if you don't get lost in Marrakech... your internal compass must be brilliant. Once you get your bearing it's easy to find... going the long way helps... because there is not shortcut in Marrakech.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Nixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
17
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay was extraordinary! The staff/owners were fantastic to say the least. The location of the riad provided proximity to the souks, the market and the hustle that is the definition of Morocco. The mint tea was unreal! The design was uniquely Moroccan, the Terrace gorgeous, and the breakfast, tasty. Rooms were clean, and AC refreshing.

I would recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to enjoy there stay in Marrakech!

I would just recommend that the airport/bus station pickup is utilized as the riad can be hard to find in the Medina, as many of the streets are either unlabelled or in Arabic. The locals direction can cost as much as the pickup.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Riad Jakoura was Very nice place to stay. Very pleasant and nice owner - no problems with checking-in and checking-out. Rooms are clean, breakfast in the morning was very tasty! Located 10 min walking from central square Jamaa el-Fna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergei_koroleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had an amazing week at the raid. Mohammed the owner was extremely helpful along with his Scottish wife!!
We were blessed to have a traditional meal with the couple in the courtyard.
The location is 25 minutes away from the main le place and the souks, but we were given a handy map which was ok.
Rooms very clean. Hot water came eventually.
Great value and put us in a great mood to explore the city, and yes buy a carpet!!!
Tip: Pre book a taxi from the airport as to find the riad first time is extremely difficult
Try some of the roadside cafes by the riad. If you speak French you will eat like a king!!!

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the ground floor. Too much noise and smoke................ The terrace is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, google maps doesn't give an accurate walking route for Riad Jakoura and after pacing up and down Rue El Gza, we were extremely relieved to find the door to the riad after working out the directions provided in the email. The riad is lovely and cosy and has got a nice terrace for guests to enjoy. At 21euros, the price is very reasonable too, considering how we only booked it the night before! The owner let us choose between our own double and a triple which was vacant for the night. We picked the triple room and so essentially, we got an upgrade, which was really nice. It's a pity we only stayed a night and left early in next morning. Wish we got the chance to try the breakfast after reading about its rave reviews though!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elllykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The first night I was given a very small room with poor lighting. When I complained about this, I was given a larger more comfortable room Even so, the lighting was dim and the switch was outside the room.
The breakfast of crêpes, flaky pastry, bread with jam and honey was good. Coffee and mint tea flowed. This was served in the small mosaic-adorned central patio. Very pretty here!
Mohammed walked with me to find an excellent restaurant, which I couldn't have found otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollycrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Comfortable small riad run by a nice family. The owner is very polite and doesn't disturb you. We had a feeling that we were living in our own home. Rooms are clean and spacious. Nothing luxury but they have everything you need and a great value for money if you are on budget. Good breakfast. Was easy to find with instructions provided by the hotel. Located in a small derb (lane) away from the street noise, very quiet. Close to the bus station (Bab Doukhala) and there is a car parking very close to the riad. There was always WiFi and hot water which sometimes is a problem in other hotels in Marrakech. A bit long walking distance to Jemaa el Fna square (around 20 minutes), maybe there is a shorter way but we couldn't find it. The hotel's owener organizes different excursions if you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MihailSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TianaMed, Propriétaire at Riad Jakoura, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Riad Jakoura Marrakech.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Morocco, of Marrakech and of Riad Jakoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#254 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Ihssane
Dar Ihssane
#314 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#364 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jakoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jakoura

Property: Riad Jakoura
Address: 73 Bis Bab Doukkala Rue Elgza | Bab Doukalla Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #702 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This riad welcomes you to marrakech , where we want you to have a good time and feel at home with us,and experience the true life of the medina ( old city) and marrakech. This riad is one of the oldest houses in Marrakesh,it was built in the 17th century,it has the original doors and the walls are 60cms thick, we have a lovely roof terrace where you can go to relax if the hustle and bustle becomes to much for you. we are 10/15 min walk to jemmna el fna (famous square) and other historic attractions ,we are also 5 min walk to the local bus station and coach station, also we have 2 supermarkets a 5 min walk away . The famous majorelle jardin is only 5/8 mins away from us too.Excursions can be arranged from the riad and car rental can also be arranged for you. So come and have a stress free holiday with us.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Jakoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing